We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely Beautiful”
other travellers have booked this property
Acacia Cottage, Sunroom, Terrace and private garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Acacia Cottage, Sunroom, Terrace and private garden
Oak table and dresser Dining and Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Acacia Cottage, Sunroom, Terrace and private garden
Oak table and dresser
Dining and Kitchen
Dining for eight
Sitting room sofa
Sitting room
Sunroom
Terrace and views
Sunroom
Table and chairs
Master bedroom
Master bedroom 2
Chair
Twin bedroom
Twin bedroom 2
Double bedroom
Double bedroom alcove
Family bathroom
Study
View over Wirksworth
View to quarry
View over Little Bolehill
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Wirksworth, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lindahutc...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Absolutely Beautiful”
Reviewed 6 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Just had 3 nights at the Acacia cottage and wished we could have stayed longer.
It is the most beautiful place, incredibly well equipped with stunning views from the terrace. It's a short work into Wirksworth with a few pubs and restaurants, and so close to any lovely walks in the peak district. Would highly recommend it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary W
1 review
“Location with amazing views.”
Reviewed 5 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Overlooked Wirksworth. The Belper Mills, Derwent Valley and the river scenes at Belper - so beautiful.
Matlock Bath lovely and flat.
Even went to Eyam and the museum there was unbelievable.
The only negative about the cottage was the drive to it and the parking. On one occasion we could not even get to the area to park.
The bed downstairs was not very good.
But otherwise we thank you so much for a lovely few days at your cottage. Thank you, thank you, thank you. Mary & fellow travellers.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Great accommodation in nicely renovated cottage”
Reviewed 21 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Good location for exploring the Peak District. On a clear day, the views from the conservatory are amazing. The accommodation is comfortable, clean & well equipped. Local amenities are plentiful with lots of choice if eating out. The property is situated on a fairly steep valley with a narrow congested road leading to the cottage. There is minimal parking available across the road from the property.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Feb 2018
After trying many times to get the shower head to fit properly, we have replaced the whole unit so it should sit properly now. Re towels, we provide a bath towel and hand towel for each guest, plus some tea towels and hand towel for the kitchen. Guests staying longer than a week can arrange a change of linen and towels through our caretaker. Thank you for comments - it helps us maintain everything in good order!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful cottage”
Reviewed 23 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Hi sue, thank you so much for our wonderful stay. We booked the cottage for my dads 70th. The cottage is a great size and has amazing views as stated. Everything was very clean and the essentials, tea/coffee were provided. We ate out at the derbishire arms which was a 10min drive. The food was amazing and a great place to go for something special. The location of the cottage was great for people who would venture out by car, which you would expect in the Peak District. The nearest pub is a bit of a walk but also very nice, with real ales etc. The kids loved the cottage and thoroughly enjoyed themselves. I would recommend this cottage to friends/family as it's lovely.
Many thanks sue

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly K
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“August stay”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Absolutely gorgeous cottage, in great location, breath taking views! Nice touch of wine and milk left for us.
Would definitely return and recommend although only one thing let the cottage down and this was the cleaning of it. There were cobwebs on light fittings and on picture frames. Really dusty skirting boards. Kitchen window near the sink covered in dead flies/wasps and dust. Really dirty under sideboard in dining area. A previous customers flip flop under small table in living room.No cleaning products to clean loos or kitchen sinks all week. Not sure if this is down to cleaner not having enough time or not. Didn't expect this as it was not a cheap holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2016
We have asked our caretaker to address all of these things in her changeover cleaning, and she has assured us she will redouble her efforts. If there is something you would like to have during your stay, such as cleaning materials, please contact Jane as she will be happy to provide them. Look forward to seeing you again, and we trust that next time everything will be spick and span. Bets wishes, Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing