We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky B&B in a beautiful part of the UK”
Review of The Old Lockup

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Lockup
Ranked #1 of 5 Wirksworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quirky B&B in a beautiful part of the UK”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My partner and I spent two nights at The Old Lockup and we could not fault the whole experience.

We stayed in 'The Magistrates Room', which was a brilliant choice for us. Very cool and quirky with a twist of vintage/ french style. Added bonus was a tin of biscuits with the kettle and locally made chocolate truffles on the bed. This was very much appreciated after the long journey!

The breakfasts were perfect. We sampled the pancakes and the cooked breakfast, which set us up for exploring the area.

The owner Tim was very welcoming and gave us plenty of tips on places to check out. There's also free parking just outside the building.

We absolutely loved our stay and we definitely recommend it anyone heading out to that part of the UK.

Thank you very much Tim!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    71
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
225
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

An enjoyable three night stay here earlier this week. Tim is a friendly but not intrusive host who offered a welcome cuppa and homemade cake on arrival. He is happy to offer advice and pointers on activities in the Peak District. The Coachman's and Hayloft are two lovely rooms in their own self contained annexe and both are well appointed. The main house, where an excellent breakfast is served, is literally seconds away. Guests are welcome to use the house's lounge as though it were their own. Tim provides anything you need to make your stay enjoyable, such as a chilled bottle of wine.
The OldLockup is an excellent base from which to explore the surrounding area whatever your interests, be it walking, cycling or National Trust properties.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vera M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We were demonstrating the art of making a rag rug at the Belper Steam and Vintage fair. We were due to bring our motorhome but it let us down a few days before. We found this guest house a couple of days before we were due to leave. They allow dogs which was great for us.
We stayed in The Hayloft, a very quiet room, comfortable bed. We slept really well. It had every thing we needed. The only negative comment would be that the TV doesnt get all of the usual free view channels, which wasn't a problem for us. Plenty of hot water for showering. Nice clean towels.
We enjoyed looking at the memorabelia around the guest house.

Breakfast was lovely quality and plenty to eat.
Nice little touches like the chocolates in the room.
We took a walk around the town which was closed as we were back from the show too late. It seems really nice with some great little shops and interesting buildings. We would be tempted to return to the area as we saw many signs for places that we would like to visit. We certainly would stay at the Old Lock Up again.

Room Tip: Book early to avoid disapointment, The guest house is less busy during the week so try to tie in a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandjankers555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2014

At short notice last week I needed to stay near Matlock and found The Old Lockup on an internet search. It seemed to have availability for that night so I drove to Wirksworth to find out! It did and I was delighted to find such a gem!

I turned up and was met by Tim, who made me a lovely cup of tea to drink while he checked a room was ready for me. The Coachman room was lovely and I had such a good night's sleep! Lovely touches such as chocolates and a teddy on the bed and complementary biscuits to have with a cup of tea, plus a good breakfast made The Old Lockup a perfect 'no notice' stay in Wirksworth.

Next time I'll book and be able to take advantage of dinner too!

Room Tip: The Coachman has a high double bed, windows to front (quiet driveway) and rear (churchyard). The ens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emsworth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We were welcomed by Tim the owner and shown into our quirky room after being enchanted by the atmosphere of the Old Lock Up, the dog loved it too, Our room was clean and well serviced and what a comfortable bed!! The village of Wirkswoth is worth a stroll and there is a nice little pub just down the road.
There is an excellent breakfast menu with a wide choice of well cooked food available, enough to last well in to the day.
Will definately stay again if in the area.
Howard and Shirley, Emsworth

Room Tip: All rooms are individually decorated, nothing to choose between them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyneholmford, Cumbria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My wife & I were recently making a long journey from north to south. We needed a convenient overnight stopover to break the journey, the principal criteria being a large bed and an in-house evening meal to save us foraging for a restaurant.
My wife picked out The Old Lockup from some internet listings. It is a definitely a little quirky (but all the better for it), with lots of police and prison related artefacts and pictures on display.
From the friendly welcome from Tim, the proprietor (and cat) and coffee and cake on arrival, the spacious Solicitor's Room (complete with very comfy bed) the excellent dinner and the delicious breakfast the following morning, The Old Lockup didn't disappoint.
We will definitely stay there again if we get the chance.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We arrived to a warm welcome, from Tim with tea/coffee and cake and a friendly cat (The cat giving warm welcome, not part of the tea & cake) Stayed in the 'Old Hayloft' room, adjacent to the main house. Good clean room, comfy bed, truffles and teddy on the bed. We didn't watch TV during our stay, but the TV could do with updating - if that is important to you. The bathroom clean & functional but bijou and could do with a bit of updating. Excellent choice of breakfasts and they were plentiful and tasty. A good weekend bolt-hole.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eggandchips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wirksworth
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wirksworth
101 reviews
2.2 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
248 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
379 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
365 reviews
1.6 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Lockup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Lockup

Property: The Old Lockup
Address: 46 North End, Wirksworth DE4 4FG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Wirksworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Wirksworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Lockup 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1842 as the magistrate's house and later used as a police station The Old Lockup is now a quirky but luxurious guest house boasting four double bedrooms, all en-suite, and fantastic breakfasts. Set in the Derbyshire Dales on the edge of the Peak District National Park and just four miles from Carsington Water there really is something for everyone. Chatsworth House, the Tissington and High Peak trails and more walking than you can shake a stick at are all on the doorstep. Looking for an unusual place to spend that romantic break? Well maybe you just found it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Old Lockup reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Lockup Wirksworth, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing