We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A view from the top”
Review of Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wirksworth
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A view from the top”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed at the Red Lion on 18th/19th July and found it to be a very welcoming hotel. All the staff were attentive and prepared to spend time and chat and nothing was to much for them to do for us. Our room at the top with the King Size bed and a view over part of the town and lovely further views of the hills, was very comfortable. Air con or a fan would have added to the comfort due to the lovely weather we have been experiencing, but we coped. The ensuite was a bit on the small side, but the shower was good and that was important. We ate in the hotel the first night and the food was good. There was some noise from pubs emptying and cars going back and forth, but it didn't bother us. We would return to this hotel if we were back in the area, it was a nice change from a Premier Inn, certainly a lot more relaxing.

Room Tip: Room with the King Size bed, which we believe is one of the bigger rooms. Can't comment on any o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nightOwl1_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    40
    13
    6
    8
See reviews for
22
49
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Enjoyed our stay the room was large clean and comfortable with a great view of the square.We ate at the red lion and the food was very good quality for a reasonable price and for a change you actually got a nice looking meal that was more than a small child's portion. Drinks were average price and the staff were welcoming and friendly.All in all a very pleasant weekend.

Room Tip: The rooms that overlook the square have a table and two chairs beside a large arched window and it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave504076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Just back from a great weekend break at the Red Lion in Wirksworth. We were very impressed with the hotel room and little extra's e.g. bottles of mineral water and ground coffee and cafetiere in the room. We had chosen the hotel because of the good walking and bird watching in the area and were more than happy with the price for bed and breakfast (which was £70.00 for the room so £35.00 each per night. The room was spacious with a king size bed and plenty of wardrobe/drawer space to put all your stuff. The breakfast was very good with plenty of choice, from full english to smoked salmon and scrambled eggs all accompanied with toast and preceded with fruit juice and cereal. Their was also a good choice of evening meals on the bar menu, and very good home made desserts, - lemon cheesecake was delicious. Altogether an enjoyable and affordable break!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JUD89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

My partner and I, driving to Bakewell from our South Wales home, overnighted at somewhere we had never previously heard of: Wirksworth. The Red Lion, a 17th-century coaching inn which retains much of its former charm, stands in a prominent position overlooking the town centre. We stayed in Room 1 on the second floor. Those nervous about the possibility of conflagration take note: there is no fire escape. Nor does the premises have a reception desk. You check in via the attractive high-ceilinged bar, one popular with locals yet not noisy on that account. Although there is no lift, you would have little difficulty finding someone to hump your suitcase upstairs if you could not do it yourself, such is the convivial nature of the place. While our accommodation was a centuries-old room, it had most of what a modern hotel has to offer: comfortable king-size bed, flat-screen TV, even a cafetiere and a new packet of filter coffee. The en suite was clean and bright. The shower did not disappoint. Overall, then, a reassuring experience, reinforced by a first-class breakfast next morning in a second bar with a good many Edwardian and Victorian touches. Wirksworth would seem, to an outsider, engagingly quirky: a blend of ancient and modern which is easy on the eye. Its individuality and atmosphere would be well worth exploring.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AsOfNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed at The Red Lion as we were visiting the local steam railway. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Our room (No.1) was large and comfortable and, for the price, most acceptable. We ate at the hotel on the first night. I had trout which was perfectly cooked and my partner had steak which he enjoyed apart from it being served with 'oven' chips. We did'nt enjoy our first breakfast as it was a bit fatty but smoked salmon and scrambled eggs on our second day made up for it. We would stay with them again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We stayed here for two nights, the whole place smelt musty and our bathroom smelt really badly of damp, also musty. It was in need of decorating with wallpaper peeling off the walls. Breakfast was ok but dinner was not good the first night - a long hair in one meal, a replacement meal was given however was still charged for it! We ate in Matlock the second night. The Landlord was very friendly however we won't be returning!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KACH40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013 via mobile

We've stayed at a number of places in Derbyshire and this "does what it says on the tin". Being an old building, the rooms are nice and large but mind your head occasionally if you're tall. Unfortunately we we're straight above the bar, and you could hear everything until shut down. Glad it wasn't too late a night!

We had food there too. Plenty of it on your plate. Matched the cost and just what wa needed on the day.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wirksworth
2.4 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
268 reviews
1.8 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
352 reviews
10.1 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
18.8 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,668 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel

Property: Red Lion Hotel
Address: Market Place, Wirksworth DE4 4ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Wirksworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wirksworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Wirksworth, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing