We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Really pleased with the cottage would recommend...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Winster, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
300Han
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really pleased with the cottage would recommend it!”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Booking the cottage was very easy and I found the owner to be very helpful and friendly in our communication. The property looks lovely from the outside, very quaint and inside is just lovely! It is very well equipped - great games to play! We had everything we needed. The beds were very comfy and we felt we had plenty of space (there were four adults in our party). The village is small and nice to walk round. There is a useful shop in the village and we ate at The Bowling Green pub one night which was also great.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: very comfortable
Liked least: we had to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frogbob
Dorking, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Cosy cottage in the heart of Derbyshire”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Daisy Cottage. It was clean, comfortable and well-equipped for young children. It is seconds away from a lovely playground and countryside walks and there is a well-stocked village shop at the end of the road. The children loved the toy and games cupboard!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Parking
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helen w
norwich
1 review
“wonderful cottage in a lovely location”
Reviewed 16 April 2013 for a stay in February 2013

We had a lovely week at Daisy Cottage, my husband and i, 4 teenagers and a 3 year old. The cottage is a perfect mix of modern and old, lovingly renovated and beautifully furnished and extremely well equipped. Toys/games and books for all ages are provided. The back courtyard is very private and secluded. Winster itself is charming and the cottage is tucked away down a no through road. A village store is well placed at the top of the road. The owners were friendly and helpful on the phone. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would have loved to stay longer. Would recommend most highly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage itself and location
Liked least: No complaints whatsoever
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamus999...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Charming Cottage”
Reviewed 16 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Stayed for half term week at Daisy Cottage with Family of 5. It was a delight, well equipped and beautifully furnished, very cosy with the wood burner and in a charming Derbyshire village. An excellent location from which to explore the Peak District.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage and location
Liked least: no wifi
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travellin...
Essex
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Relaxing Week In A Great Cottage”
Reviewed 22 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We booked this cottage for a week away in the Peak District through www.sykescottages.co.uk the whole process was very quick and easy.

The owner was very approachable and really helpful, we were travelling with a small baby and the owner was kind enough to put changing mats, toys and sterilizers in the cottage ready for our arrival.

The cottage itself is lovely and far exceeded our expectations. It looked really nice from the photo's but to be honest they didn't do it justice, it was a lot more spacious than it looked. On arrival the cottage was lovely and clean and the kitchen well stocked with utentsils and equipment.

The real plus about this cottage for us was that it was in a lovely small village and had a village shop at the top of the lane, this was great for essentials. The only thing to note regarding the property was that the drive way was quite tight to get on and off of, but if you take your time its not a problem.

Overall highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Apart from the location, the cottage was finished to a high standard and instantly felt like home.
Liked least: Hard to think of anything, probably the small driveway for parking which was difficult with a large car and a baby/equipment.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed C
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Delightful cottage, very well situated in a beautiful corner of the Peak District”
Reviewed 18 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We spent a long weekend at Daisy Cottage and we had a fantastic time.

The cottage itself was very cosy, well equipped, and very well situated in the village of Winster. The farm-shop/newsagents at the end of the cobbled street is open 7 days a week and the village is also served by two accomodating pubs (Bowlers Green had a great buzz on the Saturday night).

We used the cottage as a base for some road cycling around Matlock, Bakewell, Ashbourne and Chatsworth Estate and we couldn't have asked for a better location! The under-floor heating in the bathroom was a real treat upon returning from 50 miles of damp cycling!!

We are already planning a return trip. The only slight (very slight) grumble was that one of the couples had to share a bunk-bed and not a double, however, this was soon forgotten about when we discovered the well-stocked board games draw!!!

Fantastic cottage, thanks muchly.

Ed and friends!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The value for money, the location and the comfort!
Liked least: If 3 couples visit the cottage then one of them has to share a bunk bed.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J-M M
Ile-de-France, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2015 for a stay in April 2014
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: la jolie façade du cottage, la grande cuisine équipée, le poêle à bois dans le salon, l'aire de jeux pour les enfants, l'épicerie au bout de la rue.
Liked least: les deux chambres à lits simples sont un peu petites et il est difficile de garer sa voiture devant le cottage.
Travelling group: En famille élargie
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing