We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“My husband and I with dog enjoyed our stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Hollywell Lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Wirksworth, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
brendaebe...
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“My husband and I with dog enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed 23 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Very clean and comfortable. Thoroughly enjoyed the local dog friendly pub, the Maltshovel, was made very welcome

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christmas...
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed 18 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Lovely characterful cottage. Robert was a perfect host. Would highly recommend you book.
Nicely situated.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela F
Herefordshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
Reviewed 16 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Property as advertised. A small property but everything we needed as a couple in our sixties with 2 labradors retrievers. Would also suit a couple with young children. Comfortable, clean and quiet.
Handy having a pub with good home cooked food less than 5 minutes walk away when returning from a day's walking with our 2 dogs.
Convenient too having a large enclosed paddock to exercise them in if going off in the car touring.
Good supply of tourist info and walking guides supplied.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T F
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect for touring this area”
Reviewed 24 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This was a delightful well kept cottage,.
Very quiet, private and perfect for us to stay whilst touring that area.

We found the bed comfortable and because it's off the beaten track slept well.

There is alittle space outside to sit if the weathers kind.
The living room and kitchen are small but this is shown quite clearly in the pictures.
If there were more room it would have been nice to have a dishwasher, but I guess I'm spoilt. Everything inside was modern and cleaned to high standards.

Very handy having a friendly pub just 5 mins walk away.

We visited all the following

StarDisc (nearby and interesting. Picturesque location to view the area)

Chatsworth house ( we really enjoyed this trip but it is expensive, having said that I think it is one of the best stately houses we have ever visited)

Dove dale (too many tourists and noisy children)

Hardwick Manor House ( national trust staff made this a fascinating visit and one to remember)

Abraham heights ( get a wizard view without having to walk all that way )

Lumsdale valley ( we liked this walk the best, it really is a hidden gem)

All in all an excellent few days away

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet location
Liked least: No room for a bath or a dishwasher
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TizzieBel...
Cambridge UK
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Very well equipped and nice location”
Reviewed 19 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The lodge was very comfortable. It had all the items you would expect from a rental property. We stayed with three young children - my only criticism (and I am still not sure whether this is overly clear in the description) is that the shower room is part of the smaller bedroom with bunk beds. It was only an issue as we had two young daughters sleeping in there - every time we used the shower room it flooded their room with light when we opened the door (the switch is on the outside of the door so impossible to switch the light on from inside the shower room - thought about using a torch but then the fan wouldn't work with the shower and steam .......). This would only be an issue for younger children I guess as they are put to bed quite early. Our large travel cot fitted nicely in the large room for our youngest daughter. We didn't see much of the owner but they replied straight away if we needed anything. Overall a nice lodge and spotless too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: a lovely paddock for the children to run around in
Liked least: the shower room being attached to the small bedroom
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2016
Thank you for your review. I am going to see if I can make the light in the shower room dimmable. Hopefully this reduce the issue.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ceri M
1 review
“Great Place”
Reviewed 31 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We recently stayed at the property with our children (5 & 2). We had a lovely time and the kids absolutely adored the bunk beds, although they didn't get to sleep very early!!! The cottage had everything we needed and the owner even put balloons and banners up for our daughters birthday. Great base for exploring

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auntie_La...
Paso Robles, CA
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Lovely home-away-from-home”
Reviewed 28 February 2016 for a stay in October 2015

Hollywell Lodge is an adorable, perfect slice of English hospitality. Although there was only two of us staying, Hollywell could easily and comfortably accommodate more with the sofa in the living room, bunk beds in the second bedroom, and large bed in the master. There was plenty of room for parking and the view over the valley is spectacular.

The local pub is a mere five minute walk down the country lane and the food there is traditional pub grub, classic and well-priced. After sitting down to our meal and pints, we were delighted to see a handful of locals trickle in, friendly dogs in tow, to enjoy an evening pint. Definitely an authentic English experience. Using the flashlight (torch) provided in our rental, we were able to easily make our way back in the darkness to our comfortable abode.

I'd happily recommend Hollywell Lodge to anyone looking for a lovely English getaway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view is wonderful.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing