We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing weekend!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wirksworth
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing weekend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

Log fires, great food, excellent hosts and friendly staff - what more do you need! Cosy room with a few added extras such as a cafetiere and bottles of water. Quiet and restful - no noisy guests. Would recommend to friends and family for a perfect no fuss break.

Room Tip: All the charm of a historic inn with the comfort and style of a boutique hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosieG62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    38
    13
    6
    8
See reviews for
21
47
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

We have just returned from a party in Wirksworth Town Hall. We stayed at this hotel because of good reviews and ideal location to the town hall (right opposite). We were not disappointed as the hotel rooms are excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful. This is not a 5 star hotel but for the cost of a 3 star was fantastic value for money. We stayed in room 2 which was on the second floor overlooking the market place. Will we stay here again.....without doubt! Thank you from Julie and Carl

Room Tip: We would recommend the 'family room' which for a little extra gives you lots of extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlAnstice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

Spent a mini break here with my husband. Friendly warm welcome.Staff lovely, room very comfortable and clean. Food fantastic. Would stay here again and will do as soon as we can.
Room came with all the extras you expect with an added surprise of the cafetiere. Towels were immaculate. More of a friendly local pub than a first sight a hotel, but the service from the friendly staff is superior to many hotels we have stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roger h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

Although we only stayed for one night, we received a very warm and friendly welcome and were made very comfortable in this "Olde Worlde Inn".
First bedroom we ever had with ground coffee and a cafetiere!
Great breakfast following morning as well.
We will be back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TimPurrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012 via mobile

Decded to head off to the Peak District with my 17 yo son at short notice, booked at 1200 hrs and arrived there at 1730. Great location, staff really friendly and helpful, completely different from the corporate style of the regular chains we generally use. Room was a good size with a great mattress that guaranteed a good nights sleep. Food in the restaurant was good, breakfast was excellent but for my son waffles or pancakes would of been to his liking. The bathroom and shower were cramped but adequate. Towels were nice and fluffy. Nice friendly local atmosphere in the bar at night and we quickly worked out how to reset the wifi router to keep my son entertained. Would definitely return again.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mopb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

do not be put off by the fact that it is more of a pub than a hotel. the rooms are excellent . lovely modern solid oak furniture and damask bedding. the room was filled with all the extra's we want to take home!! bottled water, lux soap, shampoo and conditioner. spotlessly clean bedding and immaculate towels and flannels. the breakfast is served across the yard in the den. the food was delicious. the porridge ordered by the next guest looked to die for. the owners are exceptionally friendly and helpful. we will definately stay again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clarabel50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
126 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

We didn't stay at the hotel but went for Sunday lunch during a day out.
The day out was using a Christmas gift voucher on the local railway and we went as a large group. When we told the staff we were out fro our Christmas lunch they played along the whole way supplying christmas crackers and napkins with our roast dinners( turkey of course) and finishing with Christmas pud !
A bit surreal in July whilst watching the Wimbledon final.
The roast dinner was really lovey with food served on a large 'help yourself' platter with homemade Yorkshire pud.
The staff could not have been more accommodating and it made it a really special day enjoyed by adults and children alike. There were a few strange glances from those who came into the pub to see us all wearing Christmas hats. The only let down was that Murray lost- never mind you can't have it all

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janep1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wirksworth
2.4 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
1.8 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
10.1 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
10.6 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel

Property: Red Lion Hotel
Address: Market Place, Wirksworth DE4 4ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Wirksworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wirksworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Wirksworth, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing