We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Becareful check your bill!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Nelson

The Nelson
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Becareful check your bill!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

This was my first visit to this establishment. I was there with my two friends our food arrived and theirs was Ok, I choose lasagne and one end was inedible. The waitress asked if everything was OK and I pointed this out to her and she said she would see to it, nothing!!! On getting our bill the I almost choked on the cost over £92 for three. On checking it I could see two extra main meals and extra drinks. When I pointed it out the waitress stated that she would have noticed it after we had left!!!!! How would that have helped I ask myself!!!!! They called the Manageress and she said whilst they admitted the mistake there was no recompense she could do.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Balletmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    60
    46
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

nothing special .. overpriced food and drink for a run of the mill bar ... had lunch on day this week and was not very impressed ... almost the same prices as The Hoste so would rather eat there instead.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sapota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NOTTINGHAM
Level Contributor
51 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“PENSIONERS DELIGHT( pensioners special £8.50 June 2014 )”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Whilst we were cycling in Burnham Market in June ( 2014 ) We found the Nelson pub. What a find in Burnham Market Norfolk. Just a stones throw from the main street, walk down Front street to Creake Road ( no more than 200 yards from the Hoste Arms ) you will find the Nelson opposite the church where Nelson's father was a preacher. You can sit in the very nice garden with nice seats and tables plus lovely plants and very tidy , if you are travelling by car a large car park is available. Large specials board inside the bar but we opted for the pensioners special ( £8.50 two courses ) . Either starter plus main or main plus desert. I had starter garlic mushrooms on toast then scampi chips and peas and salad, all very hot and nicely presented. My wife had prawn dips with salad starter and then beautiful ham egg and chips very good portions for the price. The desert selection was also good. Next time I go I will have the beef stir fry which I saw another customer with and he said it was delicious ( main menu ) This review is based on the basis of the pensioners special but I am sure the whole menu would be exciting to try. very good value for what we had plus excellent service . Thanks to the two ladies in the bar who I told I would mention them on Trip Advisor.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EREWASHBOWLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Does what it says on the Label”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Good food and friendly Staff. Good specials board, but limited menu . However well priced and well presented food

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrCool1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice casual pub with good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Had two evening meals here and a few drinks both nights, staying in village. Very welcoming and the food was very nice. Well presented and not too much. Friendly atmosphere and restaurant was pleasant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NJC30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Nelson also viewed

Burnham Market, Norfolk
Docking, Burnham Market
 
Burnham Market, Norfolk
Burnham Market, Norfolk
 
Brancaster Staithe, Norfolk
 

Been to The Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing