We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely and comfortable”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Wirksworth, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kate S
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely and comfortable”
Reviewed 2 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018

Lovely holiday here with three generations and dog staying. Very well equipped cottage in beautiful surroundings. A real bonus was the open gardens whist we were staying, which showcased the lovely gardens in the cottages round our rental house. Cottage is very well equipped, and the welcome basket of goodies was a lovely touch. Thank you

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perrey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 25 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Great place, highly recommend. Stayed there twice, both times for a week. Really clean, homely, warm, spacious, comfortable - and the owners are lovely. Not at all intrusive but there should you need them. We’ll be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loulouBuc...
bucks
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage”
Reviewed 1 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Just back from a weekend with all the family. Cottage is very homely and equipped with everything you need. The owners are very friendly and helpful. We had a lovely basket of goodies to welcome us. There is a great view from the garden area and it well placed for visiting the Peak District. The cottage is kept to a high standard with plenty of room for 8 people. No problem with parking. Would love to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr and Mrs”
Reviewed 20 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

The Milkhouse in wirksworth is fantastic!
Lovely cottage suitable for adults and children of all ages. The cottage is fully equipped with everything you'll need. Has books and games for children too. Our children love it here.
We have been before 2 years ago and will continue to visit in years to come.
Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodlover...
penzance
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Superb Cottage, possibly the best we have stayed in!”
Reviewed 10 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Really lovely cottage, could not fault a single thing! Really well equipped and extremely clean. The bedrooms were really spacious and beds comfortable with quality bed linen and pillows. Kitchen was equipped with quality appliances and all the pots, pans and gadgets you could possibly need. We never had any problems getting parking spaces, we came with 2 cars. Plenty of walks from the cottage door, very pleasant walk into Wirksworth, found a great little micro brewery, The Feather Star, well worth a visit, or two! Hannah was very helpful and friendly, hope to visit again soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perrey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 9 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely, clean, warm, spacious (but cosy) cottage. Really nice owners who were there to help when needed but left us alone otherwise. Lovely welcome with a food hamper, and fresh daffodils! Really well equipped. They'd really thought of everything to make the stay comfortable and easy. Good location for exploring local area - and an easy footpath direct to to Wirksworth from cottage, 15-20 min walk. Recommend both the Royal Oak and the Ale House in Wirksworth, and the Northern Light cinema is great (book in advance - tapas looked lovely too). Would definitely recommend the milk house and we've booked to stay there again next year. Only thing I would say is that you can hear a lot from other parts of the house as the floors are essentially just floorboards (but that was probably more to do with us having two noisy young boys!) so might be worth taking ear plugs if you are sharing with others/children!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee M
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend retreat”
Reviewed 6 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We were a party of 8. 4 adults and 4 children.
Firstly, the Milk house was spotless and finished to a high standard. The property is stocked with everything you'll need. The property is split over three levels and is really good for two families with a twin and double bedroom on each accommodation floor with their own bathrooms.
A very thoughtful basket of goodies in the kitchen to welcome us when we arrived too. Just a stones throw from Carsington Water, Matlock and Dovedale National nature reserve. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely come back.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing