We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage in a great location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Riverdale View

Sit on the bench, listen to the water, the birds, and take in the fresh air
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sit on the bench, listen to the water, the birds, and take in the fresh air
cosy log burner Comfy L shape sofa with bedding storage underneath adds a 3rd double / single bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Sit on the bench, listen to the water, the birds, and take in the fresh air
cosy log burner
Comfy L shape sofa with bedding storage underneath adds a 3rd double / single bed
sit on the antique pew and take your walking boots off
antler chandelier, lounge (dimmable for cosy ambience)
barn doors throughout. plenty of hooks for hanging up your walking jackets
cottage meets contemporary with ceramic sink and metro tiles
kitchen with retro style toaster kettle and microwave
contemporary bathroom with roll top bath, rain shower and feature fossil wall
explore the polished rare derbyshire fossils whilst you bathe
luscious view of the dale from the Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom (Summer) with guest towels
Master Bedroom. vintage drawer detail
quirky fittings, vintage pieces and pictures throughout
Master bedroom (Winter) .  Quality wooden double bed, goose & duck duvet
Spring view from Master Bedroom
patio with bistro table and chairs
Maytime - the wild garden lawn
The Blue room. (double) Anti-Allergy mattress. (non feather duvet also available)
both bedrooms have front view windows overlooking the dale and river
steps down to the river
Pisarro was here. Lucien Pisarro, Impressionist painter.  Colwell End painted this scene
stone bridge over Bradford Dale  & river - just at the bottom of the cottage steps
crystal clear water with little waterfalls
interesting finds en route
dry stone walls throughout the Peak District, mile upon mile
limestone outcrops along the waking path by river
the sky at night
countryside full of curious animals
delapitated barns, fields and dry stone walls
winter window view
virgin snow garden
endless winding lanes edged with hand built limestone walls
winter wonderland view from bedroom
book for Christmas! tree included
Cottage front. The honeysuckle and passion flower are growing...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Youlgreave, Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
emily r
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage in a great location”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018

I visited with my partner and young baby and had a wonderful stay! The cottage is in a beautiful location with a great view across the dale. The cottage is well maintained and had everything you could need.

Youlgreave is a lovely village with good amenities, but be warned - parking can be difficult in the main street of the village but there is a car park a little way up the road!

Would recomend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cometsail...
Ratby
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely, peaceful location”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018

We really enjoyed staying at Riverdale View. A characterful and comfortable cottage overlooking Bradford Dale. It was well equipped and lovely to be able to light the wood burning stove for the chilly evening in June! It was a bit dark and the walk down or at least up with luggage was a bit of a challenge. But it was great to be well away from the road. There were lots of lovely places to sit outside too.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MummaDx
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely walks straight from the front door - A little oasis”
Reviewed 16 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

This was my third visit to the cottage, this time with some walking friends. We love the peace and quiet - no cars in front of the cottage - just the gentle sound of the wind in the trees and the river below - and the walks from the front door are fantastic.
The cottage is comfy - there were 4 of us - and the log burner was much appreciated given the not so great spring weather.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2018
Glad you came back again in the spring time. Yes - good to have the log fire whatever the season!
It is so convenient to walk straight out and be by the river in just 30 steps down, and the trees and birds are always such a treat and set the scene right on the doorstep. See you again then. Thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isobel G
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in great location”
Reviewed 16 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We had a lovely short stay here with great walks from the doorstep. The cottage is cosy, comfortable and well equipped. The village had everything we needed and Amanda responded very quickly to any queries. We'd definitely recommend it though it is a steep climb to the main road.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2018
Glad to hear you enjoyed the cosy cottage and did some good walking in the surrounding area. It's lovely when spring finally arrives!
Thanks for alerting me to the light bulb/extractor - It is helpful if little things pop up as owners can respond and get on to it asap. (It turned out just to be the fuse in plug, now sorted). The cottage has its benefits from being away from the main road but I appreciate the original old steep path to the river can be a challenge initially! (there are hand rails tho and a bench). we are just over half way down, by the last 30 steps to the river, the old stone bridge and the meadows of Bradford dale.Thanks Isobel for your rating and your recommendation. Much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophiepar...
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous Location, gorgeous cottage!”
Reviewed 13 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

After staying at riverdale for a short break with my husband, I can recommend it's quiet and refreshing location.

Coming from a busy city, riverdale cottage captured the essence of the peak district. It's only a short walk down the path to the shallow river for a paddle. I loved stepping out of the front door to the sound of the morning birds, with no traffic noise for once! It was great to be only a short walk off the main road as we could truly enjoy our peak district surroundings.

The cottage itself was stylishly decorated, and we'll equipt for cooking and preparing full meals. There is a lovely village shop or supermarkets in the next villages. We sat out on the patio on the warmer of the nights and enjoyed the unspoilt views of the dale.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2018
Ah thank you. yes it is so refreshing down here after the hustle and bustle of the city. The river/stream of Bradford dale is quite full at the moment so the little waterfalls in the area are particularly lovely to see and hear, along with the many birds of course. Both the village shop and the post office in Youlgreave here itself has fresh veg, eggs, general groceries and great home-made pies, so quite a self sufficient village these days. Glad you enjoyed the cottage and your stay at Riverdale View! thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart S
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect retreat for a lazy weekend”
Reviewed 31 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

The cottage was fantastic base for a weekend break in the Peaks. Whilst we did not cook but enjoyed eating out locally the kitchen is well equipped, lovely bathroom and two good size bedrooms. the lounge was cosy complemented with the wood burner.
We were fortunate to be abel to enjoy the sunshine and sit outside enjoying fantastic views over the river.

Only recommendation would be is to take some extra pillows....

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RogStu
1 review
“The delightful Derbyshire Dales”
Reviewed 23 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Perfect location and perfect accommodation in the delightful Derbyshire Dales. The sun lit up the terrace in the morning - in November!, we walked along the Limestone Trail, across to Over Haddon, called in at the Lathkil Hotel for lunch and admired the fantastic views from the garden, visited Bakewell and Youlgrave village shops (the Youlgrave Village Shop is wonderful for essential supplies and open seven days a week) and we called in the brilliant Farmyard Inn. Back to the cottage each evening to relax in front of a roaring log burner and plan the next day. Cottage well equipped, warm, comfortable and very peaceful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Dec 2017
hey thanks Roger, sounds like you had a perfect break - and all the best the dales has to offer! thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing