We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wednesday is pie night”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Farmyard Inn

The Farmyard Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Youlgreave
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wednesday is pie night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Wow what pies! All cooked to order so you have about forty minute wait but worth the wait. I had game pie and my husband had steak with stilton sauce. Both get full marks

Helpful?
Thank Carole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    92
    19
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food, great drink, great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

The food was great and had a lovely selection. We shared starters and desserts (which we regretted. Too good!). Great selection of meat, fish and, unusually, vegetarian dishes. All were tasty and good value. I'd highly recommend the place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alshakesby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Ate here several times while staying in Youlgreave. The staff are lovely and the locals are friendly the beer is good and the food is fabulous. I am Veggie and had several choices, be sure to check out pie night my partner loved the steak and kidney pie "the best he ever had". The dogs where made welcome in the bar so important when your all on holiday together. We are looking forward to future visits big thanks to everyone who make this a great pub.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TRB_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a village pub setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Eating at the Farmyard Inn over Easter wasn't easy, Friday and Saturday night were booked out so we had to wait till Sunday to get a table. So booking is recommended at busy times.

While the pub décor is pretty typical and unexceptional its the food that makes the Farmyard Inn special. A menu that might be termed 'modern British' with a focus on fresh local produce, its the quality of the cooking that really stand out. My Poachers Pot was a good as anything I've tasted in much posher restaurants, while the rest of our dishes were just as good. Portions are sensibly sized which means you actually have room for pudding.

The landlady is friendly and helpful and was accommodating enough to vary from the menu for our vegetarian daughter. .

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cl1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

This is just a local pub in a small village, however the food was very good with generous portions, The lady who served us was very jolly and looked after us well. Because it is small in comparison one does need to book as it is always busy.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Farmyard Inn also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Youlgreave, Bakewell
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to The Farmyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing