We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Venue not worth it”
Review of Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wirksworth
Reviewed 1 December 2011

We went to party last month and accidentally someone set up a fire extinguisher. The manageress showed a really bad attitude accussing people instead of asking what happened. After discussions they were proved wrong on their accusations. Never apologized.
Really not good. Will never book a party there ever again with the current management and neither will my friends

Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank Gisela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2011

Four of us spent a very enjoyable 2 nights at the Red Lion. The Staff were very friendly and hospitable and the accommodation was clean and well appointed. Our party included vegetarian and dairy free and this did not phase the restaruant at all. It was a very pleasant stay and we would all highly recommend the Red Lion at Wirksworth. The prices and services are reasonable and the ambiance is very good. Lynn, Simon, Louise & Graham

Room Tip: Both rooms very good, one on first floor other on second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitewitch13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We were interested in booking 3 nights b&b in July 2011 & loved the look of the rooms. We have a westie & were encouraged by the 'dog friendly environment' advertised on their website. So, we rang to book up & mentioned about bringing our dog only to be told, after the girl had to ask someone in the background, that they weren't allowed in the rooms. I asked what the dog friendly environment meant & she said that was only in the downstairs areas. I was appalled that she then suggested that we could leave our dog in the car overnight to which I asked if she was joking if she thought it was ok to leave a dog in a car for 3 nights & obviously didn't book. A man from the hotel did phone to speak to me but I wasn't home at the time, he said he would ring back but never did. I wanted to let other dog owners know as we nearly booked & would strongly suggest the website is amended to make it clear DOGS ARE NOT ALLOWED IN THE ROOMS!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
7  Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Owners were so friendly, good sized traditional room, very clean & comfortable beds and lovely bedding too. Breakfast was fantastic, cereals, juice, fruit, full english with plenty of HOT toast and pots of tea replenished as required! We were there 3 nights and room was serviced daily, even on the Sunday. Well kept ale, good choice of wine. Restaurant food was exquisite, particularly Chef's sauces, which are his speciality (and it shows!) Steak perfectly cooked, hand cut chips and perfectly cooked veg. Fabulous walks right from the pub, too. Couldn't really fault the place (which is most unlike me!!)

Room Tip: We had the twin, which was big with a fireplace and looks out onto the high st. Shower room OK (no b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Stayed over 2 nights for best mates wedding..had ensuite room which was large n had full complimentary tea, coffee n water tray..room was clean and had a very traditional feel. Breakfast was nice with a good choice of cooked food in addition to cereals, juices..
The owners were really friendly and could not do enough to make your stay special and a big thanks to the lady (owners wife?) who ironed our shirts n suit pants so we were ready for the big day...this is in addition to the bar which had 3 cask ales and were in good form...would recommend..

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rynoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Staff at the hotel were fantastic, friendly and very accommodating. For a small town pub-hotel the standard was high, decor good & the place very clean. The breakfast was delicious - be warned, it doesn't come particularly quickly, but this is part of the appeal of the Red Lion - laid back in the country - enjoy! Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank icingboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Sadly The Red Lion were only able to accommodate us for one of the two nights we requested so we slept " In't shoebox in't middle of t'road" first night. we had room 6 this time which, although not as hi-spec as the room on a previous vist, was ample to our needs. Clean and tidy with a comfortable double bed.
Crisis in the Bar though, guest beer was Timothy Taylor's Draught Landlord, but after half a pint was drawn the barrel expired! Tragedy was averted by deft substitution of a pint of Marston's - equally palatable.
Breakfast the following morning a delight. The indulgent 'Full English' ensured a sense of well-being and hunger satisfied.
Paul, Christine & their Staff continue to thrive and offer an idiosyncratic and individual welcome to all comers. We'll be back; we rather feel that we fit in there.
And I was joking about "T'shoebox". We evicted our daughter from her bed and she slept on't floor.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sudarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wirksworth
2.3 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
369 reviews
10.1 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
423 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
392 reviews
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
413 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel

Address: Market Place, Wirksworth DE4 4ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Wirksworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wirksworth
Price Range: £73 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Wirksworth, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing