We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple luxury!”
Review of The Hoste

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hoste
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Burnham Market
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Simple luxury!”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

A very warm welcome awaited us at The Hoste. The bedroom was beautifully decorated and the bathroom was all that you could want. I was concerned at first that we were overlooking the garden where there were many people eating and drinking until late, but it didn't disturb my sleep at all. Dinner in the dining room was excellent with a wide choice of fish and shellfish. Breakfast provided ample choice. Burnham Market is ideally situated on the north Norfolk coast and we had a fabulous walk along Holkham beach in the morning. All in all a brilliant relaxing weekend.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden could get noisy on warm summer evenings when everyone is outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desiree S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline W, Manager at The Hoste, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for your recent review we appreciate your feedback and was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We now look forward to welcoming you back to the Hoste.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    601
    352
    199
    100
    58
See reviews for
211
802
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed in the Railway House, so these were the 'cheap seats' and the lounge was lovely, sunny garden area with plenty of seating, BUT very basic facilities in the room - would have liked a fridge to chill our picnic/ drinks but didn't have one in the room and the communal one wasnt cold. The blind had to be down all the time as the room overlooked the car park but the blind let in loads of light and no curtains - so woke up at 5am every day. Easy walk to the main hotel for beakft, and tne staff were all very friendly and helpful, and breakfast choice so was good. Would come again but may have to dig a bit deeper into the piggy bank.

Room Tip: Dont stay in Railway House room 45.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Trudi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline W, Manager at The Hoste, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for your recent review, we appreciate your feedback following your recent stay with us. We have taken on board your comments and shall look at room 45 to see how we can improve. We do hope we have the chance of welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Had a great stay, was greeted at reception by Jane knights who was really nice polite and very helpfull, big thank you to her, breckfast staff were lovely, but on check out I was a little disappointed I hadn't finished talking, saying how lovely room 71 was before the receptionest had walked off to talk to another guest, I thought how rude considering there was 3 of them there, but all in all a lovely stay. Amanda Woolf

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amandawoolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline W, Manager at The Hoste, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your recent review, it was lovely to read that you had a great stay with us. We have passed your kind comments on to the team and especially Jane.. We are sorry to read of your disappointment on checkout and will look into.
We do look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Celebrated our 1st wedding anniversary here, stayed in the Vine House which was really nice, lovely bathroom, King sized four poster bed, everything you could want. The staff were extremely helpful and attentive and dinner and breakfast were exceptional. Would thoroughly recommend the Hoste, absolutely fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline W, Manager at The Hoste, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your recent review, we are pleased to read that you awarded us 5 stars and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have passed your kind comments on to the team. We now look forward to welcoming you back to the Hoste in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We spent one night for my husband's birthday in the converted railway carriage, situated on tracks at the disused railway station in Burnham Market, run by The Hoste. Everything was perfect! The railway carriage is like a very quirky but luxurious hotel room, complete with air con, huge granite shower cubicle and copper bathroom sink. Evening meal at the Hoste was wonderful as was the extensive breakfast on offer and their customer service is second to none, from the charming receptionist to the General Manager who personally introduced himself and showed us around their Nelson exhibition to all the waiting staff. All in all it was a completely wonderful experience - not cheap but definitely worth every penny for a special occasion and highly recommended!

Room Tip: Go for the converted railway carriage - spacious, quirky, luxurious, private - a great, different ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 580Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline W, Manager at The Hoste, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your recent review, it was lovely to read that you awarded us 5 out of 5. We are so pleased you enjoyed your birthday stay with us. We have passed your kind comments on to the team. We now look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Like another reviewer mentioned, although booking at the Hoste, we had a room (#51) at The Vine House across the green, about 50 metres away. I'm glad we stayed there, we had a beautiful room and I felt very comfortable there.
We stayed for 2 nights: we ate in the Garden Room, which was very large, very noisy and had all the charm of a kindergarten lunchroom. Our waitress was sarcastic and sulky (I commented to my husband it felt like we had one of our teens serving us), which didn't make for a nice evening. We had ordered a particular bottle of wine on the menu; when she brought it to us, my husband commented it was a different vintage from the one he'd chosen. Already beginning to open it, she looked at him and said, in as snarky a voice as she could manage, that she'd notify the chef instantly and make sure he changes the menu as soon as possible. She never stopped to offer to find the bottle we'd actually ordered and, stunned as we were, she then confided that every bottle pretty much tastes the same as the next, so no biggie, right?
Breakfast was no better. We had waiters asking us if we'd like toast and when we said "yes please", they walked away and never came back. We asked repeatedly for toast, for the butter to accompany it, and for our promised coffee. It was almost a joke.
I spoke with reception about this and after that, service improved considerably. The second evening we ate in their other restaurant near the bar and we were both very satisfied.
I do believe they have an issue with their wait-staff, though, and recommend they get some proper training before being let loose on the paying public again.
Still, I would give this hotel 4/5 because we loved our room and the little village.

Room Tip: We were in room 51 and loved it. Very spacious and beautifully decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wendyi638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline W, Manager at The Hoste, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your recent review, we appreciate your feedback. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed overall and in particular that you enjoyed staying in the Vine House. We are sorry to read of the service you experienced from the waiting team and can assure you that this is not normal practice. Service should preferably be professional, although we do rely to a great deal on enthusiastic yet young staff, but it absolutely must be smooth and efficient if we are to succeed in providing guests with an enjoyable time. We pride ourselves on attentive service and on this occasion we on a whole did not deliver. We do hope you give us the ‘benefit of the doubt’ and hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here for one night with my wife . We had a lovely stay , staff were very welcoming showing us to our room which was beautiful , Fourposter bed with a sofa and two chairs , en suite with a fantastic large bath and all tastefully decorated . Restaurant serving fantastic food with a great wine list . There is also loads of space for sitting and relaxing all over the Hotel including outside the bar overlooking the town . The town itself is a classic Norfolk market town which has lost none of its character and charm , smart boutiques and the butcher and bakers had lovely meet and bread . Would highly recommend visiting this Town and Hotel as it makes a great base for visiting the Norfolk beaches .

Room Tip: The Fourposter room was Beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline W, Manager at The Hoste, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your recent review, we are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have passed your kind comments on to the team. We now look forward to welcoming you back to the Hoste in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnham Market
4.5 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
796 reviews
9.7 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
868 reviews
14.1 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
596 reviews
9.3 mi away
Best Western Old Hunstanton Le Strange Arms Hotel
24.7 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoste

Property: The Hoste
Address: 14 Market Place | The Green, Burnham Market PE31 8HD, England (Formerly Hoste Arms)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Burnham Market
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Burnham Market
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hoste is a luxury boutique hotel located in Burnham Market, North Norfolk. It offers guests sixty two bedrooms, two acclaimed restaurants and Beauty Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Hoste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoste Arms Hotel Burnham Market
The Hoste Burnham Market, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing