We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Little slice of countryside heaven”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Apple Tree Cottage

Apple Tree Cottage Patio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Apple Tree Cottage Patio
View from private patio Private parking
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
68 reviews
Apple Tree Cottage Patio
View from private patio
Private parking
Lounge looking towards the kitchen
Kitchen with underfloor heating
Kitchen looking towards the lounge
Lounge/Diner
Kitchen from the bedroom
Bedroom
Shower room
Kitchen looking towards the bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Youlgreave, Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jo R
1 review
“Little slice of countryside heaven”
Reviewed 5 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Thoroughly enjoyed my 3 night stay at Apple Tree Cottage. As I was already fairly familiar with the Peaks I decided to make the most of being in such a lovely cottage and spent much of my time just relaxing, reading on the terrace and enjoying the wonderful view! The weather was fantastic, beautiful sunshine every day. I woke up each morning to the sound of the neighbours cockrell which was fab. Just relaxing in a beautifully presented cottage and taking some time to unwind made it the perfect little break. I would definitely recommend and would love to stay again in a different season. Many thanks.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2018
Thanks, Jo. So glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albury
Reviewed 8 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
N J C
2 reviews
“Nice cottage, beautiful location”
Reviewed 7 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

The cottage is just right for 2. Maggie and Ian could not have been more helpful when we had to move our stay due to the terrible weather earlier in the year, and we had a wonderful few days when we finally arrived. Blessed with sunny weather, the patio outside with great views was a delight.
We enjoyed walking in the area, and around, with Haddon Hall easily accessible on foot, and some great spots by the rivers.
We loved Peak Feast and the Village Store, but didn't find the Farmyard Inn welcoming, and the food was average. We'd love to come back, so we'll try the other 2 pubs then.
Overall a great stay

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2018
Many thanks for your kind review. I look forward to welcoming you back.
Maggie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecjones11...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent place and host”
Reviewed 3 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Really great little cottage - perfect for 2 people. Clean and cosy. Went when it was cold and snowy so really appreciated the under floor heating. Conveniently located for some of the well known walks.

Maggie and Ian are really great, kind hosts. They are also super patient. Had some issues with my booking and they were super nice and patient throughout the ordeal, never making me feel annoying. They are super responsive. Also DO NOT scoff at Maggie’s suggestion to book all local pub dinners in advance. I made that mistake. She’s not exaggerating. :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward W
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delightful cottage with wonderful garden and view across the dale”
Reviewed 3 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Wonderful little cottage with everything as advertised. Cosy underfloor heating made the kitchen particularly nice for our winter stay. Lovely view across the dale, and plenty of bird life in the gardens nearby and on walks along the river and over the hills. Good local pubs too. Maggie and Ian are thoughtful hosts who provide all kinds of information on the local area, including walks and food. We took their advice on a walk and meal at the Lathkil Hotel.

We would happily stay again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelH1...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb cottage in excellent location”
Reviewed 16 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Cottage very clean and welcoming and a great deal of thought has obviously gone into what to provide and was more than sufficient for the few days we were there. Excellent value for money. The information provided was really useful.
Very friendly village and excellent variety of food and drink offers - The Farmyard Inn is exceptionally good value with a really lovely atmosphere.
Location is really good for exploring the surrounding countryside and both Bakewell and Matlock are within easy reach.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven R
1 review
“Lovely, well appointed cottage in a great location”
Reviewed 4 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Lovely cottage at the heart of Youlgreave and near many interesting walks. Everything we needed and more.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing