We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Front...No Substance”
Review of The Hoste

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hoste
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Burnham Market
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“All Front...No Substance”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

They call Burnham Market Chelsea on the sea, well I can assure you the quality of food is not quite matching the Kings Road.

£13 for a sandwich and bowl of hand-cut chips. My wife and I both went for sandwiches. The sandwich was pleasant enough, although very mean on the fillings. The chips were undercooked. The choice of ales are limited, only 3 on tap, all mainstream no cask guest ales that you might expect. My wife's wine glass was filthy. The staff were very nice and helpful but I can't help but feel this place is a bit of a tourist trap when in actual fact it could be a fantastic pub. I wouldn't go back which is a shame as Burnham Market is such a lovely village.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank benlucas444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline W, Manager at The Hoste, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent visit at The Hoste.
Firstly I would like to apologise that we did not meet the standard expected of The Hoste. We pride ourselves on our friendly staff, good service and excellent food – the full Hoste experience! On this occasion we did not tick all the boxes for you, we do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon and do hope you’ll visit Burnham Market again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    601
    352
    199
    100
    58
See reviews for
211
802
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We booked for the Vine House for the 4th July and decided to also dine at the Hoste.

We were somewhat concerned given a recent review, but those concerns were dispelled and I can only score this hotel as 5 out of 5. The staff, the hotel and the food were all faultless.

I would strongly recommend this hotel, we will be re visiting later in the year.

Room Tip: The Vine House is very pleasant and only across the road from the Hoste. You are able to have a drin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noblefamily1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline W, Manager at The Hoste, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your recent review, it was lovely to read that you awarded us 5 out of 5. We have passed your kind comments on to the team. We do look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My wife and I recently spent two nights at The Hoste as a precursor to a honeymoon break in Norfolk.

It's clear that The Hoste enjoys a good reputation locally, and is central to life in the picture-postcard village of Burnham Market. But we were here for two reasons: the spa treatments and the much-publicised food.

Given the sheer quality and value of the spa treatments, the comfortable room and the superior customer service we experienced throughout our stay, this would easily have been a 4.5 star review (losing just half a star for an air con unit that didn't seem to work, and a broken toilet-roll holder).

But - and it's a big but - there's a REAL problem with the food.

First and foremost was breakfast, where the sheer range of fresh fruit and pastries did little to make up for the fact that the dry, stingy Full English and the sour, vinegary Hollandaise on the Eggs Benedict constituted perhaps the worst examples of cooked breakfasts I have ever tasted. At 17 quid for the privilege, they are perhaps also the most expensive. We witnessed more then one breakfast guest make complaints or refuse their food, and in hindsight we wish we'd done the same. Very, VERY poor.

The Dinner Menu was far better, but suffered from a lack of attention to detail: a scallop starter that involved a single scallop sliced into 3 (certainly NOT as advertised in the Hoste's literature); a superb seafood platter (which included a truly sublime Lobster risotto) hobbled by a crab pate laced with fragments of shell; a juicy pork dish served on a bubble & squeak-flavoured mush; a perfect leg of duck served with a mere 4 (four) green beans, cut in half and arranged into neat crosses in a sorry attempt to disguise the sheer miserliness; a delicious beef shin pie countered by a portion of unseasoned and unloved savoy cabbage. In short, The Hoste's dinner menu is a Jeckyll & Hide affair: sensational served on a bed of needlessly mediocre.

We would like to come back again one day to enjoy the treatments, but will do so only if the quality of the food is on par with all the other things that The Hoste manages to get so right.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room over the kitchen - very hot at night (especially if the air-con doesn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JonPaul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline W, Manager at The Hoste, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your comprehensive review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay overall. It gave us pleasure to read that in particular you experienced great service during your stay and had a relaxing visit to our Beauty Spa. We are sorry to read that you found some of the food to be mediocre; we pride ourselves on good quality product using local suppliers and fresh ingredients. All dishes are cooked to order, so we appreciate your feedback on all the dishes you had when you visited. Our Head Chef and his team of 17 in the kitchen strive to maintain very high standards so it is particularly disappointing to hear you were not 100% satisfied this time. We do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night as part of a break in Norfolk, the hotel was excellent, we took advantage of the spa for a massage as well which was wonderful.

Breakfast in the sun in the courtyard was an added bonus, well worth a visit!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kriscollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline W, Manager at The Hoste, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your recent review and for your kind comments. We do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Hoste for two nights with our dog. We had a great time and were always looked after and made to feel welcome. We took our dog away for the first time and we were pleasantly surprised how well looked after and easy it was to enjoy the hotel with him. He loved it and so did we. Looking forward to another visit.

We ate at the restaurant also, food was very good. The sharing dessert was amazing and a must for those people with a sweet tooth.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline W, Manager at The Hoste, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you so much for your recent review. It was lovely to read that you, your partner and dog all enjoyed your stay with us. We have passed on your kind words to the team who always try their best to meet our guest expectations, so it's lovely to receive feedback from yourself.
We look forward to welcoming you all back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We have just returned from a lovely night away at "The Hoste" where we celebrated our 7th wedding anniversay.
.From check in until and throughourt our stay we were made to feel very welcome,and all the staff are extremely helpful and attentive to every guest offering advice on things to do etc.We stayed in room 29 which was lovely, very clean and well stocked with all the necessary ammenities.
The hotel had left a card a plate of cakes with Happy anniversary on, a lovely touch that we really appreciated.
We had drinks in the resident area which was very accomodating a comfiortable, with a lovely selction of drinks.On the evening we are at the hotel, the food was fantastic, I had the oysters to start... onw word AMAZING. These were locally sourced and the best I have ever tastedWe both had Steak for main and fondant for dessert washed down with some fizz and red wine. The following day we had our breakfast in bed which again was lovely.
Finally to end our stay I had a facial in the spa where they use Clarins, very high standard with great therapists.
Burnham market is a lovely village with great shops for clothing and local produce and gifts, definitley worth a potter.
A personal mention to Martin who was so thoughtful and helpfull, clearly loves his job as so happy with nothing being too much trouble.
In summary see you soon, we loved it.
Michelle / Jamie Mccollam

Room Tip: All rooms looked lovely in my opinion
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleMccollam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline W, Manager at The Hoste, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, we are delighted to read that you awarded us 5 stars. Happy anniversary once again, we are so pleased you enjoyed our ‘little touches’ during your stay. We shall pass on your comments to Martin and the team. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We have just returned from a two night stay at The Hoste, to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary.From check in until check out you are made to feel very welcome,and all the staff are extremely helpful and attentive to every guests needs.We were in one of The Hostes new rooms,which was very clean,comfortable and spacious.Upon arrival in our room we found a gorgeous bouquet of flowers and bottle of wine, requested for us by our daughter,and organised by the hotel,along with a delicious plate of petit fours and a card from the hotel,which was a nice touch.We ate out on our first night,but dined in on the second.The food and service were excellent,and full credit should be given to the restaurant staff for managing such a busy Saturday evening so well.We ate in the Garden room for both breakfast and evening meal,which is a large light room,which even when busy,still feels spacious.There are sofa areas within the hotel,which contain an assortment of interesting furniture!,all ideal for taking a coffee in,and watching the world go by.The shops in Burnham Market are worth wandering around,whilst also taking in the atmosphere of this very unique part of Norfolk.We would thoroughly recommend The Hoste to anyone wanting a special weekend away.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline W, Manager at The Hoste, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us. It was lovely to read that you felt ‘welcome’ and 'comfortable' throughout your stay. We pride ourselves on our friendly service and excellent food – the full Hoste experience! We’re glad you enjoyed dining in our Garden Restaurant; the restaurant was refurbished last year during our £2 million refurbishment and since has become a popular dining room for residents and guests.
We look forward to having the pleasure of seeing you back at the Hoste again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnham Market
4.5 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
796 reviews
9.7 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
868 reviews
14.1 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
596 reviews
9.3 mi away
Best Western Old Hunstanton Le Strange Arms Hotel
24.7 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoste

Property: The Hoste
Address: 14 Market Place | The Green, Burnham Market PE31 8HD, England (Formerly Hoste Arms)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Burnham Market
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Burnham Market
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hoste is a luxury boutique hotel located in Burnham Market, North Norfolk. It offers guests sixty two bedrooms, two acclaimed restaurants and Beauty Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Hoste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoste Arms Hotel Burnham Market
The Hoste Burnham Market, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing