We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spoilt by teenage drinkers”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wirksworth
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spoilt by teenage drinkers”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

As said by someone before, outside the rooms is a favourite spot for the local young drinkers to hang out in the smoking shed and chat until gone 1am. When I complained in the bar at gone midnight I was told this was ok as they were drinking up so this was ok.
The owners wife was not in any way helpful so I had to intervene to ask people to leave or move form outside our window which didnt shut so we had o way to keep the noise out.
The rooms as they are dont work alongside this being a local drinking haunt for the youths of wirksworth, or indeed for running 21st parties as happened when we were there.
I should add I live in manchester city centre so Im hardly a light sleeper, but we had no chance of getting to sleep before 1am which is not good enough.
I would 100% not recommend you to stay here, there are lots of alternatives in the village. The food was ok and the beer good til the best ale ran out so you would be better self catering and just eating at this pub.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    38
    13
    6
    8
See reviews for
21
47
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had a fab time at the red lion, perfectly situated for a walking and cycling weekend with plenty of choice of pubs for a drink before dining in the red lion. Staff extremely friendly and helpful, even storing our bikes overnight in a safe place. Rooms clean spacious and comfy bed although looking a little tired could do with a bit of a make over, but perfectly adequate for what we wanted. Would visit again for friendliness and location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The Red Lion is right in the centre of Wirksworth opposite the market square. It dates from at least the 1700's and still has the arch where coaches entered. (It now leads to the car park.) Our room was spacious with a comfortable bed and the usual hotel facilities. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. The pub downstairs was traditional with the usual range of drinks including very good ale.

Breakfast was taken in the "Lion's Den", the other side of the arch, with a range of freshly cooked dishes available. I tried the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, which I can definitely recommend.

All in all, a fine example of an old coaching inn with modern touches, without losing the ambience of the past. We found that booking directly with the pub saved money compared with using an agency.

Room Tip: Room 1 (our room) had a good view of the market square. Other rooms might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidC85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheadle
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This is a town centre pub which offers accommodation. Our room was on the top floor and was spacious and comfortable with real filter coffee available (which is rare and a good touch). A very comfortable king size bed with duvet (a bit too warm for me). Shower room was a rather cramped but functional and the room decoration was not to my taste.

Breakfast was very good and served in the delightful ‘den’. The first night we had a meal in the pub which was good pub food. In addition, the pub offers freshly made pizza bread with whatever topping you want and must be worth a try if you fancy a pizza. There is a great range of real ales, well kept and served.

Staff were really friendly and helpful.

As mentioned, this is a town centre pub which is great for mooching around the interesting shops and little alleyways and quirky buildings but it can also be a bit lively in the evenings since this is a popular place where locals gather for the craic. I liked this place for its history, nooks and crannies, and the fact it dates back centuries. This is definitely not a plastic antiseptic place so don’t expect lifts and liveried employees. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Genoa25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
125 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Perfectly located for visiting Chatsworth, Haddon Hall and many other Derbyshire delights, this fine old establishment is an ideal resting place. Peter and his staff provide a nice easy-going atmosphere accompanied by friendly and efficient service. Spacious bedrooms with extremely comfortable beds & pillows. Ground coffee, cafetieres and tea-making facilities in each room are an added bonus. Do not expect smart chichi in this small town amongst the mills, but good pub-grub cooking and very decent comfort makes the Red Lion: RECOMMENDED.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wolsties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stopped in for lunch on the way past and were surprised on all counts, but not in a good way! The food was overcooked, low quality and generally tasteless. The beer wasn't bad, but also not great, below average. On top of that the staff were unfriendly and not helpful. Goes without saying that we won't call again!

I'm not one for writing reviews, but this place was so bad I just had to say something.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CliveUpstray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Stayed for the night at the red lion. What a gorgeous building full of history. Lovely staff. Lovely atmosphere. Beautiful room. Comfortable bed. Nice touches like bottled water and posh coffee in the rooms. Staff made the effort to make our stay enjoyable. Breakfast in the separate part of the building with a roaring log fire. Will definitely be going again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MariaVioletAdamxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wirksworth
2.4 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
185 reviews
1.8 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
335 reviews
10.1 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
348 reviews
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
234 reviews
19.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel

Property: Red Lion Hotel
Address: Market Place, Wirksworth DE4 4ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Wirksworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wirksworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Wirksworth, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing