We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT MEAL”
Review of The Hoste

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hoste
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Burnham Market
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
402 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT MEAL”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

The hotel and restaurant has a new-ish owner and we could see that various improvements had been made since our previous visit about 2-3 years ago. The meal was lovely and I was particularly taken with the sunflower table arrangements. Dogs are welcome and it certainly gets busy. The owner introduced himself as we were leaving and asked whether everything was to our satisfaction which it was. This is quite an expensive place to eat [but synonymous with the local area I guess] so it is somewhere we go to for a 'treat' or special occasion if in the area. The service was good and special praise and thanks go to Neve for his attentive and friendly service.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank gabriella1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    578
    336
    194
    97
    56
See reviews for
201
768
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

This was our 3rd stay at the Hoste. We have stayed in the main hotel, the Vine House and this Year in the Railway. Year on year the service seems to get worse. Even though we are regular visitors to the Hoste, they do not seem to value our loyalty. This August we felt the service was worse than ever. The room they gave us at the Railway was far too small, for my husband, 16 year old son and I. the girl behind the desk on arrival gave us wrong directions to the Railway, which wasted an hour of our time. The room was close to the road. We would think twice before we booked again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank deb6176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Over the years we have stayed in The Hoste from time to time on trips to Norfolk and this was the first time under the new management: not all changes are for the better. The room in Vine House was very nice one again (no wi-fi though). The new garden dining room is a good contemporary space, however although dinner was fine, the staff who are all very pleasant seem woefully inexperienced. It was also a shame that a fine Lemon sole was doused in too much butter. However breakfast was dreadful. Formerly these have been cooked to order. They are now precooked and kept warm in steel buffet-style containers for all to help themselves with dry scrambled egg, flaccid sausages etc. When I asked if we could have something freshly cooked we were told 'yes' however no one came to take an order for a long time and then misunderstood the order. An over cooked poached egg covered in lukewarm grainy hollandaise sauce was presented on a leathery piece of bacon on top of a wet muffin. It was inedible. I think if the Hoste think of themselves as an up market hotel then they shouldn't adopt practices favoured by cheap and cheerful business hotels. A nice bed and breakfast would have done a better job. There is a certain 'pack em in' mentality here with so many rooms to fill. I had asked when I had booked if they had a Dinner and B and B package and was told yes. However this is apparently an allowance of a certain amount of money to spend on dinner, which if you exceed appears on your bill. This is not only weird but smacks of sharp practice as this is not a 'package'. I think we'll look at other options for the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank paulab011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We recently spent 2 nights at the hoste and had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. We stayed in a beautiful room with an amazing shower and separate bathroom. The staff at the hotel could not have been more helpful and friendly. We ate in the hotel restaurant both nights and had delicious food and wine on both occasions. The garden was the perfect place to sit back in the sun with some cider and a cheese board to pass an afternoon! We had some treatments in the spa, which we also could not fault and had a very enjoyable champagne afternoon tea in the hotel! The surrounding area of coastal scenery is stunning, I would throughly recommend the hoste for a weekend break!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 125ChristinaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

We headed to Burnham Market for lunch because a friend specifically recommended the Hoste as a great place to eat. Unfortunately our dining experience was truly dismal. We waited 58 minutes before any food arrived, and when it did it was inedible – my starter of figs, melon and serrano ham was so drenched in balsamic vinegar the individual ingredients had no flavour and I was left with an unpleasant cloying feeling in my mouth. (My wife’s tomato and mozzarella salad was similarly swimming in a liquid pesto sauce.) I’ve actually never seen melon go purple before. My main course of linguini with crab and chilli, when it finally arrived, was actually cold and had four tiny scraps of chilli (I investigated it carefully in the hope that there might be some warm pasta at the bottom, but it was actually uniformly cold – I dread to think how long it must have been standing). I ordered a glass of white wine and was eventually brought two as I was getting ready to leave.
To be fair to the Hoste the staff were terribly apologetic and tried their best to deliver good service, and the manager took a healthy amount off the bill when we complained. Other customers seemed to be having a good time, so maybe we were just unlucky.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
13 Thank Cadleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barton-under-Needwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We were expecting a very different hotel to the one we stayed at. Yes, the staff were welcoming but the truth of the matter is that they are totally unable to cope with normal demands of the average hotel guest. The first night we ate in the Garden Room which is far better suited to families , having a sort of cafe feel about it rather than restaurant. The upholstery is rather dirty and it is full of families with young children until quite late in the evening.. The starter was very good but the venison main course was tasteless and also a very small meal requiring extra vegetables. The following morning breakfast can only be described as chaotic and we were glad to escape.Two mornings there was no brown sauce ... how difficult can it be to buy this if they run out. Tea and coffee was impressively complimentary but it took 5 requests to get it and it was cold when it arrived. The waitress did not try to hide a cobweb , she unfortunately picked up on her hand from some leaflets on the table as she served our coffee.Our room , over the road was in The vine House which was lovely but , surely to be expected at the price charged. We wondered how long it would take to get a drink served over there , which we were told was as easy as calling reception . During our stay our room was offered to us for half the price if we wished to extend our holiday, which made us feel worse about the amount we paid for our stay.
Needless to say we ate out elsewhere for the other 2 nights. On checking out , another very unhappy guest was asking to speak to the Manager about the appalling service and checking out early because of this.
It should have been a highlight of our holiday but was really a big disappointment.

Room Tip: The Vine house is child free but away from the main hotel. Wi fi was a bit intermittent in our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Treviso
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Having visited The Hoste as a non resident (for food and drinks) over at least 30 summers, I have witnessed many changes.
I was disappointed by my visits both last year and this year. Last year I had hoped that the new management were just finding their feet, but I now feel that they are spoiling the ship for a ha'porth of tar. This is a hotel frequented by people who are used to London standards and although largely a very good experience the devil is in the detail.
Last year we waited 40 mins between ordering drinks and receiving them on a busy day and had a similar experience this year, needing to express our urgency after 20 mins. Under the previous management coffee was available for self service refill with no extra charge and no need to wait for service. This was very convenient on busy days. In my opinion this is false economy for The Hoste, as patrons become unnecessarily exasperated for sake of saving the cost of a cup of coffee. The food at The Hoste is not low budget and is stated to be "locally sourced and seasonal". When our food arrived it was mainly of high quality but the side order of "Triple Cooked Chips" were obviously frozen and nothing approaching the delicious fresh ones that we were previously used to. At £4 a portion surely it is possible to cook fresh potatoes.
This is a hotel which prides itself on its stylish boutique reputation. however, this year instead of fresh flowers on tables there were very dilapidated specimens of the succulent (kalanchoe blossfeldiana) which had either finished flowering completely or had mainly withered blooms atop wilted and battered leaves. This does not give a welcoming impression.
A significant detail, which should be a small and helpful change, in fact gives a very bad impression of the caliber of the hotel. The staff now wear name badges which unnecessarily include surnames. These could be well designed and add to boutique nature of The Hoste's branding, but instead they are identical to the cheap corporate badges worn in any number of supermarket chains and convey the impression of being served in a cafeteria. I also feel that these badges are demeaning for what has always been an intelligent and motivated staff.
I hope that this review will be helpful to the new management and show them that what might appear small details are are very important to the overall impression gained by patrons.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank cafeculture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnham Market
4.5 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
9.7 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
14.1 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wells-next-the-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
16.5 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
24.7 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoste

Property: The Hoste
Address: 14 Market Place | The Green, Burnham Market PE31 8HD, England (Formerly Hoste Arms)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Burnham Market
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Burnham Market
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Burnham Market, The Hoste Luxury Boutique Hotel boasts a private 20-seat cinema room, a gym, a beauty spa, an award-winning restaurant, luxury bedrooms, and self-catering cottages over various locations within the historic village. Featuring free Wi-Fi and free private parking, this boutique resort is just 2 miles from Norfolk's sandy beaches. Offering a flat-screen TV with Sky channels and tea and coffee making facilities, the uniquely designed accommodation lies across 6 individual properties. The bathrooms feature luxurious toiletries. Many boast a free-standing bath, pretty terrace, or views over the village green. The Hoste's sophisticated restaurant serves a modern British menu. For a more informal dining experience, guests can eat in the conservatory, lounge, garden, or bar. Dishes are prepared using locally sourced, seasonal produce. Meals can be complemented with a drink from the extensive wine cellar. Located in the courtyard wing of the 17th century property, The Hoste Beauty Spa offers a range of specialist treatments and a hot tub. Burnham Market is surrounded by acclaimed nature reserves, picturesque villages, and historic market towns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Hoste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoste Arms Hotel Burnham Market
The Hoste Burnham Market, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing