We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great take on comfortable camping”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thornham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thornham Bay - Wild Luxury
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great take on comfortable camping”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I stayed here with my family in June to try out "Glamping". This is an ideal holiday for a family getaway or fun retreat for the kids.

The lodges, or cabins, are well equipped for a comfortable stay. There are proper beds and bed linen, couches and tables, kitchen facilities and guess what ladies... fully working showers and toilets!! And they're all for your private use, you don't have to share these facilities with any other campers, amen!

There is an oven burner in the lounge which is heated up by fire and wood and surprisingly can keep the whole tent warm. You can also cook on the stove top of the burner, but it's not temperature controlled like your stove top at home so be careful.

If the weather is in your favour then you'll enjoy the BBQ grill and bench right outside your lodge.

With all these luxuries you are still technically camping since there is no electricity in the lodges. There are enough candles and battery lamps to get you through.

Millie and her colleagues are on site to help out if you have any issues or just to say hello. We were given a walk through when we arrived and shown how things are used etc.

The beach is roughly a 30 minute scenic walk from your lodge, which has been sign posted all the way.

There is an "honesty shop" on site which has a few essentials such as marshmallows, battery packs, pasta, loo rolls etc. There is also a farm shop at the entrance of the site which sells all sort of meat, veg and fruits, as well a local butcher.

My only complaint is that since we were staying in the first lodge on the site; other holiday goers had to walk past our tent to access their lodge or exit the site and in most cases they were quite loud and can be heard while you're either drifting off to sleep or trying to have a lie in. You can't choose who you share a holiday site with though!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahHarrisWatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    8
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
61
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We booked to glamp for the weekend as we were going to a party at La Campagna on the Saturday night and had a brilliant time all round! Millly's welcome and introduction was great, very thorough and put us at ease about the important things in the 'lodge' like how to get the stove going and how to work the hot shower (very important!). Although not a particularly warm and sunny weekend in June, we did not really suffer from being cold. The stove soon warmed up, the bedding was lovely and thick and there was an endless supply of hot water bottles. Every morning we commented on how surprisingly toasty warm we had been in our beds! We were impressed by the idea of using frozen (hot) water bottles as ice packs for the cool box too! The 'lodge' was well-equipped with all the crockery and utensils we needed for our stay and we were able to get supplies from the honesty shop, a great idea for forgotten things! The lodges are located on a lovely meadow, hidden away between the road and the beach which is great for a relaxing weekend!

I really enjoyed this glamping experience and think everyone should try it!

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Becca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We stayed at wild luxury over the last May bank holiday for 4 nights with our 2 children aged 4 and 7 and had the most wonderful time. On arrival Milly, the camp director, gave us a thorough lodge briefing with instructions on the stove, shower etc. the lodge was clean and the beds made up with crisp white linen. In response to the previous review yes it is cold when you wake up in the morning and first get out of bed, but we threw on a fleece, made a coffee on the gas stove and get the wood burning stove on. It's all part of the fun. The beds are so comfortable with lovely thick duvets and we all slept so well, the entire trip. Milly was great, she comes around camp each morning to check up on each guest. She was great with the children listening to their tales of the previous days adventures and showing them where the chickens were nesting so they could collect the eggs. Our shower kept going hot and cold and as soon as I told her she called someone out and it was fully replaced within a few hours - excellent service. The site is lovely there are some small 'woods' which the children enjoyed playng in and climbing the trees, which was amazing to see as they are really not tree climbing girls. Each tent has its own swing ball which was a reall hit with the children as well. The farm shop on site is handy and the butcher stall outside the farm shop was excellent. We bought delicious steaks on 2 separate occasions to cook on the fire pit. The surrounding area was great, we did the seal trip from Morston Quay, which we all loved, crabbing at Blakeney and a trip to Wells, but at the end of the day coming back to camp to a bottle of wine on the decked area as the sunsets whilst the children run free - you can't beat it.

The only negative and nothing to do with Wild Luxurymwas out trip to the Lifeboat Inn. Food was good, but the service was awful - I wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJL1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a hen do. No joke, I wasn't actually sure we would make it through the night. For the price it is shocking value for money - the bedding is paper thin. Yes we stayed in April but the owners should bear this in mind and provide WARM bedding. It was like sleeping outside. Yes there is a wood burner but unless you have a game member of your party who is willing to stay up all night to stoke it you have no hope of staying warm - and the one in one of the cabins we stayed in didn't even work properly. We slept under a duvet (thin one, provided), another duvet brought from home, a towel and a dressing gown. Fully clothed. It was incredibly cold. There is absolutely no sign of the glam in the ping. You could only have a good time here at the height of summer.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrionyHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanB777, Owner at Thornham Bay - Wild Luxury, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
What a pity! It sounds like you had a miserable weekend which is a shame as we spoke to the bride, organiser and many of your friends who seemed to have loved it. We also had another hen group on site who reported a good stay. As it was an over 25 weekend we also had staff on site constantly. I am sorry you didn’t mention about the duvet as we provide 18 tog extra warm duvets, so if yours was thin, it wasn’t one of ours. Indeed you will see here that many families stayed on the same month (the coldest for 30 years) with very young children and mentioned how they loved the extra warm duvets.

Hen nights are always difficult during colder periods because in the evening guests tend to congregate in one lodge which means that the other lodges are very cold when you later you want to go to bed. Stoves by their nature do work but it is hard to warm up cold unoccupied lodges late at night and so early in the season. The need to keep all lodges warm is highlighted during the lodge induction.

Single-sex bookings are vetted especially carefully and generally only offer stays to specific groups on specific weekends. We will look at this again to ensure everyone within the group is aware that there is a camping element to glamping especially in April and the weather plays a part.

Earlier this year, we did cancel the Easter Weekend because we thought it was too cold so rest assured that we are always mindful of guests being able to have a good time.

Regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Wild luxury at thornham bay is a totally different and brilliant holiday. If you have kids it's an amazing experience for them- loads of freedom to play and explore around the camp. Our kids didn't want to leave!
Brilliant accommodation which gives you everything you need to make for a very comfortable stay. Helpful staff who are happy to help at any time. We will be staying again

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatalieGadsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanB777, General Manager at Thornham Bay - Wild Luxury, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We also think that everyone should experience a holiday at Wild Luxury!

Milly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Just returned from a weekend there and totally loved it, great set up means you can get as much or as little as you like on site, great location, great local restaurants and activities so plenty to see and do and fab lodges with amazing hot showers. Just need to find another excuse to go back again soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJH20122012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanB777, General Manager at Thornham Bay - Wild Luxury, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to say how much you enjoyed your stay.

Milly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We took our children (aged 4 & 6) for a long weekend over the Easter holiday's and we all loved it and cannot recommend it highly enough - Wild Luxury was fractionally more expensive than other glamping options we looked at but with young children the little extra details like hot and cold running water/shower in the tent and a wood burning stove/oven make a difference. The site is lovely - quiet, safe for the children to explore etc with chickens to feed and eggs to collect. The farm shop is a 10 min walk, was well stocked and quite sufficient for our daily needs and it is a 30 min walk (through a nature reserve) to the beach which is beautiful and not too crowded as it is not easy to access by car so less day trippers etc. Milly who runs the camp is attentive, excellent with the children and on the ball. We would recommend the all in package as having beds made up etc makes arrival less stressful and lets you spend more time enjoying the experience with the family. We will definitely be going back for a week next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanB777, General Manager at Thornham Bay - Wild Luxury, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
I'm glad you had such a great trip and hope to see you again next year.

Milly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornham
2.8 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
812 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Old Hunstanton Le Strange Arms Hotel
6.9 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
874 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Lifeboat Inn
The Lifeboat Inn
#1 of 5 in Thornham
250 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Chequers Inn
The Chequers Inn
#3 of 5 in Thornham
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornham Bay - Wild Luxury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornham Bay - Wild Luxury

Property: Thornham Bay - Wild Luxury
Address: Drove Orchards Thornham Road, Thornham PE36 6LS, England (Formerly Wild Luxury Safari Farm Stay)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Thornham
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Thornham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive VIP Safari lodges in a stunning setting just by a beautifully secluded beach and within walking distance of a lovely coastal villages with great pubs, restaurants and local deli. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Thornham Bay - Wild Luxury Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing