We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We're going back again!”
other travellers have booked this property
Sea Lavender frontage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sea Lavender frontage
Garden with table and chairs Ground floor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Sea Lavender frontage
Garden with table and chairs
Ground floor
Main bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Lounge
Kitchen
Wood burning stove
Swings and slide for under 6's
Terrace with Sea Lavender
Beach at Brancaster
Beach huts at Wells
Punch and Judy show on the green
Boats in wells harbour
Wells beach train
The family in the surf
Seal at Blakeney
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Burnham Market, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We're going back again!”
Reviewed 27 March 2018 for a stay in September 2017

Just booked up for another long weekend stay in this lovely cottage. We have been going since our youngest was born and now she's 8 ! It is central for all our excursions, beaches not too far, great little village to wander around and go to the playground. Always look forward to our welcome present - usually crisps and wine - which doesn't last long on the first night!!! Comfy sofas and beds. Just wish the light fitting in the living room wasn't low enough for hubby to bang his head!! We always have a brilliant stay, and hope to alot more in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elsiedega...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Very disappointing ”
Reviewed 27 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We booked a week at Sea Lavender Cottage for our annual holiday, with my 8 month old baby and our 87 year old grandmother.

We arrived to a terrible smell filling the cottage. The kitchen/living area/bathroom were utterly filthy. The toilet had (rather disgustingly) not even been flushed. There were no clean towels; they had obviously been washed but had old stains on them. We spent the first two hours scrubbing the bathroom and living/dining area, and buying our own towels in the town. The photos of the downstairs area are rather deceiving; there's hardly any room to move at all, let alone cook/make drinks. The two bedrooms were however, relatively clean and beds comfortable.

My grandmother suffered terribly with the stairs and I would not recommend anyone with knee trouble managing them; the stairs are very uneven and steep, and the carpet very slippery; I slipped whilst taking the baby to bed.

The location is however ideal with only a couple of minutes walk to the main village.

The owner was compliant with our complaint and responded immediately when we messaged her. She sent a (rather surly) cleaner in who did nothing except for leave us a hoover (the one at the cottage didn't work) and a couple of clean bath mats, the others being filthy.

All in all it was a pretty horrendous stay. We tried to stay out most of the day as the smell in the cottage was so unbearable that no amount of air freshener could cover; nor did we feel comfortable using the bathroom as it was in such a bad state.

Would recommend only as a last resort.



Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2017
We are very sad to see this review. We have not had any issues or complaints about the housekeeping all season and don't believe this is a true reflection of the cottage. We did try to rectify the issues as soon as they were brought to our attention, however due to the guests possessions there was limited access to be able to clean it further. The second toilet hadn't been cleaned which was an oversight by the cleaner (company) and we were very apologetic that this happened. The bath and all taps are less than two years old and the floor new last year, and we have not had any previous comments about this - there are tiles all around lower level which allows for it to be cleaned properly.

The cleaning company pride themselves on their high standards and work for one of the best agencies in the village and they have no complaints either. We also offered the guests additional towels to replace the ones they were not happy with, which they declined. Due to these comments we are replacing them all this week. The hoover is also fixed.

We are also confused by the smell. We have a perfume diffuser to keep the smell pleasant in the cottage. We have followed the guests in to the cottage for our own holiday and can find no trace of the smell.

There is little we can do about the space in the cottage - we happily holiday here with our family of four - it is a two up two down and we normally recommend no more than 3 adults due to the space. We also provided a video of similar stairs so the guests were aware prior to booking. I will add further details to our booking information that they are not suitable for the elderly / infirm as we already do with our other cottage which has steeper stairs.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin c
1 review
“Chandler”
Reviewed 17 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Lovely cottage,very compact with all utility and bits and pieces with cottage ,lovey welcome package wine biscuits ,did notice floors and kitchen. Work space could have been cleaned that much better and garden table was nice shame the chairs weren't there to go with table as would have loved to sit outside,bath room landing door did bang my head on frame but that's just me being tall and stupid lol ,in all lovely cottage lovely location and very peacefull ,shops over priced in village but who cars 4 stars for this little beauty well done to owners me husband 5 star rating,wife 4 stars ,highy recommend cottage ,only if you are under 6,4 foot thankyou owners

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2016
Thanks for the review Kevin. The chairs are in the shed keeping them clean, key attached to the back door key. I will mention the surfaces to the cleaner and ask her to improve. Unfortunately being two hundred years old there are a couple of low door ways. Everything else including the king size bed fits tall people. ;-) safe journey home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris S
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy cottage, perfect for families”
Reviewed 28 January 2016 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great trip to this cottage in the middle of Burnham Market. It had everything we needed and more. It was well furnished with comfy beds and the kitchen was well equipped and it had a range of items to make our stay with children easy. It was clean and warm.
We didnt use the garden as it was winter but it had an enclosed area with a swing and slide for the kids.
The location was fabulous, straight access to the village and all it has to offer in a few minutes walk.
The area was stunning with good places to go bird watching, access to fabulous beaches and great fish and chips.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfy beds
Liked least: The low door ways
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stellajam...
Kent
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely location. Tiny grubby cottage”
Reviewed 24 January 2016 for a stay in October 2015

The cottage was set directly onto the road in a good location near the centre of Burnham. Market. It was furnished to a high standard with good quality appliances and jam packed with everything you would need for your stay.

Unfortunately, it had been sadly neglected by the owners and only given a quick clean in between guests, resulting in a build up of dirt and grime. There was still food in the freezer, including raw chicken and the fridge smelled unpleasant. Cobwebs and dirt build up in the corners and food splashes on the walls. We spent about 15 mins. Cleaning the surfaces that we would come into contact with. I phoned the owner to tell her about a broken music centre that we noticed on arrival to make her aware, I did mention the dirt but said that we would be ok now that I had cleaned it. We were determined not to let this spoil our holiday.
There is an outside toilet advertised as 'handy' . This is unusable due to the fact that it is crammed from floor to ceiling with baby equipment including high chair changing mat, toys etc.. The upstairs is much less cramped with nice beds and quality bedding. On leaving, we stripped the bedding to discover dirty stained mattress cover. I would not have been happy to have bought children to this property, but we still enjoyed our time at this lovely part of the country. Lots of good places to visit and to eat. Good information given at the cottage.
We waited over a month for our deposit to be returned, despite emails and phone messages left by us. It is a shame that this place is not as advertised and we hope that the owners give it the T L C it deserves.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Dirty place, very small
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jan 2016
I am disappointed to see this review as we tried to deal with the issues at the time including offering the cleaners to go back in. The cottage has been fully cleaned and refreshed as it should be at the end of the season and new bedding purchased including mattress protectors for 2016 (as we have done in previous years). We apologised at the time and have since changed cleaners to make sure that this does not happen again. The toilet has also been tidied and will be regulary going forward. The deposit was not cash, which is always returned promptly, but a cheque which was not cashed and we do not give guidelines on when this will be returned if requested, due to our holidays it was later than expected. The cottage has regained it's 4 stars with the English Tourist Board and we believe the standard of the cottage reflects this.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie130...
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage and location”
Reviewed 3 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here for the new year for 4 nights. Cottage spotlessly clean and equipped with everything you need. Very comfortable beds and the cottage was always nice and warm, hardly needed to use the log burner. The location was fantastic , a stones throw from all the shops and 2 pubs. I can highly recommend the following places to eat in villages a few miles away...The orange Tree in Thornham, The White horse in Brancaster Staithe and The duck inn in Stanhoe. Had a lot of fun drinking in the nelson which was used more by locals , they made you very welcome. Had a fantastic time all in all and the weather was perfect for days out too.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah1239...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely village but disappointing cottage”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We spent 2 weeks here as a family (2 adults, a 2 year old and a baby). The location is lovely - a very short walk to the village green with a few shops and cafes, and it was very peaceful. In terms of the cottage itself, it was smaller than we'd expected, and we found it a difficult space for a small family. Not a lot of room for the children to do anything, though we appreciated the toys. The outside space wasn't as described - it isn't private, but is shared with the other cottages. It also opens straight onto the road via a small gate which didn't close properly - ie. not a safe space for children to play without constant supervision. There was a nice spot to sit and eat outside which we enjoyed. We also were disappointed on arrival that a lot of the crockery in the cupboards was dirty, and there weren't any basic supplies of eg. toilet paper or dishwasher tablets. The DVD player was broken (this was resolved reasonably quickly with a new one arriving half way through the fortnight). The bathroom (downstairs) is small and rather awkward with several internal doors and low beams - not easy to negotiate at children's bathtime! The upstairs was nicely arranged, though, and the beds were comfortable. It was useful to have various pieces of baby equipment in situ. Overall it felt like a family's holiday house which we had borrowed, rather than a commercial holiday let, which the website and the price had led us to expect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing