We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Main Bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main Bedroom
Another view of the first bedroom, showing the double bed and day bed. Second Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Main Bedroom
Another view of the first bedroom, showing the double bed and day bed.
Second Bedroom
Lounge
Kitchen
The bathroom
The utility room - ideal for soggy coats and boots!
The courtyard, next to the back door.
Outside the house - just up the lane is the start of many beautiful walks.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Wirksworth, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lp1970201...
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 22 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We had a lovely stay, house was clean warm and cosy with everything you need, food hamper a lovely touch,beds comfy.good area for walking and sightseeing.matlock not far away with a sainsburys store.
We only stayed 2 nights due to work commitment but would have been happy to stay longer ,weather was awful unfortunately but would definatly book again in the future.
Thank you claire.
.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2017
Sorry about the weather - it really was between a hurricane and a storm over your visit, but glad you were comfortable and warm. Hopefully your next visit to the area will be in brighter days :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeBroo
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Rental!”
Reviewed 11 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Wee presented, warm, welcoming, comfortable - everything you could want from a base for an adventurous weekend in the Peaks!
Would definitely recommend to others and would happily book again if my path heads that way in future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2017
Glad you found both adventure and comfort! The Peaks are indeed glorious and hope to be able to welcome you back to Water Lane again in the future. Thank you for being such lovely guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warringto...
warrington
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 7 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Excellent is what I rated for this rental and excellent is what we got,we didn't need for anything, The welcome pact was more than what we expected and I can tell you we used all what was left, Thank you Claire we had a wonderful stay.

Peter Southern

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2017
Thank you and really glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Lovely to have you at the house and hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_new_c...
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good one!”
Reviewed 26 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

It was great. Felt nice and cosy. Very practical for a family of 4. Claire has put her personal touch on the place - a lot of thought has gone into it. Very nice view from the double bedroom. Middleton is a delightful, quiet, friendly, village. We hope to come again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2017
Really glad to hear the house worked well for all of you and you had a great holiday - thank you for the review and hope to see you all back again in the future! :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Aug 2017
It was a pleasure to have you and your girls visit the cottage. Hope to see you all back again in the future and very glad to hear that it gave you all the chance for a few days of rest and quiet.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kit C
1 review
“Family favourite”
Reviewed 30 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We have returned again to Water Lane and been once again pleased with the whole experience. A great house so suitable for our family of four and now with our daughter growing older perfect if she didn't want to share with her brother as their is a curtained off extra bed(but not needed as they were happy to share the spacious room). We enjoy the closeness of Matlock bath and the beautiful walks so close to the house but for days out we managed to visit new attractions this time as there are so many to choose from almost on the doorstep. It feels bothered familiar and yet new. The house is so cosy and the host makes it so welcoming with milk, fresh bread and tea that you look forward to your return from the day out. The kids even laughed because I accidentally called it home today, now if that's not an idea of comfort nothing is. Even recommended to my in-laws as a place to stay and they have visited between our trips and I won brownie points for the recommendation so not too bad at all. We shall certainly return in the future. Five stars.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2017
So glad to hear you all had a wonderful stay, and thank you for being such lovely guests. Looking forward to welcoming your family back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pick this one!”
Reviewed 5 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Absolutely lovely. Couldn't fault it. Bread, milk, real butter plus other lovely nibbles on arrival. Lovely and clean throughout the house. Cosy decor and activities for youngsters. Great shower, kitchen well equipped for all you require. Only a short walk away from the beautiful scenery Derbyshire has to offer. We walked to the Middleton bike hire and had a great day biking along the old railway line. Lots of local interests. Bus stop very close. Make sure you pick this one you won't be disappointed! Would love to go back some day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2017
Thank you, so glad to hear you had a good stay and we'd love to welcome you back in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing