We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and friendly & comfy with great food, ale and service.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wirksworth
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Warm and friendly & comfy with great food, ale and service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

Owners were so friendly, good sized traditional room, very clean & comfortable beds and lovely bedding too. Breakfast was fantastic, cereals, juice, fruit, full english with plenty of HOT toast and pots of tea replenished as required! We were there 3 nights and room was serviced daily, even on the Sunday. Well kept ale, good choice of wine. Restaurant food was exquisite, particularly Chef's sauces, which are his speciality (and it shows!) Steak perfectly cooked, hand cut chips and perfectly cooked veg. Fabulous walks right from the pub, too. Couldn't really fault the place (which is most unlike me!!)

Room Tip: We had the twin, which was big with a fireplace and looks out onto the high st. Shower room OK (no b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    38
    13
    6
    8
See reviews for
21
47
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

Stayed over 2 nights for best mates wedding..had ensuite room which was large n had full complimentary tea, coffee n water tray..room was clean and had a very traditional feel. Breakfast was nice with a good choice of cooked food in addition to cereals, juices..
The owners were really friendly and could not do enough to make your stay special and a big thanks to the lady (owners wife?) who ironed our shirts n suit pants so we were ready for the big day...this is in addition to the bar which had 3 cask ales and were in good form...would recommend..

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rynoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

Staff at the hotel were fantastic, friendly and very accommodating. For a small town pub-hotel the standard was high, decor good & the place very clean. The breakfast was delicious - be warned, it doesn't come particularly quickly, but this is part of the appeal of the Red Lion - laid back in the country - enjoy! Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank icingboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudarg
Level Contributor
102 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

Sadly The Red Lion were only able to accommodate us for one of the two nights we requested so we slept " In't shoebox in't middle of t'road" first night. we had room 6 this time which, although not as hi-spec as the room on a previous vist, was ample to our needs. Clean and tidy with a comfortable double bed.
Crisis in the Bar though, guest beer was Timothy Taylor's Draught Landlord, but after half a pint was drawn the barrel expired! Tragedy was averted by deft substitution of a pint of Marston's - equally palatable.
Breakfast the following morning a delight. The indulgent 'Full English' ensured a sense of well-being and hunger satisfied.
Paul, Christine & their Staff continue to thrive and offer an idiosyncratic and individual welcome to all comers. We'll be back; we rather feel that we fit in there.
And I was joking about "T'shoebox". We evicted our daughter from her bed and she slept on't floor.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sudarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2011

I really liked it - the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The food was lovely and the place was full of individual character.
I'll definately be back again soon.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank duncanpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

On arrival the staff were friendly and the owners wife was very welcoming.
We stayed in a family room, which was on the top floor with a nice view overlooking the town. It was clean, however, the decor was tired with tatty wallpaper (nothing like the picture on their website). The saniflow toilet was noisy when not in use and created a lingering smell in the bathroom before we had used it, once the fresh smell from cleaning products had faded. There were crinkly waterproof bed sheets under the covers of both the double and single bed.
The breakfast in the morning was nice, in a nicely decorated room with a lovely open fire, but the evening meal was only okay and didn't seem to be freshly cooked so we went to another local pub nearby for our next meal, which was much nicer.
During the evening we had a couple of drinks but were warned by the bar staff that it could get a little rowdy at night and that they had to use plastic cups in the bar because when the punters got drunk they liked to throw glasses around.
Yet we were shocked when swarms of teenagers started piling in through the doors after 9pm, many of whom seemed to be underage. When we questioned the bar staff they admitted that although they checked for id they couldn't be sure if it was fake. We didn't hang around downstairs but watched from our room as they staggered out of the doors and started arguing outside.
As the manager increased the price up to £100 per night as it was New Years Eve, we complained stating that the room was not worth the money we had paid. He refused to provide any discount, replying that we had accepted the price on booking the room over the phone before arrival.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Threshers_Cottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

Overall a lovely experience. Nice welcome, attentive staff, truly excellent breakfast. My first ask was for Wi-Fi password, which was duly given! :)

The room was good, and as expected for the price. Very comfy bed. Looked and smelt clean. The bathroom was less appealing but everything worked, shower was good, and it was pretty clean. Just looked a bit ropey, and needs some new decor.

As others have suggested the bar is somewhat 'locals' orientated in the evening - but we didn't really mind. We didn't eat at the Red Lion - we ate at a nearby restaurant and returned later for drinks. Again, the staff were very welcoming.

Overall, the Red Lion is priced well and reflects the room standard and service. So, we were pleased. However, the breakfast was above par - truly excellent.

Happy we chose the Red Lion - an overall pleasant experience!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMuddyPuddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wirksworth
2.4 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
1.8 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
10.1 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
10.6 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel

Property: Red Lion Hotel
Address: Market Place, Wirksworth DE4 4ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Wirksworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wirksworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Wirksworth, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing