We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worthwhile”
Review of The Farmyard Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Farmyard Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Youlgreave B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Staying at a nearby B&B and needed somewhere to eat on Sunday evening. Fortunately we chose this friendly, lively, busy and welcoming pub where we enjoyed an excellent meal in an obviously watering hole.

Room Tip: Arrive early.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pjay727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
There are newer reviews for The Farmyard Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

We spent a lovely Sunday afternoon drinking the well kept beers. The waitress was very friendly and dogs are welcome. Although we didn't eat the food looked great and the portions were huge especially the steak pie. A very traditional pub which we will return to.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Was here on Easter Sunday - very busy but all the staff were very friendly and welcoming. Lovely meal, near the cosy open fire.
Would recommend the Farmyard to anyone for a reasonable priced meal.
They also do a carvery on Sundays.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank icingthecakes01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stopped off on a day out for a drink. We did look at the menu but decided we wouldn't eat. The staff were rude and unsociable from that point on. Snatching the menus back and showing obvious annoyance! Further to this on leaving we waved and thanked the staff for the drinks- instead of a friendly reply one member of staff shouted across the bar we had not paid!!!!!! WE MOST DEFIANTLY HAD!!! A member of the public who was at the bar with us confirmed we most defiantly did and the other cutstumers were shocked by the staffs rude outburst.
The member of staff we had paid denied all knowledge of it!! No apolgie from these people. In my advice do not visit a lucky escape for us as we had a fab FRIENDLY meal else where

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kirsty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Called here with my wife and a friend for a drink and a light lunch whilst on a walk in the area. I can only describe the landlady and her staff as the most friendly and welcoming of any pub I have ever visited. The food was fresh and cooked to order and the landlady even provided a non-menu dish for my wife. Beer was excellent and prices were very reasonable. We will be planning more walks in the area and the Farmyard Inn will definitely be on the itinerary.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Well, I was conducting a US friend on a visit to connect with her local UK family.
To start, there was ample parking, which is important because Youlgreave itself is a lovely scenic village, but compact and definitely not built to accommodate cars.
The rooms were individual, comfortable and well maintained, with all the mod cons you'd expect.
Downstairs, there is a cosy village pub atmosphere. The menu was extensive, with varied good food in generous portions at affordable prices, and catered readily for all dietary fads and foibles. Staff and management were warm and welcoming, with an impressive patience and good-humour with our embarrassingly fussy fellow traveller.
Loved it. Will come again.
TM

Room Tip: Right now, this is a small B&B with only four rooms, but the two we occupied were just fine. All...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ArchOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Possibly the most unfriendly reception I've ever had in a pub. From the minute I entered the building the mood was sour. The bar lady was curse greeting me with what can only described as a grunt, while the landlady might have given a better reception to a steaming pile of sh1t on the carpet than what she offered me. On the whole the place had a sour tone from the moment I was served, thank god this was not the only pub in town.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
6  Thank JJJ186364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Youlgreave
2.8 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
394 reviews
2.8 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
1.4 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Castle Inn Bakewell
Castle Inn Bakewell
#6 of 44 in Bakewell
390 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Peacock Bakewell
The Peacock Bakewell
#15 of 44 in Bakewell
432 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Devonshire Arms at Beeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Farmyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farmyard Inn

Address: Main Street, Youlgreave, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1UW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell > Youlgreave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Youlgreave
Price Range: £63 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Farmyard Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Farmyard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Farmyard Hotel Youlgreave
The Farmyard Inn Youlgreave, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing