We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy cottage in lovely village”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Winster, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
rumpuscat
north yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage in lovely village”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This is a lovely cottage in a lovely part of the country. The sitting room is cosy and the beds are super-comfortable with good quality linen. The kitchen is well-equipped but we couldn't find a cheese grater (probably not everyone's priority). My husband had fun with the gas cooker - he's used to electric- but had no problems. There is a huge bathroom with lots of fluffy towels (I don't know why there isn't a photo in the description). It being March we weren't able to sit out in the courtyard, alas but overall a lovely cottage for two. Parking is at a premium so don't expect to park at the door.
The village has a super shop and post office where you can buy almost anything at reasonable prices.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfortable beds
Liked least: no cheese grater
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2016
We couldn't be happier that you had a great holiday at Christmas Cottage, thank you for taking the time to share this lovely feedback with us. It is wonderful to hear that yourself and your husband enjoyed staying there, the huge bathroom sounds particularly fab! We certainly hope that you make a return visit very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
horrible9...
Bruges, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 27 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Cosy comfortable cottage. Last night there it snowed and we were so cosy we didn't even realise it until the morning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: We had to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2015
We are so pleased that you had a pleasant holiday, it is great to know that you were comfortable and cosy even when it was snowing outside! We hope that you visit us again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil C
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great Cottage in Lovely Village”
Reviewed 14 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Excellent facilities, much more spacious than you'd think from the outside. good size kitchen & bathroom. Nice n warm & cosy with good heating & wood burning stove. Two double bedrooms to choose from. Winster is a lovely village with 2 good pubs & a general store/ PO. Highly recommended for a romantic break with your missus!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Both cottage & village & local area.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelvinNew...
Newport Gwent
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE...FULL STOP!”
Reviewed 21 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Arrived to find cottage freezing but when we put the heating on the cottage was fine by next morning, lovely dining room, great bathroom, modern kitchen, best of all was top quality bedding which goes a long way. People might think looking at the front of the cottage this might not be for them, they WOULD be mistaken, my wife and i walked in and loved the classy wooden furnture, no flat packs here. We would go out for the day and come back here and it felt home from home.
This was lovely cottage in a lovely village, we have booked up to stay in June for 2 weeks because it was so relaxing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely bedding, great bathroom
Liked least: When we arrived the cottage was freezing but soon warmed up after we switched the heating on.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban South Africa
Reviewed 13 September 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing