We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Weekend”
Review of The Hoste

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hoste
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Burnham Market
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We had the absolute pleasure in discovering The Hoste for a weekend break, we stayed in the delux Vine house opposite the main hotel.
We first arrived at the reception desk to b greeted by welcoming staff and shown over to the house, unfortunately we were not made aware of spa facilities otherwise would have treated ourselves however we made ourselves comfortable and then headed over to the pub part of the hotel, we had a little wait for drinks but service was impeccable and surroundings beautiful.
the décor of the whole hotel is stunning and oozes class and serenity.
after a few local Ales we decided to freshen up so back to the vine house we went, the house itself was immaculate the room we had was stunning with beautiful décor.
After changing into evening attire we went to the restaurant for a meal.
The food was superb, service first class, my only gripe was it took a while for us to be served however this was noted by our waiter who apologised.
After the meal which was absolutely divine, we had a few cocktails and champagne.
overall a real treat for us to enjoy such an experience.
Well done The Hoste, we are already planning on making our visit a yearly one.
I would have liked to have met the owners personally to thank them for their hospitality.
I am very much looking forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: If you are looking for Luxury The Vine House rooms are exquisite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,072 - 1,078 of 1,416 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

Stayed here - some time ago - with the previous (South African) owners who had established the Hoste as a legendary destination - blending English tradition with ultra-modern style and comfort. Now, I've returned after five years or so - and - what a contrast ! What was previously excellent now surpasses the best - this is a jewel in the crown of English hospitality. Especially noteworthy are: a superb reception area with friendly and informative staff, fabulously comfortable rooms with proper big beds and crisp linen, unobtrusive and attentive service throughout, astonishing cuisine in the relaxed and attractive dining room, a great conservatory area with huge leather chairs and most daily newspapers - and, above all, a young professional team of cleaners and waiters - from Eastern Europe, South Africa, Norfolk - and further afield ! - who set benchmark standards in relaxed, courteous and convivial hospitality. To have assembled such a happy, well balanced and outstanding staff speaks volumes for the skills of the senior management of this quite exceptional Norfolk establishment.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

our first visit to the Hoste in Burnham Market, but hopefully not the last. Very friendly staff whose smiles and helpful manner never slipped throughout our stay. Room really great - high quality furnishings, unusual animal/safari décor, very comfortable bed and chairs, and huge bathroom. Nice touch to have fresh coffee and milk and cafetiere, rather than the cheaper instant coffee.

Bars and dining rooms were comfortable and the food ranged from really good to outstanding. Everything arrived piping hot and the fresh fish was really as you would expect it to be so close to the North Norfolk coast. The chef was particularly helpful with special diets. Dinner was leisurely and we didn't feel rushed, and breakfast food came promptly. Nice selection of wines so made for a relaxed atmosphere.

Gardens were pretty and the fabulous weather helped to make everything look good. The spa garden was particularly nice - little haven of quiet and the hot tub eased away the aches and pains. If you enjoy spa treatments the spa seems quite new and very clean and relaxing.

As we are from a big city the prices seemed very fair to us for such high quality food, service and furnishings - but we did notice the expensive East Anglian petrol as we explored the countryside. Altogether a lovely stay in an interesting part of the country with plenty to see and do.

Room Tip: The town is pretty but the hotel is centrally situated, so many rooms will look on to car parks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lms1245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Not sure what all the fuss is about the Hoste Arms. We went there for lunch, and I was distinctly underwhelmed by the experience. The decor is really weird and out of keeping for a north Norfolk setting, but maybe that was just me. The lunch was fine - in parts - my smoked haddock and poached egg was actually quite nice, but my friends burger was overcooked and tasteless. We mentioned this to the waiter, ( who delivered our food in an apron that was very less than clean) and whilst he said he would mention it to the chef that was that. At nearly £100 for three with no alcohol it was expensive. Will not be returning.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
6  Thank Moomin528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My wife and I dropped in for lunch while visiting the area. Everything was as it should be. The staff were friendly and efficient, the surroundings lovely. Just one complaint. I ordered a Crab sandwich, price £9. I have always believed you get what you pay for in that if you pay £1.99 for a sandwich, you'll get a £1.99 sandwich. I was therefore looking forward to my £9 crab buttie!!! What arrived though was two slices of white bread with a crab filling, some lettuce leaves and a small pot of vegetable crisps. My wife asked for half a lager and lime. When the bill arrived a dash of lime cordial was listed at £1. I know times are hard but really..! Two sandwiches, two drinks and a small bowl of frozen french fries - £27 Just to re-iterate no complaints about the quality. Would have loved a steak sandwich but that was about £12 I think

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank P8218834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Such a relax atmosphere amongst the riches from London and Essex.lovely place for food .and drink and relax .dog welcome .love to go again .Nice walks for a dog.few shops but atmosphere amazing.if you from Norwich .and not rich.loved it .felt like lady off the manor

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Maureen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We have just returned from a fantastic weekend trip to The Hoste in Burnham Market. The food was excellent and we can't speak highly enough of the staff. Everyone from the reception to the spa were professional, warm and friendly, particularly the the staff at the restaurant. Would advise booking spa treatments in advance as they were quite busy the weekend we were there. The nearby Holkham beach is a beautiful spot for a long walk.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank niduffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnham Market
4.5 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
920 reviews
16.5 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
699 reviews
9.7 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
892 reviews
9.3 mi away
Le Strange Arms Hotel
Le Strange Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hunstanton
881 reviews
4.7 mi away
Briarfields Hotel
Briarfields Hotel
#2 of 2 in Titchwell
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoste

Address: 14 Market Place | The Green, Burnham Market PE31 8HD, England (Formerly Hoste Arms)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Burnham Market
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Burnham Market
Price Range: £143 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hoste 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hoste Luxury Boutique Hotels and Spa are a collection of privately owned hotels located in Burnham Market at the heart of the North Norfolk coast. Guests can choose to stay in one of six diverse properties all located in the picturesque village of Burnham Market including; Vine House boutique hotel, Railway House hotel and The Hoste Luxury Holiday Cottages. In addition to 62 bedrooms, all uniquely styled, The Hoste's historic bar, The Hoste Arms, dates back 400 years. There are also restaurants, a sheltered walled garden, fitness centre, and beauty spa and luxury 20-seat cinema. The Hoste was recognised as one of the leading ‘cool hotels’ by The Times in 2017 as well as one of the top 25 best food destinations in the UK. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Hoste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoste Arms Hotel Burnham Market
The Hoste Burnham Market, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing