We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well organised event”
Review of The Hoste

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hoste
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Burnham Market
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Thank you to all involved, we had a very successful evening with really delicious canapés and wine, served efficiently by friendly staff in a very nice setting. We were very pleased with all aspects of the evening.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cvh119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline W, Manager at The Hoste, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent event with us. It was our pleasure to host your canapés and drinks evening. We do hope to welcome yourselves and guests back to The Hoste again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

985 - 991 of 1,370 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

Spend the bank holiday weekend in Burnham Market, firstly the small market town is really very pretty, lovely little boutique shops, tranquil green, and amazing countryside.

The Vine is run by and part of the Hoste pub/restaurant/hotel/spa, and they are opposite sides of the green to each other. On checking in (at the Hoste) it had a very nice feel/vibe about it, and the reception staff were very attentive and nothing seemed too much trouble for them. A short stroll over the road and you're in the Vine, a really nicely decorated place, the room, whilst small had everything you could wish for, real milk, proper coffee, amazing bathroom, and the staff at the vine were again top notch.

Had a meal in the Hoste, and thought it was really very good, great service, and the food was great.

I would certainly visit again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tezza80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed in the Railway House for 3 nights over the May Bank Holiday . The room was somewhat small but the ante room and bathroom more than compensated for size . The decor was modern and appealing . The house keeping was excellent . The Railway House has the advantage of a reasonably sized garden and a half mile walk to the Hoste Arms for meals which is good for stimulating the appetite and allowing food to go down depending on the direction of the journey .
The Hoste Arms was very busy ( crowded ) . We had booked 3 evening meals and had breakfast each morning. The menu was somewhat limited . The food overall was OK to good . The service however was poor largely because the dining rooms were overly busy ( 3 dining areas ) and waiting times were somewhat prolonged . We had no criticism of the young staff serving who were excellent but felt some direction from their line manager would have helped matters. Our overall experience was good but the tariff certainly reflected this.

Room Tip: Consider Railway House or Carriage for quiet location .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Having eaten at the Hoste many times in the past, my wife and I decided to stay for three nights over the May Bank holiday. This was prompted in part by Mr Tom Parker-Bowles recent poor review in the Mail. As the hotel has been taken over since our last visit we went with an open mind as we looked at this as a place to stay while we enjoyed the fantastic countryside around.
As the title says, we could not fault any aspect of our stay, the food was excellent and more than we could manage to eat. They have a great choice of wines which are reasonably priced and the service was first class at all times and in all areas. The room we stayed in, 33, was very spacious and well appointed, the only criticism would be the lack of drawer space. We enjoyed our time here 100% and would not hesitate to stay at the Hoste again.

Room Tip: You can see all the rooms at the Hoste website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dutchclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Had a meal last night and I have to say it was one of the best meals I have had for a long time, was greeted by Rob one of the Managers, the whole service was 1st class. Recommend the lamb and the wine selection is fantastic. A big thanks to Rob and his team

Room Tip: Well worth a visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed here for one night last Sunday,27th April.
I understand some chap called Parker Bowles, (who is unknown to me but then I don't move in double barrelled name circles) gave the place a roasting in one of the Sunday papers but I am at a loss to understand the stream of vitriol which emanated from his pen, sorry, keyboard.

Firstly our room was superb, with its own tiny sun drenched courtyard type patio: the new extension and walled garden area seem eminently suited to their purpose, although I suppose the aesthetics of the design are open to personal preference, and the new reception area is a distinct improvement on the previous cubby hole which was not really fit for purpose.

Turning to drink and food here I must voice an element of discontent.
Firstly I take great exception to being kept waiting when trying to order a bottle of wine whilst the bar person shows her iphone photos to her little chum on the other side of the bar. The wait was brief I'll grant you but the reason for it was totally unacceptable.

In general the food (what there was of it) was well cooked and delicious but my Wife's salad starter was an insult.It consisted of a few leaves of rocket, a few slivers of cheese ( should have been mozzarella but they had run out of same) and avocado with a smear of dressing. Our 6 year old Granddaughter could have knocked it out in about 5 minutes, and for this few mouthfuls the Hoste charged £9.00!!!
Similarly her main course,lamb, was delicious, but at £19.00, for the size of the portion (together with one shrivelled up aubergine) was not far short of someone "having a laugh" I believe is the catchphrase.

All in all the Hoste has tied up a few loose ends which needed attention, the staff (with the one exception) are very attentive without being obtrusive,if of the same standard as the room we occupied,then the rooms are fine but in terms of value for money then the food has to be considered as borderline. However this is just my opinion and as the Hoste definitely caters for those with fairly deep pockets there will probably be many who would disagree with me on the latter point.

All in all a pleasant enough short stay.

Room Tip: Try to avoid number 18-the boards in the room above creak intensely and leave one wondering what on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank emmaamersham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed here because a family member had their wedding reception here. The reception was fantastic, the food was great the staff very friendly & attentive. Our room was also tip top. I wanted to give the score as 10/10 but am unable to due to a few mishaps . My sons bed wasn't made up on arrival but they did rectify straight away. There were hairs in the bath which is a definitely a no no. The coffee was miles to strong.
The breakfast was a disappointment the toast was stone cold & rubbery when it arrived, we had to ask several times for drinks.
We did have a great time & these few things didn't spoil our weekend.
Thanks

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paulaconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnham Market
4.5 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
892 reviews
9.7 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
918 reviews
16.5 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
858 reviews
9.0 mi away
Caley Hall Hotel
Caley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hunstanton
952 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Lodge Inn
The Lodge Inn
#1 of 1 in Old Hunstanton
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoste

Address: 14 Market Place | The Green, Burnham Market PE31 8HD, England (Formerly Hoste Arms)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Burnham Market
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Burnham Market
Price Range: £124 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hoste is a luxury boutique hotel located in Burnham Market, North Norfolk. It offers guests sixty two bedrooms, two acclaimed restaurants and Beauty Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your The Hoste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoste Arms Hotel Burnham Market
The Hoste Burnham Market, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing