We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Family gathering”
wake up to Chatsworth in the mist mural
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
wake up to Chatsworth in the mist mural
Short stroll to a wine bar or meal in Wirksworth Relax with friends
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
wake up to Chatsworth in the mist mural
Short stroll to a wine bar or meal in Wirksworth
Relax with friends
Dine outside French style in the sun trap alongside the barbecue
Relax in this bath at Agricola House, sauna is next door
stunning scenery for you to enjoy
Peak District around Kinder Scout
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Wirksworth, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Stickonto...
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Family gathering”
Reviewed 28 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had a family gathering for a group of 12 at Agricola House in Wirksworth in June 16. The house is in a great location, very close to the town centre and has 7 double / twin rooms and 5 bathrooms together with an extensive kitchen / dining area, sitting room and cinema room. The house, fittings and facilities are well presented, modern and clean and is an excellent base for a large group visiting the Peak District.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size, cleanliness, facilities, location
Liked least: All great, nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mulhare7
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 24 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was a beautiful house, very tastefully furnished and felt really luxurious. We were a 60+ age group for my daughter's wedding nearby with guests from Northern Ireland. They were thrilled with the accommodation. We had wine, coffee, tea and nibbles left for us by the owner. A nice touch. The numerous bathrooms were great for a large party and the kitchen exquisite with a wine chiller!! We really liked the creative décor and just loved the house which had lots of parking spaces also. We had a wonderful time with many happy memories.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quirky decor.
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SycamoreF...
Huddersfield
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely top class!”
Reviewed 2 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Writing this on our last night of a three day break with a group of friends with whom we have been meeting up since we started Uni (gulp) 45 years ago. This is quite simply the very best place we have ever stayed in. The house is superbly equipped with good quality pots and pans etc. The kitchen area is great, modern and clean, loads of space for plenty of cooks. The beds are really comfortable and the bedrooms are beautifully decorated, individually and quirkily furnished. En suite and adjacent bathrooms spotlessly clean with attractive bathroom suites and good fast showers. We cannot praise it highly enough and will be recommending to sons and daughters who are carrying on the reunion tradition with their friends. Thank you Mark and Rachel.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missymdc
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“A fabulous house”
Reviewed 29 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

A wonderful place and the perfect location for our family gathering. The kitchen was large and very well equipped, the bedrooms were individually styled and comfortable and the bathrooms were immaculate and wonderfully decorated. The cinema room was very much appreciated by the younger family members whilst the oldies were relaxing in the sauna!
We were really pleased that we chose Agricola House for our gathering, and would highly recommend it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Dec 2015
Thanks for the lovely review and glad you enjoyed your stay
Happy New Year
Rachel and Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hellokitt...
England
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent stay, really lovely house.”
Reviewed 15 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We have a lovely break at Agricola House in October 2015, I took a chance and booked it before it was completed and I wasnt dissapointed. There was 10 in our party and everyone loved the house. The décor is definitely a good talking point. It comes well equipped with more than enough plates, cups and glasses to go around. We had some great times in the kitchen cooking and eating at the large dinning table. The bedrooms were small but perfectly formed, they all had somewhere to hang clothes, and places to put your bits and pieces and the beds were very comfortable. Everyone had several great nights of sleep. There are also more than enough bathrooms to go around. There were no fights over who was going to be able to get ready at the same time, it all worked out very well. There was a lovely welcome pack when we arrived, which soon disappeared, so thank you. The house was very clean on arrival there was plenty of parking. We made use of the cinema on several occasions, it was nice that the chairs at the back were slightly higher, so you got a great view of the screen and enjoyed a sauna. I would recommend booking this house for any get together where you need separate bedrooms as the two wings worked perfectly.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew P
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An unforgetable weekend”
Reviewed 1 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Agricola House was a perfect place for our family celebration weekend. There were 14 staying + a baby, the age range spanned 65 years and everyone enjoyed the stay. The bedrooms have some interesting design features and the bathrooms were spotless. The spacious kitchen was well appointed and had everything we needed.
There are plenty of places to visit and things to do within a few miles of the house. I would recommend the house for a getaway break for families and groups of people.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2015
Thanks for the lovely review--glad you enjoyed your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nanny j
Henley-in-Arden, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect choice for us”
Reviewed 8 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Agricola House was perfect for us. Ages ranged from 2 to 80, including a young adult in a wheelchair., and we all felt very comfortable.
The house is clean and spacious. It has recently been converted from offices in a modern, imaginative and quirky way. The beds are very comfortable, the bathrooms are luxurious and the kitchen area is wonderful. - plenty of cupboard space and extremely well equipped to cater easily for 14 people. The children particularly loved the cinema room!
We were there for a birthday party weekend so didn't travel far but the house is very close to the town centre and also to a Co-op supermarket.
We had a wonderful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing