We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely cottage in a beautiful and accessible...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Jasmine Cottage

Jasmine Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Jasmine Cottage
Living room Master Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
Jasmine Cottage
Living room
Master Bedroom
Walk along Bradford River
Enjoying the River Bradford
Outside Jasmine
Twin bedroom
Spacious Kitchen
The Village of Youlgrave
Preparing the Well Dressing boards
Well Dressing
Clapper Bridge on River Bradford
Jasmine Cottage
River Wye  , Bakewell
Bakewell Market
Bakewell Market
Cork Stone , Stanton Moor
Cowslips Gratton Dale
Curber Edge in the mist
Sheep on the moor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Youlgreave, Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pippa_Cra...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Pretty cottage but needs a deep clean”
Reviewed 6 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Stayed with friends and a dog while we were exploring the Peak District. The cottage is in a quaint little village, very pretty. The price was pretty reasonable. There were fresh flowers and cake on arrival which was a nice touch.
However for me what spoilt it was the fact it needs a full deep clean. There were cobwebs everywhere and a dead moths on the windowsills, high level dusting needs attention and the sofa looked grubby. Under the bed in the master bedroom there was plenty of fluff and general dust. We struggled to work the central heating which seemed to have a mind of its own. The bathroom needs a blind at the window to preserve modesty, and the bath needed a good clean. The wi-fi didn't work and it is worth noting mobile phone reception is intermittent in the cottage.
I expect we arrived at the end of the season and the bare minimum has been done inbetween rentals over the summer period and this has now taken its toll and the cottage looks rather shabby. Sorry but I would not return or recommend due to this.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: not clean enough, shabby, lack of wi-fi which was advertised
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jan 2013
I don’t understand why this review is so bad as all previous reviews both in our visitors book and on line have been very good .and many of our visitors return again and again. However we note the comments and assure all future visitors that cleanliness is of paramount importance to us and we will do all we can to make your stay a happy one.
The wifi does work but does need a key which is available on request .
The cottage is a warm one and so far we have always let visitors have personal access to the CH controls, which they have appreciated, but will always help them if they want help
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, Connecticut
Reviewed 3 October 2012 for a stay in July 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The immediate and surrounding area - perfectly located
Liked least: The cleanliness was not particularly great but everything else mostly made up for it
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
29Poppy
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A perfect place to relax & chill”
Reviewed 15 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We had a short break at Jasmine Cottage and it was just perfect. Its in the lovely village of Youlgreave and everyone was so friendly. The cottage itself has everything you need and its a great place to relax and get away from the pressure of busy lives. Lots of great walks around the village and beyond. Margaret the owner had baked us a lovely home made victoria sponge cake which was the best we have ever tasted, provided milk, tea, coffee, hot choc and beautiful flowers on the table, a really thoughtful welcome. We had lots of walks with our dog, and its a great base to explore the surrounding area, Bakewell, Matlock Bath, Chatsworth. Hightly recommend this cottage, book it now!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Feeling that we really were getting away and having a break
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 December 2011 for a stay in December 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: how roomy it was for a cottage & flowers and mince pies on arrival
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 September 2011 for a stay in September 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$99
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing