We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful family stay at Ivy Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Ivy cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ivy cottage
Beautiful Lounge with exposed beams, stone walls and cozy fire Superbly equipped Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
153 reviews
Ivy cottage
Beautiful Lounge with exposed beams, stone walls and cozy fire
Superbly equipped Kitchen
Spacious & Light Dining Room
Games Room/Second Lounge
Superbly equipped Kitchen
Double Bedroom with ensuite
Family bedroom with super king size bed & full size single bed
Luxury Bathroom with large power shower with body jets & double sinks
Double Ended Bath
Luxury Ensuite Shower Room
Twin Bedroom
Large Entrance hall with payphone, seating and lots of space for coats, shoes & pushcairs
Sunny Garden Room with own SKY Freesat TV
Stunning Ivy Cottage Gardens
Ivy Cottage
Ivy Cottage Private Decking Area
Ivy Cottage Garden
Ivy Cottage Garden
Ivy Cottage Private Parking
Ivy Cottage
Ivy Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Winster, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 153 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Paul S
1 review
“A wonderful family stay at Ivy Cottage”
Reviewed 12 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We had a fantastic short break at the delightful Ivy Cottage celebrating my mothers birthday. The Cottage was spotless, well equipped and had everything plus more to make our stay enjoyable. The location was ideal as we travelled around the local area and nowhere was too far to reach. Although the weather during our stay was cold and frosty, we looked forward to arriving back each day to a warm and cosy Cottage. Matt and Becky were pleasant and friendly to deal with and made us feel welcome. We would, most definitely, be going back here in the future and will be recommending to our friends and family.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2017
Thank you for your lovely review we are very glad you had a great short break at Ivy Cottage. We hope that it met all of your needs and look forward to seeing you at Ivy Cottage again soon. Regards, Matt & Becky
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoardingP...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm and cosy Ivy Cottage is quite simply one of the best cottages we have ever stayed in.”
Reviewed 5 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Matt and Becky have made Ivy Cottage a perfect retreat...warm and cosy for our winter break with every aspect of the visitors needs being taken into account. Immaculate decor with real attention to detail. Comfy beds and ample facilities, from a well stocked cupboard of towels to a fully equipped kitchen, Ivy Cottage is a true home from home experience. Perfect location for walkers or shoppers, so we did both!!!! Just brilliant. Will be recommending highly to friends and family.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Feb 2017
Thank you for your lovely review we are very glad you had a great weekend stay at Ivy Cottage and that you found it one of the best cottages you have stayed in. We hope that it met all of your needs and hope to see you again soon. Regards, Matt & Becky
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stay30605...
1 review
“Fab weekend retreat”
Reviewed 29 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Comfortable, cosy, immaculately clean and very well equipped cottage. Very helpful owners. Would definitely recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Feb 2017
Thank you for your review we are very glad you had an comfortable & cosy stay at Ivy Cottage and that it met all of your needs. We try to make the cottage as welcoming and homely as possible and it is nice to receive feedback letting us know we are achieving this successfully. We hope to see you again soon. Regards, Matt & Becky
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jenm85201...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stay at Ivy Cottage”
Reviewed 23 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We had a great weekend with friends at Ivy Cottage. The cottage itself is beautiful and big enough for a group of friends to enjoy. Big kitchen, good dining room and we entertained ourselves with the board games at night.
The Heights of Abraham in Matlock is a good walk and only 10 minutes drive from Ivy Cottage. We enjoyed dinner at The Old Bowling which is 2 minutes walk from the cottage. We would thoroughly recommend this to anyone looking for a peaceful retreat in the Peak District.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Feb 2017
Thank you for your lovely review we are very glad you had a great weekend stay at Ivy Cottage. We hope that it met all of your needs and hope to see you again soon. Regards, Matt & Becky.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKJGH
1 review
“Ivy cottage”
Reviewed 19 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We had a great stay at Ivy Cottage. The cottage is beautiful, and is very well equipped. The owners are lovely. I would recommend Ivy cottage its well worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Feb 2017
Thank you for your lovely review we are very glad you had a great stay at Ivy Cottage and that it met all of your needs. We hope to see you again soon. Regards, Matt & Becky.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jucott
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Trip away with friends”
Reviewed 15 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Stayed in this delightful cottage for our friends birthday. 6 ladies, we had a fabulous time, the cottage is beautiful and very well equipped. It was very clean and we felt right at home. All facilities were spot on. The showers were amazing. Thank you to the owners, they certainly have gone that extra mile to make your stay very enjoyable and comfortable. I go away quite a lot and would go as far as saying this is one of the best. We will definitely be returning. A massive thank you from the ladies of Nottinghamshire.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jan 2017
Thank you for your lovely review we are very glad you had an enjoyable stay at Ivy Cottage and that it met all of your needs. We hope to see you again soon. Regards, Matt & Becky.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina A
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect New Year Stay”
Reviewed 3 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Three couples spending New Year together at Ivy Cottage, and on arrival we was very impressed!
Although smaller than the pictures portray it was immaculately clean. As one couple of our party was arriving late, we decided that we would just chill on the Friday night until they arrived, lit the fire in the living room and turned on the TV. The Sky is deceiving, as there were only basic free view channels, and when the third couple arrived, the viewing comfort of 6 in that room was not great. The TV would be better placed where the armchair is! However, we was not there to spend time indoors watching TV!
Most of our other time was spent around the dining table, played games, of which we took our own, but there is a fantastic selection available!
We cooked some niblles, and there was everything available to cook with!
I think a small hand held vacuum would be of great benefit, pastry crumbs do tend to go everywhere and I find mine a godsend!
New Years Eve was a walk in towards Darley Dale, a spot of lunch, and a wander to the village pub in the evening!
A great time was had by all!
Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2017
Thank you for leaving your review, we are very glad to hear that you had a “perfect New Year stay” and that you found the cottage immaculately clean and very well equipped.
I am sorry that you thought the cottage was smaller than you had imagined. In the 9 years of letting Ivy Cottage, you are the only guests to have ever said that. We are frequently told that the photos don’t do the cottage enough justice in showing just how big, spacious and lovely it really is. It is an extremely large cottage with 3 separate living areas, a separate kitchen and even a bright garden room for reading. As well as multiple photos we do also provide a very detailed floor plan layout on our website.
In response to your query about the SKY tv being deceiving, we do clearly state on our website and on all adverts that it is “Sky Freesat” which has around 100 free to view channels that we provide and not full sky. However, we do provide 5 TVs throughout the property and an extensive library of DVD movies.
Regarding the viewing comfort for watching TV we do have a 2 seater sofa a 4 seater sofa and an armchair in the main living room, unfortunately at Christmas and New year we do have to move the armchair to the corner as we set up a Christmas tree in that room for guests so it does restrict the viewing from that one chair. Having said that the chair can easily be moved to a more suitable viewing position during your stay and the TV is a 40” flat screen.
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review, we hope to see you again at Ivy Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing