We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great attention to detail” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Lockup

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Lockup
Ranked #1 of 5 Wirksworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ilfracombe
2 reviews
“Great attention to detail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

This is a lovely boutique hotel with just a few rooms but each one immaculately appointed, with lots of fun details in keeping with the theme of a former local jail! Chocolates on the pillow, cookies in the tin and an opulent iron bedstead make the room seem very romantic and luxurious. Your host Tim is a great guy; he's friendly without being overbearing and he's a great cook too. This was our second stay here and the menu seems to be essentially the same as last year - no complaints there though, as it was delicious! A sea food cocktail with a Thai kick, beautifully crispy sea bream with basil mash and a wonderful soft meringue raspberry roulade. The wine list is small but carefully chosen and quite reasonably priced. I love this hotel and we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    69
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
212
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Just returned from two nights at the Old Lockup ! We had the Magistrates Room very comfy and quirky with nice little touches of homemade chocs and cookies !Tim the owner works so hard to make your stay special welcoming his guests with a hot drink and home made cake and he cooks an excellent breakfast ! We had evening meals at the Old lockup on both nights and would certainly recommend !We will certainly return ........Thankyou ?.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dodgecat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in the Magistrates Room. A fantastic room full of character, reflecting the history of the building as a former police station, with lots of interesting memorabilia and sensitively renovated. We had a great nights sleep in a comfortable bed with soft, plump pillows and duvet. The bathroom was small but clean and modern. There were some thoughtful and lovely touches including locally made chocolates in the room and good tea and coffee making facilities.

The breakfast was lovely, a wide selection and the owner catered for dietary requirements which I really appreciated. The owner made us feel extremely welcome, offering tea on arrival and showing us up to our room. There was a relaxed atmosphere and I would certainly recommend and stay at The Old Lockup again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ani K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We spent two really cozy, comfortable nights in The Coachhouse rooms.
Tim greeted us with delicious home made cake and tea, which was a great intro to the rest of the fabulous stay.
We were made to feel welcome - the drinks in the lounge, tasty home cooked dinner and breakfast were all excellent.
A very good, value for money base for fantastic local attractions - Chatsworth, Matlock Bath, Hardwick Hall to name a few.
Thoroughly recommended,

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KCSevenoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Four of us stayed here for two nights. We had the Magistrates Room and the Solicitors Room. Both rooms had lots of character and the beds were very quiet and comfy with fluffy pillows and duvet. We slept very well indeed!

We ate both nights there also. The food was great.Everything we had to eat was delicious.

Tim, who runs the place (and the chef) is very relaxed and thoughtful.

We'll happily stay there again if we ever get the chance.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fuptup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london,egland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed for 1 night with our staffy. Very pleased with the room, welcome and overall feel of the place.
Shower a little cramped, but fine for us.
Good quality ingredients used in very nice breakfast.
Has the added bonus of being in the same street as the wonderful Good Beer Guide listed pub, the Royal Oak (note - it opens at 8pm and does not serve food).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spoinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

I had two lovely nights at the Old Lockup in Wirksworth. I was lucky to get the last remaining room, the Hayloft, in this small, friendly, quirky and rather lovely B&B. Each room has been given a different character. The Hayloft bedroom is spacious and very comfortable: a nice chair by the window to look out on the old gravestones; a comfortable, spacious and firm bed; a closet with enough hangers for more than two nights. The bathroom is a little cramped but there is a full sized bath and a serviceable shower.

The joy of the Old Lockup is the extra touches. The owner makes a real effort to make each guest feel that he has taken particular care to meet just your needs. The locally handmade chocolate truffles in your bedroom are a nice surprise after the hosts home made cake on arrival. Providing bottled water as well as tea and coffee making facilities was also welcome. I requested dinner on the Sunday night and he took the trouble to ask about my dietary peculiarities. Breakfast was hearty and satisfying - it certainly set me up for a day of walking and sightseeing.

Wirksworth is also in a great location for getting around Derbyshire. If you want to get away from the chain hotels and want a quality B&B at a very good price then look no further than the Old Lockup.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked great. If it hadn't been occupied I would have chosen the Magistrates Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank E B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wirksworth
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wirksworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
1.6 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
10.0 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
13.0 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#1 of 15 in Chesterfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Lockup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Lockup

Property: The Old Lockup
Address: 46 North End, Wirksworth DE4 4FG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Wirksworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Wirksworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Lockup 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1842 as the magistrate's house and later used as a police station The Old Lockup is now a quirky but luxurious guest house boasting four double bedrooms, all en-suite, and fantastic breakfasts. Set in the Derbyshire Dales on the edge of the Peak District National Park and just four miles from Carsington Water there really is something for everyone. Chatsworth House, the Tissington and High Peak trails and more walking than you can shake a stick at are all on the doorstep. Looking for an unusual place to spend that romantic break? Well maybe you just found it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your The Old Lockup reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Lockup Wirksworth, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing