We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very pleasant.”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Youlgreave, Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ElaineS35...
1 review
“Never again!!”
Reviewed 18 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Youlgreave is a beautiful village, very friendly people, we do love it here, fantastic walks along the river with our well behaved dog.
Bakewell very pretty & lots of places of interest to visit.
It is our second stay in this village & will visit again, but very, very disappointed with this cottage, it desperately needs the facilities upgrading, beds, bathroom, sofa etc.!! would also think twice about taking a dog!! Wedding Anniversary & Birthday celebrations cut short as we returned home early!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2018
Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments.

I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your chosen property. I can see we have already spoken with you directly regarding your experience, and I apologise that we weren't able to resolve the matter to your satisfaction on this occasion.

Kind Regards,
The Customer Service Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive R
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very pleasant.”
Reviewed 19 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

On arrival a cake was baked and left on the kitchen table by louise the owner of the property who seemed very pleasant during brief conversations. When it was identified that I’d booked the cottage for my partners birthday, louise went out of her way to bake another cake especially for the birthday date which was a lovely lemon sponge, (thanks for that Louise as i never got the opportunity to thank you).
The cottage was nice, it had good facilities in the kitchen, the only negative was the very creaky floorboards upstairs, if you’re a light sleeper someone getting up during the night would almost certainly wake you. Putting that aside, myself, partner and dogs had a very pleasant week.
Thanks again Louise.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank S
Thornaby on Tees, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Curios cottage in quaint old Derbyshire village”
Reviewed 21 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Having visited this area for the first time We were pleasantly surprised and had a most enlightening week we visited places like The devils cavern The twisted spire and the dam busters film location We also found out how to dress a well and overall had a good time the cottage is lovely but not to everyone's taste we were welcomed with our well behaved dog in most places and would recommend it to others and go again The landlady was lovely and most helpful and we were able to get our food in the village with THE FARMYARD pub coming out on top by a long way

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: village life
Liked least: the weather
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, always made welcome x”
Reviewed 18 March 2015 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Lovely cottage. Always made welcome. Have stayed twice now and would stay again. Excellent position for walking and close to Bakewell's shopping when required. Would recommend x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandP150
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy cottage”
Reviewed 26 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A really nice cosy cottage log fire . Well equipped . Everything you could possibly need for your stay. Comfy beds very clean so nice we feel right at home . Three pubs to choose from great riverside walks . Secure shared garden for you and your dogs lovely welcome from owners who look after you and give you some local knowledge great big homemade cake on arrival and fresh flowers . Check out the butchers some lovely pastries. We would definitely stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well equipped and homely
Liked least: We can't fault anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2015
Thanks for taking the time to leave this review, we'll certainly pass on how your kind comments about the owners and their cake making skills. We look forward to helping you book your next holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlesRi...
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“QUAINT AND QUIRKY BUT WELCOMING AND COMFORTABLE”
Reviewed 24 January 2015 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The homemade cake presented to us by the owner was particularly welcoming and set the tone for the friendly hospitality provided throughout our stay.

The fixtures and fittings in Turret Cottage may not have been absolutely pristine but everything worked and overall the property was in a very clean and tidy condition.

The cottage proved to be an excellent centre for exploring the highlights of Derbyshire which included walking through the dales around Youlgreave and visiting nearby Chatsworth.

We enjoyed our visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: The dishwasher
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas W
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Facilities under par for 21st century travellers”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 for a stay in June 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We found this property a big disappointment and nothing like the quality we have previously experienced with Sykes Cottages. It was all very tired and the carpets grubby and contrary to the listing, no fridge/freezer, just a small fridge with ice box, neither was there the promised patio. The bathroom is in dire need of updating, no towel rail, no toilet roll holder and no facilities for toiletries, unless one counts a ledge where the pipes are boxed in. Although the garden has a pleasant grassed area, it can't be seen from the cottage, the only view being of a builders tip and 20 feet wall at the back and the road through the village at the front. This is not the fault of the owner, but is not what is expected from a "country" cottage. On the plus side, the bedding and crockery were clean. A lovely village, with pubs and small shops, in a picturesque setting but, unfortunately, the accommodation was a let down. Luckily, the weather was good.
I'm sure the cottage is fine for those who like walking with their dogs, but not for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The village.
Liked least: The cottage.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Youlgreave hotels

Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing