We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home from home”
Review of The Old Lockup

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Lockup
Ranked #1 of 5 Wirksworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sevenoaks
1 review
“A home from home”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We spent two really cozy, comfortable nights in The Coachhouse rooms.
Tim greeted us with delicious home made cake and tea, which was a great intro to the rest of the fabulous stay.
We were made to feel welcome - the drinks in the lounge, tasty home cooked dinner and breakfast were all excellent.
A very good, value for money base for fantastic local attractions - Chatsworth, Matlock Bath, Hardwick Hall to name a few.
Thoroughly recommended,

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCSevenoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    71
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
226
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Four of us stayed here for two nights. We had the Magistrates Room and the Solicitors Room. Both rooms had lots of character and the beds were very quiet and comfy with fluffy pillows and duvet. We slept very well indeed!

We ate both nights there also. The food was great.Everything we had to eat was delicious.

Tim, who runs the place (and the chef) is very relaxed and thoughtful.

We'll happily stay there again if we ever get the chance.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fuptup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london,egland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed for 1 night with our staffy. Very pleased with the room, welcome and overall feel of the place.
Shower a little cramped, but fine for us.
Good quality ingredients used in very nice breakfast.
Has the added bonus of being in the same street as the wonderful Good Beer Guide listed pub, the Royal Oak (note - it opens at 8pm and does not serve food).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spoinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I had two lovely nights at the Old Lockup in Wirksworth. I was lucky to get the last remaining room, the Hayloft, in this small, friendly, quirky and rather lovely B&B. Each room has been given a different character. The Hayloft bedroom is spacious and very comfortable: a nice chair by the window to look out on the old gravestones; a comfortable, spacious and firm bed; a closet with enough hangers for more than two nights. The bathroom is a little cramped but there is a full sized bath and a serviceable shower.

The joy of the Old Lockup is the extra touches. The owner makes a real effort to make each guest feel that he has taken particular care to meet just your needs. The locally handmade chocolate truffles in your bedroom are a nice surprise after the hosts home made cake on arrival. Providing bottled water as well as tea and coffee making facilities was also welcome. I requested dinner on the Sunday night and he took the trouble to ask about my dietary peculiarities. Breakfast was hearty and satisfying - it certainly set me up for a day of walking and sightseeing.

Wirksworth is also in a great location for getting around Derbyshire. If you want to get away from the chain hotels and want a quality B&B at a very good price then look no further than the Old Lockup.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked great. If it hadn't been occupied I would have chosen the Magistrates Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed for two nights at this interesting and unusual B and B in July 2014.
We were greeted with a pot of tea and cake by the landlord and then shown to our room which was ready despite us being an hour early.
The hotel itself is an old police station with a fascinating and documented history. The rooms are spotless and comfortable.
There's also a handful of guitars and other musical instruments knocking around as well as an acoustic night in the nearby pub on Sunday evenings if that takes your fancy.
The village itself is small and quaint with some good friendly pubs and an excellent French restaurant. Beautiful Matlock Bath is also only ten minutes away.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this great hotel and proprietor and we're already planning another trip, probably a winter one to enjoy those cosy open fires.

Room Tip: There's only four. They're all quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We have just got home from a lovely 2 night stay at The Old Lockup and wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone for a comfortable and relaxing stay with a twist. We're a young couple and stayed for our wedding anniversary in the Solicitors room which had lots of character and the bed was very comfortable. There are lots of interesting things to look at plus lots of original features, definitely beats staying at any old bland chain hotel - right up our street!
Tim cooks a delicious and very filling breakfast with lots of choice which kept us going all day.
Very well located in Wirksworth surrounded by cosy cafes and pubs.
We will definitely be back!! A & L Whitrod

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LucyMcki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My partner and I spent two nights at The Old Lockup and we could not fault the whole experience.

We stayed in 'The Magistrates Room', which was a brilliant choice for us. Very cool and quirky with a twist of vintage/ french style. Added bonus was a tin of biscuits with the kettle and locally made chocolate truffles on the bed. This was very much appreciated after the long journey!

The breakfasts were perfect. We sampled the pancakes and the cooked breakfast, which set us up for exploring the area.

The owner Tim was very welcoming and gave us plenty of tips on places to check out. There's also free parking just outside the building.

We absolutely loved our stay and we definitely recommend it anyone heading out to that part of the UK.

Thank you very much Tim!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wirksworth
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wirksworth
101 reviews
2.2 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
263 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
753 reviews
10.0 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
383 reviews
1.6 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Lockup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Lockup

Property: The Old Lockup
Address: 46 North End, Wirksworth DE4 4FG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Wirksworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Wirksworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Lockup 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1842 as the magistrate's house and later used as a police station The Old Lockup is now a quirky but luxurious guest house boasting four double bedrooms, all en-suite, and fantastic breakfasts. Set in the Derbyshire Dales on the edge of the Peak District National Park and just four miles from Carsington Water there really is something for everyone. Chatsworth House, the Tissington and High Peak trails and more walking than you can shake a stick at are all on the doorstep. Looking for an unusual place to spend that romantic break? Well maybe you just found it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Old Lockup reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Lockup Wirksworth, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing