We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing experience”
Review of The Hoste

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hoste
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Burnham Market
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

What has happened to the Hoste, very disappointing evening. Totally agree with janetfarmers review, poor front of house service and staff who lack direction. Do not visit here with high expectations. Such a shame it could be so good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank FoodyBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline W, Manager at The Hoste, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your recent comments, we are sorry to read of your disappointment during your visit. Service should preferably be professional, although we do rely to a great deal on enthusiastic yet young staff, but it absolutely must be smooth and efficient if we are to succeed in providing guests with an enjoyable time. In your case we clearly failed to deliver on this score. May we thank you for giving us the opportunity of responding and I hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    590
    344
    198
    100
    57
See reviews for
207
787
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Battle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We have just spent two nights at The Hoste. This hotel has recently undergone extensive and expensive renovation and provides comfortable accommodation. Unfortunately the management have yet to get to grips with dealing with the extra guests this expansion has
generated. We stayed in the Vine Boutique Hotel, an 8 bedroom Georgian House annexed from the main hotel and on the other side of the green, which was very comfortable and well equipped. Especially appreciated was the fresh milk in the fridge and teapot for our morning tea, bathroom robes and large bath sheets. However, our on-line booking did not mention we would not be in the main hotel and the first we knew was when we arrived. This was not an issue for us but could be for some and the booking should point this out.
Whilst the hotel is good the restaurant and service is another issue. We ate in the restaurant on both nights of our stay and both nights we had a half-hour wait for our main course following our starter. This is unacceptable. Some of the dishes offer very meagre portions of protein which makes the dish over-priced. Whilst the food is nicely presented and reasonably well cooked (although my husband's beef wellington had soggy pastry), it is not exceptional. Breakfast is served from 7.30am and on our first morning we arrived just after 8am and there was no hot buffet, which never arrived; this was fine for us as orders were taken for freshly cooked, which we think is better, but it took 20 minutes from ordering to arrive; they had also run out of marmalade. On the second morning at 8.am there was again no hot buffet, but this was set up by 8.30am and the marmalade arrived at 8.15am., and you could order freshly cooked.
Front of house there are plenty of staff but they seem to lack direction and not to have clearly defined roles which makes for a rather chaotic service for guests.
I didn't find my stay particularly restful due to the poor service and long wait for food at every meal. The excuse of high demand is not acceptable as this happened both nights, and it was not a weekend. I also think the restaurant is over-priced for what is on offer. I would not recommend The Hoste at the current time and would not book again until management have addressed the issues in the kitchen and front of house. My experience here was average at best.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank janetcifarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline W, Manager at The Hoste, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your comprehensive report following your recent stay with us. Firstly I would like to apologise that we did not meet the standard expected of The Hoste and we aim to provide fantastic and quality service to all our guests. Your delays in your food arriving at your table was unfortunate and hope you can understand that we pride ourselves on good quality produce and freshly cooked to order, we apologise for the delays you experienced and can assure you that this is not the usual standard we pride ourselves on.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your bedroom and appreciated the ‘little touches’ we provided during your stay. We do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Not the cheapest in Burnham M, but good quality food and a large, quiet outside dining area at the rear. We had a shared seafood platter which was excellent, can't remember what the kids had but they both cleared their plates, good service and food came relatively quickly. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline W, Manager at The Hoste, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your recent review following your visit to the Hoste. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit and would recommend us to your friends.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hoste soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level Contributor
54 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Popped in here one Sunday and had a great Breakfast with a friend.

I had muesli with yogurt, orange juice, earl grey tea, a cooked breakfast and my friend had something similar and all was good. There is fruit, cereal, coffee, many juices to select from and you pay one price for the choice.

A nice venue and the service was great, and we were not staying over night, just went in and was welcomed. Ater this we strolled around the village and enjoyed a morning in the area. Wish more place in North Norfolk were like this.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAMES819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline W, Manager at The Hoste, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, we are delighted to read that you awarded us 5 stars. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your impromptu breakfast at The Hoste.
Hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

First time at the Hoste arrived after a long slow drive from North Yorkshire to be very pleasantly greeted slight misunderstanding about our dates which was resolved in no time.
We had a room in the Railway House very comfortable lovely bedding,towels all well serviced.
There is a pleasant lounge area and small garden which was lovely to come back to on such a sunny afternoon to sit with our dogs and have a cuppa.
The hotel is very genuine when they say we accept dogs if you do not want them in your car there is a small dinning room to eat in while they sit quietly under the table.
Evening dinner in the garden room is recommended and booking essential food is all of the highest standard all the waiting staff are well trained and very pleasant.
Will be retuning again for sure

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline W, Manager at The Hoste, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is great to read such positive feedback and in particular that you found our team to be of the highest standards, well trained and very pleasant.
We look forward to welcoming you, your partner and your dog back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We first stayed at The Hoste in February 2006 and were very impressed with it, so when we decided on a return visit to Norfolk this year it was our first choice.

Since 2006 The Hoste has grown considerably larger, with major additions to its facilities and accommodation over the past year or so. However, unlike some other properties which expand, it has managed to retain its essential character. The front bar is unchanged and still very comfortably 'pubby', and the front dining room has also retained its original character.

The new bedrooms are furnished with the same kind of individual style that we remembered from our last visit. Very comfortable, spacious, and well decorated, and the ceiling fans - which we also recalled from our previous visit - were definitely an asset during our very sunny five-night stay (it was cold in Feb 2006!). Bathrooms are good and well supplied with toiletries. Housekeeping was very good.

We had asked for a quiet bedroom, away from the front of the pub, to avoid noise from potential late drinkers, so our room was in a new block behind the car park and opposite the spa. We found it very quiet and peaceful, even on the night when there was a Jazz function in the Garden Room.

The food, as on our previous visit, was very good, and plentifully supplied buffet (hot and cold) breakfasts were taken in the attractive, newly built Garden Room, which overlooks the sheltered courtyard.

The courtyard was a very pleasant spot for afternoon tea, light lunches, and for pre-prandials.

We thoroughly enjoyed our second stay at The Hoste - the only very slight downside being the service. which was at times really quite leisurely (or slow - depending on how relaxed one is!). One or two hiccups in the ordering of drinks occurred but this may have been partly accounted for by the extra/new staff required for the expanded business, and the beginning of the holiday season, not being fully au fait with the computer ordering systems.

Room Tip: We had a Superior Room on the first floor, behind the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Makushla-O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline W, Manager at The Hoste, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you so much for your comprehensive report regarding your recent stay with us. It makes such a difference to know that you enjoyed the The Hoste experience and that you appreciated our new additions we have had added to The Hoste. We look forward to having the pleasure of seeing you again for your third visit. Don’t leave it so long next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here with friends and had a great time. The hotel is in the centre of this busy village and the facilities are excellent, our room was large and clean and quiet. On the the downside the car park is to small and appeared to be full of people who were having lunch which made it difficult to park. We think that more attention should be paid as to who uses the car park as in our opinion residents should have priority.
We ate in the main restaurant and the food was good and well presented, the breakfast was served in the garden room which was a pleasant setting and and the breakfast was fine.
One minor point was that the couple we were with found on checking out that someone else's drinks bill had been charged to their room, but after 5 minutes this was resolved.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_wendy181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline W, Manager at The Hoste, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your recent review. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Parking in Burnham Market is always a slight challenge, as it’s such a popular village with locals and tourists, whatever the time of the year, we do try our best to prioritise our car park for residents and hope you can appreciate that not all the time this can be monitored. Our local council are putting plans in place for an additional car park with nearly 200 spaces to be built which is in the interests of villagers, tourists and businesses. We do hope we have the chance to welcome you back to the Hoste again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnham Market
4.5 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Titchwell
779 reviews
9.7 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
862 reviews
14.1 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
579 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wells-next-the-Sea
664 reviews
4.7 mi away
Briarfields Hotel
Briarfields Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoste

Property: The Hoste
Address: 14 Market Place | The Green, Burnham Market PE31 8HD, England (Formerly Hoste Arms)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Burnham Market
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Burnham Market
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hoste is a luxury boutique hotel located in Burnham Market, North Norfolk. It offers guests sixty two bedrooms, two acclaimed restaurants and Beauty Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Hoste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoste Arms Hotel Burnham Market
The Hoste Burnham Market, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing