We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic day out”

Ecclesbourne Valley Railway
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: With its headquarters in the fine old Peak District market town of Wirksworth, the Ecclesboume Valley line, at nine miles, is Derbyshire's longest heritage railway. The line runs through some of the most pleasant scenery in the White Peak, from its joint station with the main line at Duffield to its northern terminus at Ravenstor, close to the High Peak Trail and the National Stone Centre. The line provides services mainly operated by heritage diesel railcars, with four trains a day on summer weekends and on Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays in the high summer. The timetable is designed to connect with East Midlands Trains' services to and from Derby and Nottingham. Visitors may wish to take advantage of a 'zigzag choo choo' all Day Rover Ticket issued by the railway and Trent Barton providing an excellent opportunity for discount travel through the beautiful derbyshire countryside by bus and rail. Steam hauled services are also operated at peak periods, please call us to check what is running. If you would prefer to see the line from the Driver's cab or realise a childhood dream by taking the controls of one of our heritage steam or diesel locomotives then you can book that day to remember direct on our website. We offer a range of experiences to suit any occasion and budget.
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I had a diesel driving experience as a present and the day was perfect.

Driving a diesel multiple unit and then a Class 33 diesel loco, the instructor and other staff, most of whom are volunteers, were very friendly and helpful.

The route driven was picturesque and varied in terms of track features.

I was worried a large part of the day would be classroom based, but it was straight on the train and off we went.

My 3 fellow drivers were very nice people and we had a laugh.

If you fancy such as day out, this is the perfect place.

1  Thank BRDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom_Tait, Manager at Ecclesbourne Valley Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear 'BRDave',
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your 'Day with the Driver Experience'. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us. We pride ourselves on offering a varied diesel driving experience utilising wherever possible the whole length of our line which helps to ensure our guests have a fulfilling an experience as possible. We hope you can visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 251 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

Spent a good few hours at this attraction. Bit pricey but can be on all day. My second visit and plan to return.

Thank PJSSESDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom_Tait, Manager at Ecclesbourne Valley Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear 'PJ......',

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed to visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I finally got the change to sample the EVR at their Home Fleet Gala event on 22nd March 2014. The day was full of variety - there was a diesel multiple unit and a diesel loco running on the line between Wirksworth and Duffield, there was driver for a fiver with another diesel at Wirksworth, and the "double bubble" running up and down the Ravenstor incline. As well as that, the miniature railway was operating too.

With lots to see and do and friendly staff wherever you looked, it was a fantastic day. Toilets were nice and clean, all trains ran properly and to time, and despite a power cut in the whole of the town, everybody kept marching on. All the engines, DMUs and coaches etc in use were obviously very well looked after and a smashing day was had by all. Flawless! I will be returning!

1  Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom_Tait, Manager at Ecclesbourne Valley Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear 'James L',

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our railway. Our Home Fleet Gala was our first event of the season and it turned out to be a great success. We pride ourselves on being a friendly attraction and thank you so much for your kind comments.

Its great for our volunteers to receive such feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I am not sure whether to describe this as a 'preserved railway' or a 'community run railway' but I have been to both and EVR would be high on my list to recommend for either. It runs from Wirksworth down the valley to Duffield with stations along the way at Idridehay and soon to be opened Shottle. They have a branch line (with quite an incline) up to a small station north of the town. All aspects of this railway are charming. The valley it travels down is not seen at its best from the road, something I hadn't realised until I travelled down it by rail.

What fascinates me about the line is that in many ways it looks complete, with its large yard in the town and its stations along the way to the junction at Duffield. What sets it apart from many of the others it competes with locally is the very high standards it sets in all it does. The 'returning' of the line from an overgrown wilderness to what it is today is not just a remarkable achievement but an example for others.

They are still developing their railway but they do have a lot to offer. As one contributor mentioned they are mainly diesels but they do have steam days and have their own under development I think. If you have children or grandchildren then book early for one of their Santa Specials. Over the years we have tried them all within easy travelling of our home in the North Midlands but now regularly go to EVR - why - they are the best! A really good, well balanced and well priced event.

The staff and volunteers really go out of their way to make it all worth a visit. If you do go ask them about the line, why it survived, the milk trains (who went as far as coop dairies in Sheffield I think) but especially some of the challenges they have faced in returning this line to us.

Again as another contributor I was given a driving experience as a gift. I have done of number of these now in various places, both steam and diesel but this was clearly the best. The tuition was excellent and the experience unforgettable. If you do go take someone with you as a guest, they make them welcome and it makes an event you will both remember.

If you have never visited the line or area then do go and consider some of the things you can do around the area using the railway. From the North of the line try leaving at Ravenstor station and walking up the old incline to the Cromford and High Peak line, now a walking track, but if you time it right there is a charming narrow gauge line here. Alternatively why not catch it at Duffield and come to the town by train, have lunch in one of the charming pubs or cafes (try ScrumDiddlyUmptious!) then go back. I havent tried it but I am told EVR trains coordinate with main lines out of Derby.

Well worth a visit.

Thank Luti D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom_Tait, Manager at Ecclesbourne Valley Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear 'Hallam-brn',

Thank you for writing such a comprehensive and positive review of our railway. As an attraction reliant upon volunteers, to receive such comments is great feedback and helps to maintain our motivation throughout the long season.

We are so glad you had such a wonderful time with us and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Staff seem friendly enough. Nice little shop. Everything seems o.k. I like the pullman coach for a nice coffee and cake. Let down a little by the unclean and slightly smelly toilets. Over all its well worth a visit.

2  Thank DerbyPhilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom_Tait, Manager at Ecclesbourne Valley Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Derbyphilip,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent trip to our railway. I can only apologise that the toilet was not as clean as it should be. We will try and ensure our normally high standards of cleanliness are maintained.

We pride ourselves on being a friendly attraction and thank you for your kind comments in this area.

We hope you can visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ecclesbourne Valley Railway also viewed

 

Been to Ecclesbourne Valley Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing