We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pub”
Review of The Rose and Crown

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Snettisham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Rose and Crown
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Snettisham
Certificate of Excellence
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level Contributor
193 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great pub”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

A visit to the Rose and Crown was recommended to me and due to its various accolades I was looking forward to my trip here.
We arrived to a very busy pub- too busy to find any room. This is a sign of its popularity and no criticism can be levied. Good atmosphere.
Good service, though we were disappointed we couldn't order food at 9.10pm as service stops at 9. This is understandable but after putting several large rounds through the till over a period of a few hours we perhaps expected to be accommodated a little more having clearly dedicated our evenings and wallets to the venue.
Idyllic setting and tastefully decorated.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ukfowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeannette G, Owner at The Rose and Crown, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear UKfowler

Thank you for your review of your visit to The Rose & Crown. I am so glad you enjoyed your evening, and that you liked the very unique feel of The Rose & Crown. I am sorry we couldn't find you a room, but we do get very booked up. I am sorry too that you were not able to order something to eat, it sounds as though someone forgot to warn you of the time for last food orders. I hope we will be able to welcome you to The R&C another time, and you will be able to sample proper R&C cooking.

Best wishes

Jeannette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    125
    46
    19
    13
See reviews for
95
237
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the rose and crown after researching places to stay in Norfolk that would allow trips to some of the nature reserves that the area is famous for. As a location the pub is great for snettisham or even titchwell so we wasn't disappointed there. The pub is deceptive in that the frontage looks like a small village pub but the rear opens out to a large restaurant with 16 rooms above. The room was emaculate with large comfortable bed and excellent shower room. The food in the restaurant was of a very high standard with a great choice. The staff were attentive and helpful. My only slight complaint was that the wine was not opened at the table which I my book is a no no on so many levels. But that aside it is still a great place

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tecrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Stopped for lunch after 10mile walk. Service quick, friendly and efficient - food was fabulous, crispy beef salad and tempura prawns with French fries. Sat outside in well kept garden enjoying the sunshine. Nice play area for young children. Very good all round

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SurreyMamacaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We were on route to Hunstanton and needed lunch about 1pm on a nice Saturday in April and spotted the signs to the Rose & Crown. It was fairly busy and not wanting to sit in the restaurant we managed to find a table in one of the bars. It was busy and I thought we might have a while to wait for food. How wrong we were. We ordered and were served within 15 minutes and both the pan fried salmon and battered haddock were spot on. That coupled with a couple of perfect pints of Adnams Broadside just made it one of the most enjoyable pub lunches we have had in a long time. Thank you to all concerned.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stopped here for lunch after visiting and walking the dog around part of the Sandringham estate. Great pub, great atmosphere, great real ale and absolutely superb lunch, couldn't fault it; we definitely be back next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CliffEdge57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I had a quick supper on a Sunday after a blow out dog walk at the beach. It is a delightful place with very friendly staff. I had a lovely supper of chicken pie and butterscotch ice cream. There is a nice menu. On this occasion I was on my own, but it was busy everyone talked to me and I did not feel self conscious.

The service was fast and friendly even though the whole place was stacked out. I could have bought the dog in, but decided he was far too filthy! There were other dogs and the whole place seemed relaxed. Good find near a brilliant doggy beach (Snettisham). Very pleased to find it open on a Sunday evening. There is plenty of parking and a garden to play in.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familywithteenagers6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisbech, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Went to the rose and crown for the first and last time this week, all was going well until one of the main courses arrived a considerable amount of time later than the rest if the group, so late in fact we were nearly half way through the meal! Waitress serving agreed that a round of drinks would not be charged because of this, when the bill came, the drinks had been charged, politely explained to a member of staff what had been said about the discounted drinks, who then was extremely rude and more or less called our group a bunch of liars and refused to honour the discount! After some bickering back and forth she reluctantly removed the price of one main meal after adding " I don't agree with what you are saying, but.." I quite frankly have never had service that bad, waitresses did not even come to ask if we wanted more drinks throughout the meal, and didn't even bother to clear empty glasses and plates even before the disagreement started. Needless to say they didn't get a tip, Avoid this place!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aurora2410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeannette G, Owner at The Rose and Crown, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We are always grateful to customers who take the time to write. I am sorry you did not enjoy your visit to The Rose & Crown. You mention bickering back and forth. Our staff do not bicker. Nor as a rule do our customers. I regret that you feel you have to say that you will not be back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snettisham
2.8 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Lodge Inn
The Lodge Inn
#1 of 1 in Old Hunstanton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Caley Hall Hotel
Caley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hunstanton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
5.1 mi away
Best Western Old Hunstanton Le Strange Arms Hotel
7.4 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rose and Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose and Crown

Property: The Rose and Crown
Address: Old Church Rd, Snettisham PE31 7LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Snettisham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Snettisham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rose and Crown 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Rose & Crown...a traditional Norfolk pub East of England Pub of the Year 2012 - The Good Pub Guide Norfolk Dining Pub of the Year 2012 - The Good Pub Guide Read the reviews...Everything you'd expect . . . from a 14th Century North Norfolk village inn - twisting passages and hidden corners, low ceilings and old beams, pamment floors and log fires, excellent beers and a relaxed, informal atmosphere. . . . and more . . . great food, delicious wines, 16 stylish bedrooms offering outstanding bed & breakfast accommodation, sunny walled garden, children's play fort and friendly staff. . . . all in all . . . one of the best places from which to explore glorious North Norfolk . . to walk, eat, shop, read, bird watch, golf, sail and most importantly, to relax. We have a younger sister, the Bank House Hotel in King's Lynn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Rose And Crown Hotel Snettisham
Rose And Crown Snettisham
Rose And Crown Hotel Snettisham
The Rose And Crown Snettisham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing