We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YHA Youlgreave”
Review of YHA Youlgreave

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Youlgreave
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
YHA Youlgreave
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed in a private 2 bed room in July at this great hostel. The hostel itself is the old Co-Op store. It is in the center of the village with a great pub serving reasonably priced food next door. Our room had a washbasin & adult bunk beds, a toilet & shower were on the landing. The self catering kitchen was very clean & well equipped. The breakfast we ordered was lovely, a great choice of cereals, breads etc as well. The staff are very friendly & helpful. It is easy to reach by public transport or a walk over fields from Bakewell town center. A bargain at £25 for a 2 bed room.There are some great walks from the hostel & we look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHAYoulgreaveManager, Manager at YHA Youlgreave, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Hello! I just wanted to say a quick thanks for your lovely review of our hostel. I'm so glad you all had a good time with us. Hope to see you back here soon. John.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013

We enjoyed a comfortable stay at this youth hostel, in a two bedded room with good views over the lovely village. The hostel was clean and tidy and there was a good ambience in the large dining/common room area. We were staying in the village over the well dressing weekend and our room overlooked one of the displays.

Room Tip: All rooms are pleasant averaging 4-8 beds with washbasin and other facilities along the corridors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank byegreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHAYoulgreaveManager, Manager at YHA Youlgreave, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Hi guys - it was good to see you again this year! Glad you enjoyed your time with us - see you in 2014?! John.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I stayed in the mens 8 bed dorm room. it is a typical hostel vibe, bunk beds with pillow, sheet and duvet provided. Linen was clean. The hostel was clean and tidy. The staff were very helpful and quite laid back. There are many walks right on the doorstep and pubs close by. They do offer a breakfast (one egg, bacon, sausage, mushrooms, baked beans, tomato, fried bread etc. as well as cereals, yoghurt, croissants cheese, bread for toast and jams). There is a self catering kitchen available and it is very well equipped. one word of caution the hostel main building is locked between 10:00 and 17:00 so have all your goods with you. The Kitchen, toilets and boot room are still accessible.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed on the 01st June, which was a saturday night and although the hostel was full, there is plenty of room to sit and chill out.

The welcome and help which we received from the young lad on duty could not have been better. Overall, It seemed to be a very friendly and well run hostel.

Our room was very nice, on the first floor lookng out over the village. We noticed that the walls to the next room were very thin as we could hear the people talking as though they were in our room (very common with youth hostels). Thankfully the people next door to us had children and they were respectfully quiet at night and got to sleep early. Had it been a rowdy group piling in from the pub late on then it would have been a problem.

The self catering kiitchen is okay but would be a bit cramped if busy. The restaurant for catered breakfasts is particularly nice and spacious.

Overall, a very nice stay in an interesting youth hostel with exceptonal service. Great location too.

We recommend the George Hotel for its take away fish and chips menu up until 8.45 in the evenng.

The next morning we walked up to robin hood's stride then into birchover and on to stanton moor before dropping down to Caudwell's mill at Rowsley for lunch. Been loads of times. Fantastic salads here in a lovely location - highly recommended. Then across the fields to stanton in the peak, down to alport and back into Youlgreave. A wonderful day and a great weekend!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKDAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

I stayed in a 6-bed female dorm on the top floor of the former village store. There were only two of us in the room on the first night and three on the second night. Youlgreave is a beautiful village in Derbyshire's white peak with lovely walks from the doorstep.

The hostel is clean, quiet and well managed. Nice modern loos and showers with plenty of hot water (take your own soap and towel)

It's got a well equipped self-catering kitchen but take your own food as there are no food shops in the village. Nearest supermarket is Bakewell - about 3 miles away - walking distance or their is an hourly bus (£2.20 each way).

The only drawback with the hostel is that is doesn't have a lounge, but there is a TV in the dining area. Highly recommended if you're wanting a short walking break in a beautiful location.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor have great views of the countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnT593, Manager at YHA Youlgreave, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Hi Karen, I just wanted to thank you for your review and kind comments. It sounds like you enjoyed your break. We look forward to welcoming you back at YHA Youlgreave very soon! Best wishes from John and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We have just come back from a short break at YHA Youlgreave and it was lovely. The hostel itself is clean and welcoming, with a large self catering kitchen in the basement and a living room/dining room on the ground floor. The rooms are spread over 2 floors and although the steps are steep our room had a fantastic view over the hills. The room had a sink and 4 bunks and was next door to loos and showers, all of which were spotlessly clean.
Would highly recommend staying here - a great base to explore the peak district, with wonderful walks on the doorstep and lovely Bakwell - a market town - very close nearby.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarieO864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnT593, Manager at YHA Youlgreave, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Hi! Thanks for your review. It was really nice to meet you all and I'm glad you had a good time. Hope to see you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Great price, can't fault it. Really modern facilities. Comfy and clean with hot showers. 24/7 heating- bit socially irresponsible-but warm! Limited parking. Good large boot room. Dining area spacious with good range of games and books. Kitchen on lower level, really big. HIred the place to ourselves and were left to our own devices

Room Tip: Choice of 4, 5, 6 bedded rooms. 6 are more spacious, but do you want to share with so many?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to YHA Youlgreave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Youlgreave

Address: Fountain Square Church Street | Church Street, Youlgreave, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1UR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell > Youlgreave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Youlgreave
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA Youlgreave 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet, friendly youth hostel housed in a former Co-Op village store in the beautiful village of Youlgreave. Based in the middle of the Peak District, this Grade II listed building is the perfect retreat for families or friends. We happily accommodate all types of groups and you can even rent out the whole place to yourselves.Ideally located for countryside walks for all abilities, or for visiting nearby Chatsworth House, Haddon Hall or the lively market town of Bakewell.We offer a fantastic breakfast, a hearty packed lunch and can provide a home-cooked dinner subject to advance booking. We're looking forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
YHA Youlgreave Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing