We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss!”
Review of The Hoste

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hoste
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Burnham Market
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bliss!”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

A perfect retreat. Just what we needed. The Vine gave us peace and quiet in outstanding accommodation across the pretty green from The Hoste, where we enjoyed superb food and exemplary service from delightful staff. A return visit is a must!

Room Tip: Room 57 in The Vine is wonderful but so are all the others!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 930Lexy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    578
    336
    194
    97
    56
See reviews for
201
768
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is the best in Norfolk. and the staff are fantastic especially Ellie on the bar and Polly they were superb . The surroundings are beautiful and I love the coffee its so worth the money. The rooms and loos are lovely but we need the Elvis music back

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank nhr27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My partner and I have greatly enjoyed staying at The Hoste on a number of occasions. However, sadly our love affair with this hotel has come to an end after our recent stay. The food was absolutely diabolical and the service was haphazard. The whole operation smells of commercial greed rather than a very intimate 4 star experience which we had previously enjoyed. Beware of Room 52 in the Vine house. It reeks of moth balls, there are stains all over the cushions and the carpet and if you're after relaxation forget it! the acoustics are atrocious, bathroom taps in the room upstairs made a racket. Interestingly, I emailed the Hoste to express my disappointment but they failed to email back. This place is a shocker and a total rip off. How sad to see such a great place go down the pan.

Room Tip: avoid room 52. Very noisy from upstairs bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Caramanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ainsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We spent 2 nights at Vine House, a birthday present from my husband's family who also looked after the kids for us! We were booked into room 58 which whilst small was beautifully presented and oozed quality. Little extras like fresh milk in the fridge and complementary bottles of mineral water all added to the feel of being well looked after. We dined in the restaurant at The Hoste which is just a short stroll over the village Green on both evenings and thoroughly enjoyed the meals, likewise the breakfasts.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We have visited the Hoste for many years and yet again had a wonderful time there, the staff were friendly and good not do enough for us even though they were extremely busy. I have read some of the reviews regarding the staff about not being good, this is not the case whatsoever. Well done to the staff for making it a great weekend!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 9155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I took my partner here for 4 nights over Easter weekend for a celebration. We were allocated room 35 in the Spa building. The room was barely deserving of 3 stars. Tasteless sarafi themed decor, stratches all over the leather upholsered bed, stains on the soft furnishings, plastic blind in the bedroom, mould on the ceiling above the shower, bath in need of replacing, telephone didn't work and the room was next to some metal stairs which made noise everytime people passed by.

I was really disappointed so we asked if there were any other rooms or upgrades available. We were moved to room 2 in the main building above the pub. It couldn't have been more different. Beautiful decor, clean and pretty bathroom and you couldn't hear any noise from the pub below. I was shocked to see that this was the same price as the room we had been put in before. It gave us a completely different experience.

Food wise - all the waiters were very friendly and polite. The biggest issue is that there is no consistency of service- you would be directed to a table by one waiter, then you would have to ask another 10 minutes later if you could have the menu, then another different waiter would serve you. It all seemed so unorganised. The food was very average.

One thing that I found particularly disppointing is that we were told that the dining room was full on Sunday evening so we couldn't push back our 6pm reservation. We rushed back from our day out to make it back by 6, then it turned out the dining room was only half full the entire evening. Make sure if you do book for dinner, ask to be seated in the front rooms, the back breakfast room does not have the same atmosphere.

Room Tip: Pick a room in the main building - avoid the rooms in the spa building!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level Contributor
193 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Met friends at The Hoste for a couple of drinks on Easter Sunday- fantastic weather meant a fantastic atmosphere.
Really enjoyed sitting outside. The pub is fantastic, finished to a high standard. Walking through the restaurant to find the toilet made me regret not making plans to eat there! I will be back.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ukfowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnham Market
4.5 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
9.7 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
14.1 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wells-next-the-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
16.5 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
24.7 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoste

Property: The Hoste
Address: 14 Market Place | The Green, Burnham Market PE31 8HD, England (Formerly Hoste Arms)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Burnham Market
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Burnham Market
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Burnham Market, The Hoste Luxury Boutique Hotel boasts a private 20-seat cinema room, a gym, a beauty spa, an award-winning restaurant, luxury bedrooms, and self-catering cottages over various locations within the historic village. Featuring free Wi-Fi and free private parking, this boutique resort is just 2 miles from Norfolk's sandy beaches. Offering a flat-screen TV with Sky channels and tea and coffee making facilities, the uniquely designed accommodation lies across 6 individual properties. The bathrooms feature luxurious toiletries. Many boast a free-standing bath, pretty terrace, or views over the village green. The Hoste's sophisticated restaurant serves a modern British menu. For a more informal dining experience, guests can eat in the conservatory, lounge, garden, or bar. Dishes are prepared using locally sourced, seasonal produce. Meals can be complemented with a drink from the extensive wine cellar. Located in the courtyard wing of the 17th century property, The Hoste Beauty Spa offers a range of specialist treatments and a hot tub. Burnham Market is surrounded by acclaimed nature reserves, picturesque villages, and historic market towns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Hoste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoste Arms Hotel Burnham Market
The Hoste Burnham Market, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing