We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A kitchen Elizabeth David would have been proud...”
other travellers have booked this property
The Spook
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Spook
Sleeping platform - under the stars View of Winster
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
The Spook
Sleeping platform - under the stars
View of Winster
Private garden with great views
The Kitchen
Dining Area
First floor Living Area
Loads of books
Sleeping platform or sofa bed - both comfy mattresses
Original mullion window - found during renovation works
The Spook's unusual weather vane
The Spook from the garden
View from the garden bench
Bike storage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Winster, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Belle S
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A kitchen Elizabeth David would have been proud to own”
Reviewed 18 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Superb batterie de cuisine for such a teeny cottage. We love to cook and usually despair of the pathetic offerings of most cottages and come armed with all the necessary trappings for a culinary week. (Anthea gave us a strange look on arrival as mountains of luggage was whipped out of the cars).Not so the Spook, I kept saying "look at this" and "ooh they have got one of these" .An excellent quality stainless steel frying pan allowed us to prepare a superb risotto. A large oven proof dish was home to a tasty cottage pie, a fitting tribute to our surroundings. Everything you could want was there. We did venture out for a curry at the fabulous Indian restaurant in the former Ritz Cinema, which was my favourite hangout as a teenager. Big congratulations to Winster for making The Times top ten most desirable villages in Britain. We are returning after Xmas, sadly not to the Spook as we are a larger party, so I suppose it's back to bringing the kitchen sink and half the pantry with us. Still we won't need to cook a turkey so if the worst comes to the worst we can always jazz up the.
Xmas leftovers with delicious Derbyshire tomato sausages and supplies from the excellent village shop.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Kitchen
Liked least: The bedding
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2015
We put in the kitchen everything we would like to find so that's great that you were happy! Thanks for the mention of the community owned village shop as it is wonderful when visitors help to keep it going. And thanks for coming. Anthea
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffandAu...
Marvejols, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant as always”
Reviewed 27 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Very kind and thoughtful owners who go out of their way to ensure an enjoyable holiday. Compact but well equipped and comfortable cottage which even has a travel cot proving how much Clive and Anthea think of the needs of their guests. The wifi in the cottage works brilliantly, even in the garden. Delightful and very friendly village in a beautiful area with many attractions to visit. For walkers this must be an absolute heaven on earth. Two pubs offering a selection of beers and good food. We just can't find any faults!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everthing
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2015
Thank you for your lovely review and I hope we will see you again sometime soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken J
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very satisfied 1st timers”
Reviewed 18 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

On arrival in the village of Winster we were met by Anthea and received a very warm welcome. There was the initial survival kit supplied, tea coffee milk and a bottle of wine chilling in the fridge which was most welcome, and there was a follow up visit the following morning to check that all was well, a lovely touch. I would reiterate a previous comment that you need to be free of walking difficulties or cardiac issues as the cottage is on a steep hill. The village is located equidistant for Matlock/Bakewell and one cannot come to Derbyshire and not visit Chatsworth House. All locations being an approximate 15 minute drive. We took our Beagle with us and there are so many walks to be discovered. This was our first ever venture into the renting of a cottage and we were not disappointed. I am on EE mobile provider, The signal non existent, not something Anthea nor Clive could do to resolve. For such a small village it was well catered for.There was a community run village shop/post office open every day until 7pm, 6pm on a Sunday and 2 Pubs, was on a bus route with a regular service

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location and such friendly villagers.
Liked least: Non existant mobile signal. Am on EE and it was a non event had to go to top of hill
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2015
Thank you for coming and I am very glad your first time renting was a success. Regards Anthea and Clive.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KysGranda...
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“"Spooktacular"”
Reviewed 4 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

on arrival we entered the kitchen to find some essentials had been left for us so that we could settle in without the dire need for searching for a shop to get things like tea bags, milk and sugar etc.. the pack of chocolate biscuits went down a treat too, not to mention the bottle of wine so thoughfully left as welcome. Some pretty flowers adorned the kitchen table too enhancing how thoughtful the owners had been. Shortly after arriving the owner Clive introduced himself and made sure we had found everything to our liking (even asking if our dog was ok after the journey).
the Spook itself is exactly as you see in the photographs, its pretty, quaint and quirky whilst being pleasingly comfortable. The owners Anthea and Clive were readily available to offer any advice or directions if required and we found them to be very amenable and likeable people.
Winster itself is a pretty little village, the village shop is stocked with most things that you would need. If you fancy eating out Winster boasts two pubs serving food, we indulged ourselves at The Bowling Green and the food was of excellent quality, if a bit pricey but, hey you're on holiday.
Winster is a hilly area and i would suggest that you would need to be of a relatively good level of fitness to best enjoy the area, The Spook being half way up (or down) whichever way you look at it, a steep hill offers a nice vantage point with quite a nice view from the garden area.
Ultimately we thoroughly enjoyed our break at Spook and would happily recommend it to anyone.
Clive and Anthea are superb and welcoming hosts...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: tranquility
Liked least: the hills ;)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2015
Thank you for leaving such a comprehensive review which is helpful to other potential visitors but really nice for us too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffandAu...
Marvejols, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 26 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We have stayed at this cottage several times in the last 8 years and always enjoy our stay. However this time, it was even more enjoyable because we stayed for two weeks, and therefore we felt more relaxed. Anthea and Clive are superb hosts and go out of their way to ensure that you have a pleasant stay. The village has two pubs, which both do bar meals at various times, a well stocked village shop and post office and a medical center (this time, we needed to use it for one of the children). The cottage itself is small, but is well equipped and comfortable and has a small garden which we have had a chance to really enjoy, thanks to the great weather we had during both weeks. We will certainly return to this cottage, as we enjoy the peace and quiet that it offers, as well as the nearby walks and friendly people.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing
Liked least: We had a shower of rain on the sunday, that's not on!!!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2015
Thank you very much for coming to stay again. We really enjoy your company and I am so glad that we have a surgery in the village though hope you don't need it another time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buttons20
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Comfortable cottage in a great location.”
Reviewed 30 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Lovely cottage within easy access to Bakewell and other Peak District towns.The owners have thought of everything,including tea, coffee and wine to welcome you. It was great to bring our dog and there are plenty of lovely walks nearby.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2014
Many thanks for coming and for your kind comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosy B
Grantham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely break”
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Loved this little quirky cottage and the hospitality that went with it. There was a bottle of wine, tea & coffee, biscuits and lots of other little things in the cupboards when we arrived. This was a very nice touch as usually in self catering accommodation there's nothing!
The village and the walks were lovely too and the dog certainly enjoyed it. The pub in the heart of the village was great with good beer and food.
Will definitely return to "The Spook" we all had a great weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2014
Thank you for coming to The Spook and very glad your visit was a success. Yes please come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing