We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Winster, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
21CJ_B
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 3 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Lovely cottage in beautiful location. Very cosy and well equipped. Two pubs in village, both serving excellent food and a well stocked village store.
Lots of local walks and National Trust properties to visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely cottage, ideally located for Alton Towers.”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The cottage is is in a lovely location. Close to Matlock if you need shops & supermarkets (5 mins drive). We chose this cottage as it sleeps 6 & is quite close to Alton Towers (45 min drive). We also visited Chatsworth House (great fun for the kids). The cottage is very well appointed with everything you could possibly need for an enjoyable stay. We even made use of the slow cooker! Great to have dinner ready after a day thrill seeking at Alton Towers! We had a very small plumbing issue but it was sorted within a few hours by the owners, so you can't complain at that kind of service, they couldn't have been more helpful. We would definitely recommend this cottage & would certainly stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely quiet location but close to a host of great days out
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim G
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Daisy Cottage is situated on a quiet side road away from the main street and opposite a small adventure playground. Off-road parking though note the space is tight! The local shop is nearby, as are a couple of pubs. It is equipped to a high standard with a spacious kitchen and a separate dining area. There is also a lovely little terrace at the back of the property. The living room is cosy and comfortable and the woodburner was a real treat after a wet and chilly afternoon of walking. The bedrooms were a decent size though the 3rd room is best suited to a young child. My only criticism is that there is no washing machine here so staying for a week with young children leads to quite a mountain of laundry!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location near the centre of the village but away from through traffic
Liked least: Only the lack of laundry facilities but it didn't detract from our enjoyment
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shona E
Hook, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, ideally situated, had everything we needed”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

A very enjoyable weeks stay in Daisy Cottage. The cottage itself had everything that we needed for a stay with children. The bedrooms were all very comfortable, the amount of games was excellent and although we had brought some of our own children's toys, we needn't had, as they spent most of the time we were in the cottage, playing with the games/ toys/ books that were there. Wifi is provided which is great and the dishwasher in the kitchen was an added bonus meaning no need to wash up whilst on holiday!!.

The guest information sent before we arrived provided lots of very useful information and it was good to get this beforehand.

The cottage is in a lovely location. There is parking out the front, which is an added bonus as everyone else was having to park on the main road. Although the parking in front of the cottage is tight, we managed to park our Mazda 6 after a bit of manoeuvring.

We visited Chatsworth House (20 mins drive), Heights of Abraham (15mins drive), Alton Towers (45 mins drive) and also did a few walks, plenty of maps provided in the cottage. The village shop is at the top of the lane (1 min walk). We enjoyed a meal in The Bowling Green pub which has a good children's menu and had an excellent meal in Viva Italian restaurant, Matlock (just on left side of road on the way to Matlock Bath from Sainsburys).

All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Daisy Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GILL M
Epsom, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Lovely cottage in central location.”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed our weeks stay at Daisy Cottage. The cottage had everything we needed and myself, 12 year old son, and elderly parents had a fabulous week, driving to the many Derbyshire attractions (Heights of Abraham, Bakewell, Chatsworth, Carsington Water) all of which were only a short drive away. The cottage is in a friendly village, with a well stocked shop and post office. The cottage owners gave us lots of helpful information before our trip so that we could plan our activities. We had a great time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The central location
Liked least: Only a small parking space
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neville w
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“our family christmas holiday”
Reviewed 3 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

had great Christmas at daisy cottage. very well maintained everything you need for cooking etc. very clean and cosy.lovely village with pub and shop. hope to come back again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: spacious and clean
Liked least: parking
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Reviewed 16 October 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing