We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cosy cottage, perfect for families”
other travellers have booked this property
Sea Lavender frontage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sea Lavender frontage
Garden with table and chairs Ground floor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Sea Lavender frontage
Garden with table and chairs
Ground floor
Main bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Lounge
Kitchen
Wood burning stove
Swings and slide for under 6's
Terrace with Sea Lavender
Beach at Brancaster
Beach huts at Wells
Punch and Judy show on the green
Boats in wells harbour
Wells beach train
The family in the surf
Seal at Blakeney
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Burnham Market, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chris S
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy cottage, perfect for families”
Reviewed 28 January 2016 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great trip to this cottage in the middle of Burnham Market. It had everything we needed and more. It was well furnished with comfy beds and the kitchen was well equipped and it had a range of items to make our stay with children easy. It was clean and warm.
We didnt use the garden as it was winter but it had an enclosed area with a swing and slide for the kids.
The location was fabulous, straight access to the village and all it has to offer in a few minutes walk.
The area was stunning with good places to go bird watching, access to fabulous beaches and great fish and chips.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfy beds
Liked least: The low door ways
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stellajam...
Kent
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely location. Tiny grubby cottage”
Reviewed 24 January 2016 for a stay in October 2015

The cottage was set directly onto the road in a good location near the centre of Burnham. Market. It was furnished to a high standard with good quality appliances and jam packed with everything you would need for your stay.

Unfortunately, it had been sadly neglected by the owners and only given a quick clean in between guests, resulting in a build up of dirt and grime. There was still food in the freezer, including raw chicken and the fridge smelled unpleasant. Cobwebs and dirt build up in the corners and food splashes on the walls. We spent about 15 mins. Cleaning the surfaces that we would come into contact with. I phoned the owner to tell her about a broken music centre that we noticed on arrival to make her aware, I did mention the dirt but said that we would be ok now that I had cleaned it. We were determined not to let this spoil our holiday.
There is an outside toilet advertised as 'handy' . This is unusable due to the fact that it is crammed from floor to ceiling with baby equipment including high chair changing mat, toys etc.. The upstairs is much less cramped with nice beds and quality bedding. On leaving, we stripped the bedding to discover dirty stained mattress cover. I would not have been happy to have bought children to this property, but we still enjoyed our time at this lovely part of the country. Lots of good places to visit and to eat. Good information given at the cottage.
We waited over a month for our deposit to be returned, despite emails and phone messages left by us. It is a shame that this place is not as advertised and we hope that the owners give it the T L C it deserves.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Dirty place, very small
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jan 2016
I am disappointed to see this review as we tried to deal with the issues at the time including offering the cleaners to go back in. The cottage has been fully cleaned and refreshed as it should be at the end of the season and new bedding purchased including mattress protectors for 2016 (as we have done in previous years). We apologised at the time and have since changed cleaners to make sure that this does not happen again. The toilet has also been tidied and will be regulary going forward. The deposit was not cash, which is always returned promptly, but a cheque which was not cashed and we do not give guidelines on when this will be returned if requested, due to our holidays it was later than expected. The cottage has regained it's 4 stars with the English Tourist Board and we believe the standard of the cottage reflects this.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie130...
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage and location”
Reviewed 3 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here for the new year for 4 nights. Cottage spotlessly clean and equipped with everything you need. Very comfortable beds and the cottage was always nice and warm, hardly needed to use the log burner. The location was fantastic , a stones throw from all the shops and 2 pubs. I can highly recommend the following places to eat in villages a few miles away...The orange Tree in Thornham, The White horse in Brancaster Staithe and The duck inn in Stanhoe. Had a lot of fun drinking in the nelson which was used more by locals , they made you very welcome. Had a fantastic time all in all and the weather was perfect for days out too.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah1239...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely village but disappointing cottage”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We spent 2 weeks here as a family (2 adults, a 2 year old and a baby). The location is lovely - a very short walk to the village green with a few shops and cafes, and it was very peaceful. In terms of the cottage itself, it was smaller than we'd expected, and we found it a difficult space for a small family. Not a lot of room for the children to do anything, though we appreciated the toys. The outside space wasn't as described - it isn't private, but is shared with the other cottages. It also opens straight onto the road via a small gate which didn't close properly - ie. not a safe space for children to play without constant supervision. There was a nice spot to sit and eat outside which we enjoyed. We also were disappointed on arrival that a lot of the crockery in the cupboards was dirty, and there weren't any basic supplies of eg. toilet paper or dishwasher tablets. The DVD player was broken (this was resolved reasonably quickly with a new one arriving half way through the fortnight). The bathroom (downstairs) is small and rather awkward with several internal doors and low beams - not easy to negotiate at children's bathtime! The upstairs was nicely arranged, though, and the beds were comfortable. It was useful to have various pieces of baby equipment in situ. Overall it felt like a family's holiday house which we had borrowed, rather than a commercial holiday let, which the website and the price had led us to expect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahM992...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in fab location”
Reviewed 18 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed for 9 nights in sea lavendar, was a lovely cosy cottage with wood burning stove, had all the amenities we needed, and more! Owners very helpful, area lovely with some gorgeous villages and pubs around. Would recommend the duck inn at stanhoe, and jolly sailors for good pub food and not overly priced, visited brancaster beach 2 times, fab dunes, and huge beach, also went to hunstanton to fair ground which my boys loved. Had great weather for April! Lots of lovely delis around including one in village and burnham deepdale.... Great fresh fish at gurneys in village... Kids loved the park 2 mins walk down the road from cottage, also great park at holkham hall, park for free and walk 1/2 mile
or pay 2.50 to park all day, can wander round grounds and do nature trail, boating lake, cycling etc.... Went to cromer and shearingham for Afew hours, real seaside towns with promenade/pier..... Blakeney and holt worth a visit, nice shops.... All In all a lovely place to stay, very central cottage and quiet.... Would recommend to anyone thanks

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lec12
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everything you could want for an out of season break”
Reviewed 4 February 2013 for a stay in October 2012
2
people found this review helpful

I went with friends for a long weekend in October, and talking with them last night about booking another break we realised just how much Sea Lavender had offered us. Everything we needed was there, a well equipped kitchen, comfy beds with really fresh linen and TV. wifi etc to make us feel at home. The town is delightful, no chain stores just independant retailers geared to ensuring that you have everything you need, - fresh bread, well chosen wine, organic meat; as well as things that you want! (I was tempted into a lovely dress which saw me through the Christmas season with flying colours).

We really appreciated all the information which the Moss family had prepared for us about the area and were able to find our way to some delightful resturants and pubs as well as making the most of the Norfolk coast line.

In fact after the discussion I had with friends last night I am also going to try and book again as I don't think we can find anywhere better!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Its location, off the main street but close to everything
Liked least: There was very little to dislike, perhaps the downstairs toilet was the only drawback.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Libby H
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“beautiful, comfortable, fabulously located - perfect!”
Reviewed 13 January 2013 for a stay in August 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We had never been to Norfolk before and travelled with no expectations. The cottage is absolutely beautiful - the end of a gorgeous norfolk stone terrace, very tastefully decorated throughout and brilliantly well kitted out, especially for us travelling with young children. Small, but cleverly laid out and had all the space we needed. It is around 30 seconds walk (even at toddler pace) from the centre of the picturesque Burnham Market and we loved being able to wander in for a browse around the shops, a meal at one of the lovely cafes/pubs or an ice cream at the delicious Granny Annie's.

We were lucky enough to have beautiful weather for most of the week, so spent it primarily on the beach. We found Brancaster breathtakingly beautiful so spent most days there. We'll have to go back at a less sunny time to explore all of the other local attractions.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: beautiful - inside and out
Liked least: some of the doorframes were a little hazardous for my 6'5
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing