We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Britain, Britain, Britain: we've had running water for ten years!"”
Review of The Farmyard Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Farmyard Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Youlgreave B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Pub very nice: Delicious beer; real fire and passable food.
Accomodation YUK! A sleepless night due to a security light shining through thin curtains ALL NIGHT; drafty due to badly fitting door (we could see through the gap to outside!); freezing industrial tiling in the bathroom; shower door couldn't be closed; a sofa-mattress blocking the radiator heat (and for which there was in-any-case insufficient room); remaining heat from radiator went up behind the curtains and heated the window-frame not the room; 30-minute breakfast window (?).
We chose the Farmyard Inn on the basis of 4* review on Trip Advisor. But it was awful accomodation: never again.

Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Capachun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

252 - 256 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2010

Good food (not overpriced). Cosy bar with plenty of outside space to cool off after a long walk. Rooms clean and comfortable. Staff very helpful - we needed breakfast early and packed lunches and this was no problem. Will be staying again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank writemerich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

A good reliable stopover for walkers. The rooms are much better quality than some earlier reviews suggest. The food in the evening was good pub food and a friendly atmosphere prevailed at all times.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderingBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2010

Just wanted to share our experience of our stay in the hope that it will be useful to others. We were a little apprehensive given the previous review that was on this site but having been to the village many times decided to go with our instincts and were not disappointed. We found the accommodation extremely good and comfortable, the rooms clean and tidy, and there were obvious signs of recent redecoration. The food in the pub was lovely. Thank you Sean and Jo for making our stay so comfortable and for the excellent hospitality extended to us during our New Year stay and making us feel that we were part of your community.

Paula C from Warwickshire

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulaCWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Following a 2 night stay in The Farmyard Inn we left feeling refreshed and very well fed! The pub serves great food and the bar is cosy and atmospheric. Perfect after a good long walk in the beautiful surrounding countryside. The staff were efficient and friendly and, consequently, I feel quite guilty at having to post any negative comment. However, I must say that the rooms disappointed us slightly. We liked the fact that they were in a separate block to the actual pub and were spacious with decent furniture etc. The problem was mainly due to damp. It was evident from the significant amount of mildew in the bathrooms and the damp smell in the bedrooms that this was an issue that had been going on for some time. The decorative state of the bathrooms was also poor - made worse by the mildew obviously. A little more attention to the cleaning of the bedrooms would have been welcomed too. Used glasses from the previous night were still there after the rooms had been made up and the water glasses had not been replaced or washed. Little improvements could make all the difference to this lovely little pub.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KEWNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farmyardjo, Tennant at The Farmyard Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2009

Thank you for your review. We were very sorry to read that your room was not up to expectations.
Since your visit we have re-decorated all the bathrooms (as we planned at the end of the season) and we will make sure that we keep a closer eye on our daily cleaning routine.
It is most important to us that we ensure that our guests are happy with their stay here and all comments are taken very seriously.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Youlgreave
2.8 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
397 reviews
2.8 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
1.4 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
2.9 mi away
Castle Inn Bakewell
Castle Inn Bakewell
#5 of 44 in Bakewell
398 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Devonshire Arms at Beeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Farmyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farmyard Inn

Address: Main Street, Youlgreave, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1UW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell > Youlgreave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Youlgreave
Price Range: £66 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Farmyard Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your The Farmyard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Farmyard Hotel Youlgreave
The Farmyard Inn Youlgreave, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing