We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful and friendly place to stay”
Review of The Farmyard Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Farmyard Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Youlgreave B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful and friendly place to stay”
Reviewed 11 April 2011

This was a warm and friendly inn. The rooms were lovely and clean. Beds were very comfortable. Good shower, and new towels etc daily. The breakfast was delicious, with a good choice. The owners were nice and helpful. Overall not much you can say bad about this place.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katherineh18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    61
    17
    4
    5
See reviews for
43
126
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2011

An overnight stay which was made all the better by friendly and knowledgeable staff, good food & drink, a roaring fire and excellent cake (don't eat too many pieces but I sure did!).

Definitely well worth a visit packed with locals and walkers and all as happy as each other.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2011

To be fair, not as bad as the title suggests, however I do wholly echo the sentiments of the February report. I would just add that you make sure you pray for some rain in the morning as this is the only way you will get a decent shower! I would have thought that for accommodation mainly used by the 'outdoorsey' types hot power showers would be first on the list, instead of a tepid dribble!
Service in the bar area was unreasonable slow due to the staff member being far more interested in what the 'locals' were talking about rather than getting on with serving the 5 different parties waiting patiently at the bar.
Breakfast has to be ordered the night before (not a problem), however it has to be taken between 8.30am - 9.00am!! To be honest, in our experience, it's not worth getting up for. Very incipid, poorly cooked and tasteless. Accommodation in an area like this should be using, and bragging about using, 'locally farmed produce' etc as opposed to food that, in my opinion, tasted like it had come out of ASDA's damaged goods bay!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Toptrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farmyardjo, Owner at The Farmyard Inn, responded to this review, 25 March 2011
We are very sorry you were not happy with your experience at the Farmyard Inn.
Youlgrave has its own independent water supply and sometimes the water pressure is a little less than normal.
As for your comments about the food, our' locally farmed' sausages are from a farmer in the village and our free range eggs are also from a local farm in the village. We are very proud of our food and feel your comments are, to say the least, a little excessive. We may not brag enough about our food for your liking but, I am happy to say, the vast majority of our customers are very happy with our food, so much so, some of them even come back more than once.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bockhorn, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Pub very nice: Delicious beer; real fire and passable food.
Accomodation YUK! A sleepless night due to a security light shining through thin curtains ALL NIGHT; drafty due to badly fitting door (we could see through the gap to outside!); freezing industrial tiling in the bathroom; shower door couldn't be closed; a sofa-mattress blocking the radiator heat (and for which there was in-any-case insufficient room); remaining heat from radiator went up behind the curtains and heated the window-frame not the room; 30-minute breakfast window (?).
We chose the Farmyard Inn on the basis of 4* review on Trip Advisor. But it was awful accomodation: never again.

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Capachun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands, UK
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Good food (not overpriced). Cosy bar with plenty of outside space to cool off after a long walk. Rooms clean and comfortable. Staff very helpful - we needed breakfast early and packed lunches and this was no problem. Will be staying again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank writemerich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Youlgreave, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

A good reliable stopover for walkers. The rooms are much better quality than some earlier reviews suggest. The food in the evening was good pub food and a friendly atmosphere prevailed at all times.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2010

Just wanted to share our experience of our stay in the hope that it will be useful to others. We were a little apprehensive given the previous review that was on this site but having been to the village many times decided to go with our instincts and were not disappointed. We found the accommodation extremely good and comfortable, the rooms clean and tidy, and there were obvious signs of recent redecoration. The food in the pub was lovely. Thank you Sean and Jo for making our stay so comfortable and for the excellent hospitality extended to us during our New Year stay and making us feel that we were part of your community.

Paula C from Warwickshire

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulaCWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Youlgreave
2.8 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
2.8 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
391 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
290 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,710 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Peacock Bakewell
The Peacock Bakewell
#15 of 44 in Bakewell
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Farmyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farmyard Inn

Property: The Farmyard Inn
Address: Main Street, Youlgreave, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1UW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell > Youlgreave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Youlgreave
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Farmyard Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Farmyard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Farmyard Hotel Youlgreave
The Farmyard Inn Youlgreave, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing