We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"One night stand"”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hoste

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hoste
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Burnham Market
Amersham
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“"One night stand"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed here for one night last Sunday,27th April.
I understand some chap called Parker Bowles, (who is unknown to me but then I don't move in double barrelled name circles) gave the place a roasting in one of the Sunday papers but I am at a loss to understand the stream of vitriol which emanated from his pen, sorry, keyboard.

Firstly our room was superb, with its own tiny sun drenched courtyard type patio: the new extension and walled garden area seem eminently suited to their purpose, although I suppose the aesthetics of the design are open to personal preference, and the new reception area is a distinct improvement on the previous cubby hole which was not really fit for purpose.

Turning to drink and food here I must voice an element of discontent.
Firstly I take great exception to being kept waiting when trying to order a bottle of wine whilst the bar person shows her iphone photos to her little chum on the other side of the bar. The wait was brief I'll grant you but the reason for it was totally unacceptable.

In general the food (what there was of it) was well cooked and delicious but my Wife's salad starter was an insult.It consisted of a few leaves of rocket, a few slivers of cheese ( should have been mozzarella but they had run out of same) and avocado with a smear of dressing. Our 6 year old Granddaughter could have knocked it out in about 5 minutes, and for this few mouthfuls the Hoste charged £9.00!!!
Similarly her main course,lamb, was delicious, but at £19.00, for the size of the portion (together with one shrivelled up aubergine) was not far short of someone "having a laugh" I believe is the catchphrase.

All in all the Hoste has tied up a few loose ends which needed attention, the staff (with the one exception) are very attentive without being obtrusive,if of the same standard as the room we occupied,then the rooms are fine but in terms of value for money then the food has to be considered as borderline. However this is just my opinion and as the Hoste definitely caters for those with fairly deep pockets there will probably be many who would disagree with me on the latter point.

All in all a pleasant enough short stay.

Room Tip: Try to avoid number 18-the boards in the room above creak intensely and leave one wondering what on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emmaamersham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    332
    193
    97
    56
See reviews for
200
757
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisbech
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed here because a family member had their wedding reception here. The reception was fantastic, the food was great the staff very friendly & attentive. Our room was also tip top. I wanted to give the score as 10/10 but am unable to due to a few mishaps . My sons bed wasn't made up on arrival but they did rectify straight away. There were hairs in the bath which is a definitely a no no. The coffee was miles to strong.
The breakfast was a disappointment the toast was stone cold & rubbery when it arrived, we had to ask several times for drinks.
We did have a great time & these few things didn't spoil our weekend.
Thanks

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paulaconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

My Wife and I and 2 other family members are currently staying at 1 of the well appointed holiday cottages at the Hoste, as always the accommodation is excellent. All of the staff are very attentive. A phone call is always made to our home before arrival to ensure our booking is ok.We had an evening meal in the Hoste last night which was faultless with a good choice of menu. We shall certainly be returning again in the future.

Room Tip: All the accommodation is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnson71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Six members of our family stayed in the wonderful Hoste a couple of weeks ago. The rooms are delightful, so full of character and very comfortable. The dining experience is wonderful. I can really recommend the Cromer crab. Also the taster menu, I shared it with my brother in law, it was my first taste of oysters terrific. The staff are friendly and helpful, all in all a great weekend.

Room Tip: Get one of the superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

My husband and I stopped in the Vine last Saturday evening, the room was beautiful, the bathroom was sumptious and we were thrilled, Great atmosphere in the bar but... the bar staff need some training when it comes to mixing cocktails. They had no idea what a Harvey Wallbanger wasand my Mojito was awful.
Evening meal and service was very good but what a shame about breakfast. Fruit juices ran out and were not replinished, the buffet breakfast was cold and had to be sent back, unfortunately my second breakfast was also cold and the buffet trays seemed to be constantly empty.
It is a shame that such a lovely place was let down by the breakfast service which seemed very shambolic. To the hotel's credit we did get a refund for our breakfast. We would definitely go back, but will opt for continental breakfast in our room next time.

Room Tip: Lovely room and bathroom Room 57 Vine House
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JuliaNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

A perfect retreat. Just what we needed. The Vine gave us peace and quiet in outstanding accommodation across the pretty green from The Hoste, where we enjoyed superb food and exemplary service from delightful staff. A return visit is a must!

Room Tip: Room 57 in The Vine is wonderful but so are all the others!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 930Lexy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is the best in Norfolk. and the staff are fantastic especially Ellie on the bar and Polly they were superb . The surroundings are beautiful and I love the coffee its so worth the money. The rooms and loos are lovely but we need the Elvis music back

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank nhr27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnham Market
4.5 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
9.7 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
14.1 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wells-next-the-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
16.5 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
24.7 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoste

Property: The Hoste
Address: 14 Market Place | The Green, Burnham Market PE31 8HD, England (Formerly Hoste Arms)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Burnham Market
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Burnham Market
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Burnham Market, The Hoste Luxury Boutique Hotel boasts a private 20-seat cinema room, a gym, a beauty spa, an award-winning restaurant, luxury bedrooms, and self-catering cottages over various locations within the historic village. Featuring free Wi-Fi and free private parking, this boutique resort is just 2 miles from Norfolk's sandy beaches. Offering a flat-screen TV with Sky channels and tea and coffee making facilities, the uniquely designed accommodation lies across 6 individual properties. The bathrooms feature luxurious toiletries. Many boast a free-standing bath, pretty terrace, or views over the village green. The Hoste's sophisticated restaurant serves a modern British menu. For a more informal dining experience, guests can eat in the conservatory, lounge, garden, or bar. Dishes are prepared using locally sourced, seasonal produce. Meals can be complemented with a drink from the extensive wine cellar. Located in the courtyard wing of the 17th century property, The Hoste Beauty Spa offers a range of specialist treatments and a hot tub. Burnham Market is surrounded by acclaimed nature reserves, picturesque villages, and historic market towns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Hoste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoste Arms Hotel Burnham Market
The Hoste Burnham Market, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing