We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, friendly staff very busy”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Rose and Crown

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Snettisham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Rose and Crown
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Snettisham
Certificate of Excellence
Iver Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Excellent food, friendly staff very busy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

My wife and I ate here twice on our holiday in April 2013. Really lovely pub, very busy so definitely book. Good food, very good service, excellent beers and ciders, Adnams, woodfordes, aspalls and nice wine choices. Very much recommended, a little pricey but worth it. Good but small bar area, didn't eat here, much nicer restaurant area available.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    123
    46
    18
    13
See reviews for
93
231
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burntwood, Staffs
Level Contributor
95 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

We did not stay in the hotel but have eaten here several times while holidaying in North Norfolk (one of our very favourite places) We called in for lunch on a very wet afternoon., We chose from.the daily specials menu and had a delicious lunch followed by excellent coffee all served by cheerful friendly staff. I imagine the hotel experience would be good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scholarsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

I was a member of a golfing party who stayed one night . We didn't eat there so it was just B &B . The staff were terrific . Everone staying here seemed to come down to breakfast at the same time but the staff rose to the challenge .
I liked the colour scheme in my bedroom .
All in all -most pleasant

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Th0mastank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
965 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,319 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Rose and Crown for one night at the advice from a question we put out on the TA forum and we were not disappointed.
The hotel is situated in a lovey quiet village, and has great old bars and a lovely walled beer garden.
The Rose and Crown is a local watering hole and serves a good range of ales and lagers on tap.
Our double room was up the narrow, steep stair case, it was light bright and airy with lovely décor which gave it a real country feel. The room had a large window so plenty of fresh country air and a very comfortable queen size bed. Tea and coffee facilities available in the room as well as free Wifi with a good reception.
The bathroom was lovely, painted green, large and clean and the shower had good water pressure with good quality toiletries included.
Breakfast was a choice of cereal, fruit and a cooked to order full breakfast all very tasty, as well as freshly made latte coffee's all in a very attractive setting with views of the garden.
We ate dinner in the restaurant which we booked well in advance which I would advise as very busy.
The Menu was large and varied and the meal was of very high standard, the Cajun fish and salt potatoes was delicious as was the pork chops and the dining room was very attractive and cosy.
All the staff from reception to cleaners were very friendly and helpful which made our stay very pleasant.
We really enjoyed our whole Rose and Crown experience and would recommend to anyone wishing to stay in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindakthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeannette G, Owner at The Rose and Crown, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear LindaDownUnder

Thank you for your recent and wonderfully detailed review of The Rose & Crown. We are always grateful to customers who take the time to write about their visit to The Rose & Crown

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit. As owners we work very hard, as do our excellent staff, to ensure that each customer's visit is a pleasurable one - good service and great food in a relaxed, friendly atmosphere, and agreeable surroundings. It is hugely rewarding to all of us to get postive feed back like yours. I hope we will be able to welcome you to The Rose & Crown again soon.

Thank you again and best wishes

Jeannette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

This pub may be a victim of its own success, so overcrowded that the old world pub ambiance was lost. We have been there weekly and more for a few years. We always pay cash and after a very noisy overcrowded meal experience, crushed in a corner, I woke to an email accusing me of not having paid. I did get an apology with a copy of receipt but it takes away somewhat from the excellent food and the usually nice staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
252 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

The Rose and Crown is a rare find - a real local pub with a great atmosphere, serving delicious food and providing comfortable accommodation.
We met a friend for drinks in one of the bars and could have had dinner there too; instead we opted to eat in the very pleasant restaurant.
The menu had a good selection of dishes with lots of seasonal and local ingredients.
Our pan fried hake with a mussel risotto was excellent.
Service was attentive, efficient and friendly.
Our room was light and airy and the bed was very comfortable. Molton Brown products in the bathroom were appreciated.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sils55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeannette G, Owner at The Rose and Crown, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Sils

Thank you for your recent review of The Rose & Crown. We are always grateful to customers who take the time to write about their visit and to give us such valuable feedback.

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit. As owners we work very hard, as do our excellent staff, to ensure that each customer's visit is a pleasurable one - good service and great food in a relaxed, friendly atmosphere, and agreeable surroundings.

It is hugely rewarding to all of us to get postive feed back like yours. I hope we will be able to welcome you to The Rose & Crown again soon.

Thank you again and best wishes

Jeannette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

This was our second stay at the Rose and Crown having thoroughly enjoyed our previous visit three years ago. Our room was comfortable, bright and clean, but sadly the bathroom, although clean, was in need of complete refurbishment, looking very dated (with a shower curtain!) and the water temperature fluctuating noticeably in the shower. Breakfast was fine with reasonable
choices. Evening meals were very good, a varied menu, well cooked and served by friendly, efficient staff. However, like another reviewer, we found the portions to be rather too large, despite having healthy appetites and noticed that several diners did not clear their plates with food going to waste. We stayed four nights, one of which was a Friday and had to pay an extra £20 for that night. While I understand that many hotels charge extra for weekend stays we think it a bit much to have to pay the extra after staying several nights during the week. Although we believe the Rose and Crown is a pleasant place to stay in a good position for the coast, walking and birdwatching, I do not think we will be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandJCanterbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snettisham
2.8 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Lodge Inn
The Lodge Inn
#1 of 1 in Old Hunstanton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Caley Hall Hotel
Caley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hunstanton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
5.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Old Hunstanton Le Strange Arms Hotel
7.4 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rose and Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose and Crown

Property: The Rose and Crown
Address: Old Church Rd, Snettisham PE31 7LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Snettisham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Snettisham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rose and Crown 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Rose & Crown...a traditional Norfolk pub East of England Pub of the Year 2012 - The Good Pub Guide Norfolk Dining Pub of the Year 2012 - The Good Pub Guide Read the reviews...Everything you'd expect . . . from a 14th Century North Norfolk village inn - twisting passages and hidden corners, low ceilings and old beams, pamment floors and log fires, excellent beers and a relaxed, informal atmosphere. . . . and more . . . great food, delicious wines, 16 stylish bedrooms offering outstanding bed & breakfast accommodation, sunny walled garden, children's play fort and friendly staff. . . . all in all . . . one of the best places from which to explore glorious North Norfolk . . to walk, eat, shop, read, bird watch, golf, sail and most importantly, to relax. We have a younger sister, the Bank House Hotel in King's Lynn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Rose And Crown Hotel Snettisham
Rose And Crown Snettisham
Rose And Crown Hotel Snettisham
The Rose And Crown Snettisham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing