We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room was luxury but not 10/10”
Review of The Hoste

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hoste
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Burnham Market
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed here because a family member had their wedding reception here. The reception was fantastic, the food was great the staff very friendly & attentive. Our room was also tip top. I wanted to give the score as 10/10 but am unable to due to a few mishaps . My sons bed wasn't made up on arrival but they did rectify straight away. There were hairs in the bath which is a definitely a no no. The coffee was miles to strong.
The breakfast was a disappointment the toast was stone cold & rubbery when it arrived, we had to ask several times for drinks.
We did have a great time & these few things didn't spoil our weekend.
Thanks

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paulaconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,340)
There are newer reviews for The Hoste
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

961 - 967 of 1,340 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

My Wife and I and 2 other family members are currently staying at 1 of the well appointed holiday cottages at the Hoste, as always the accommodation is excellent. All of the staff are very attentive. A phone call is always made to our home before arrival to ensure our booking is ok.We had an evening meal in the Hoste last night which was faultless with a good choice of menu. We shall certainly be returning again in the future.

Room Tip: All the accommodation is good.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnson71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Six members of our family stayed in the wonderful Hoste a couple of weeks ago. The rooms are delightful, so full of character and very comfortable. The dining experience is wonderful. I can really recommend the Cromer crab. Also the taster menu, I shared it with my brother in law, it was my first taste of oysters terrific. The staff are friendly and helpful, all in all a great weekend.

Room Tip: Get one of the superior rooms
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eva O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My husband and I stopped in the Vine last Saturday evening, the room was beautiful, the bathroom was sumptious and we were thrilled, Great atmosphere in the bar but... the bar staff need some training when it comes to mixing cocktails. They had no idea what a Harvey Wallbanger wasand my Mojito was awful.
Evening meal and service was very good but what a shame about breakfast. Fruit juices ran out and were not replinished, the buffet breakfast was cold and had to be sent back, unfortunately my second breakfast was also cold and the buffet trays seemed to be constantly empty.
It is a shame that such a lovely place was let down by the breakfast service which seemed very shambolic. To the hotel's credit we did get a refund for our breakfast. We would definitely go back, but will opt for continental breakfast in our room next time.

Room Tip: Lovely room and bathroom Room 57 Vine House
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JuliaNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

A perfect retreat. Just what we needed. The Vine gave us peace and quiet in outstanding accommodation across the pretty green from The Hoste, where we enjoyed superb food and exemplary service from delightful staff. A return visit is a must!

Room Tip: Room 57 in The Vine is wonderful but so are all the others!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 930Lexy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is the best in Norfolk. and the staff are fantastic especially Ellie on the bar and Polly they were superb . The surroundings are beautiful and I love the coffee its so worth the money. The rooms and loos are lovely but we need the Elvis music back

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank nhr27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My partner and I have greatly enjoyed staying at The Hoste on a number of occasions. However, sadly our love affair with this hotel has come to an end after our recent stay. The food was absolutely diabolical and the service was haphazard. The whole operation smells of commercial greed rather than a very intimate 4 star experience which we had previously enjoyed. Beware of Room 52 in the Vine house. It reeks of moth balls, there are stains all over the cushions and the carpet and if you're after relaxation forget it! the acoustics are atrocious, bathroom taps in the room upstairs made a racket. Interestingly, I emailed the Hoste to express my disappointment but they failed to email back. This place is a shocker and a total rip off. How sad to see such a great place go down the pan.

Room Tip: avoid room 52. Very noisy from upstairs bathroom.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Caramanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnham Market
4.5 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
835 reviews
9.7 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
887 reviews
16.5 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
834 reviews
4.7 mi away
Briarfields Hotel
Briarfields Hotel
#2 of 2 in Titchwell
402 reviews
9.0 mi away
Caley Hall Hotel
Caley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hunstanton
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoste

Address: 14 Market Place | The Green, Burnham Market PE31 8HD, England (Formerly Hoste Arms)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Burnham Market
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Burnham Market
Price Range: £138 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hoste is a luxury boutique hotel located in Burnham Market, North Norfolk. It offers guests sixty two bedrooms, two acclaimed restaurants and Beauty Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Hoste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoste Arms Hotel Burnham Market
The Hoste Burnham Market, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing