We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super duper”
Review of The Rose and Crown

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Snettisham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Rose and Crown
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Snettisham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Lovely lunch in this quaint Norfolk village.
Professional staff who clearly know the needs of today's diner.
Great selection of wines, good beers in a really cosy venue.
Mum had the leek and potato soup, while I had the battered haddock. Great stuff.
Seek out the eaterie soon.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Smartluggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeannette0801, Owner at The Rose and Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Thank you for your recent review of The Rose & Crown, and your kind words. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and hope you will come and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 504 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

As we were staying locally we had noticed all the advertising that the owners decided to place around the area. Norfolk pub of the year 2012 etc. We cycled to the rose and crown from near to the sailing club by the beach. The gardens are very well maintained, and an excellent play area for children. The entry to the garden is only via the pub so secure with exception of a fire escape...the menu looked interesting and everywhere looked clean. They didn't seem very busy...we ordered drinks but couldn't get a tab if we were sitting in the garden, which surprised us as its secure. Do we sat and ordered making two payments prior to food arriving..the sardines were great although expensive for a lunch menu, crab cakes were very small mostly potato and disappointing. The kids meals were very good value. Service was ok but not what we expected. We felt overall the venue has a great opportunity to be very special. It currently seems to be taking advantage of its old 2012 accolade without delivering the level of food for the price they charge. Hope they work on this, until they do we will be going to the kings head at great bircham..

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Andy748s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeannette0801, Owner at The Rose and Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about The Rose & Crown. I'm sorry that your recent visit failed to meet your expectations. I can understand your irritation at having to pay twice for a meal in the garden. This is an issue that we have looked at a number of times over the years, and I will certainly look at it again. I am glad that you were satisfied with your children's meals and that they enjoyed the splendid Merry Rose climbing galleon. We normally pride ourselves on the quality of our service and of the food, on this occasion we clearly slipped up. I do apologise and hope you will give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This pub never fails to deliver for us and there is a reason why it has won awards. A great family pub with a brilliant menu. It is clear they have well paid professional chefs. we love this pub for cosy winter or summer dining in the garden or garden room restaurant. We think this pub is the best int he area!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank toseland11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeannette0801, Owner at The Rose and Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Thank you for your kind words, it is always good to hear from regular visitors, and very rewarding to us and our hard working staff to hear you like The R&C as much as we do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

From the young lady who met us in reception to the lovely "mother hen" who fussed around us at breakfast, all the staff we found to be courteous and helpful. This proved to be important as the weather was very hot, and with the bedroom wing being upstairs and directly under the tiled roof, our room was like a furnace. & the air-con didn't work! The staff tried to attend to our problem, and in the end provided a fan which made the situation bearable. Don't book The Bothy room if you want an early night as the Fan/Ventilation system is directly outside the window. I always worry about a room overlooking the car-park and the potential for disturbance at closing time, but in fact we didn't hear a thing. The meal in the restaurant was good, with generous portions, as was breakfast. The Rose & Crown is NOT your quiet country pub in a quiet village but a very busy and popular hotel-restaurant-pub in the heart of an unexceptional village. Finding our way to it was like peeling layers off an onion, the very heart of which is a lovely wall enclosed garden in the pub grounds! You cannot fault the rooms. All well provided and clean with fresh milk for teas and coffees.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank true2formal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Comfortable, well appointed room. Free wifi. Excellent food though the fish pie would have fed two with some to spare! Friendly attentive staff. A great place to stay to explore the North Norfolk coast.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Having eaten here with friends on a trip to Snettisham last year, I was keen on returning to stay. We were not disappointed, we were shown to our room by a friendly member of reception staff. We stayed in the tree house which was a lovely room at the back of the hotel, as described on the website the rooms are finished to a high spec, decorated beautifully with very comfy beds. It had an immaculate en suite bathroom with white fluffy towels! The decor throughout the pub/hotel/restaurant(s) is stunning, characterful and unique. I absolutely loved staying there and would happily recommend it.

We visited the restaurant for dinner with family I the Saturday and they can back to see us for breakfast on Sunday morning. As we already knew the food was fabulous and plentiful. Good value and delish! We found the waiting staff friendly and helpful.

Thanks rose and crown for a great stay! We will be back.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed here overnight with a group of friends. The rooms were lovely, well laid out,beautiful decor. only drawback is the steep flight of stairs but the staff were on hand and all were willing to help.
Had booked a meal in the restuarant and was greatly impressed. The food was of a very high standard and the service excellent. Cannot praise it highly enough.
After we went for a drink in the bar or bars as this place has so many nooks and crannies. The extension has been done tastefully and does not detract from the original building.
All in all a lovely place that I would highly recommend.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Ltraveller1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snettisham
2.8 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
923 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Ffolkes Hotel
The Ffolkes Hotel
#11 of 15 in King's Lynn
55 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Lodge Inn
The Lodge Inn
#1 of 1 in Old Hunstanton
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Le Strange Arms Hotel
Le Strange Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hunstanton
857 reviews
5 mi away
Caley Hall Hotel
Caley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hunstanton
954 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rose and Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose and Crown

Address: Old Church Rd, Snettisham PE31 7LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Snettisham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Snettisham
Price Range: £34 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rose and Crown 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Rose & Crown...a traditional Norfolk pub East of England Pub of the Year 2012 - The Good Pub Guide Norfolk Dining Pub of the Year 2012 - The Good Pub Guide Read the reviews...Everything you'd expect . . . from a 14th Century North Norfolk village inn - twisting passages and hidden corners, low ceilings and old beams, pamment floors and log fires, excellent beers and a relaxed, informal atmosphere. . . . and more . . . great food, delicious wines, 16 stylish bedrooms offering outstanding bed & breakfast accommodation, sunny walled garden, children's play fort and friendly staff. . . . all in all . . . one of the best places from which to explore glorious North Norfolk . . to walk, eat, shop, read, bird watch, golf, sail and most importantly, to relax. We have a younger sister, the Bank House Hotel in King's Lynn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Rose And Crown Hotel Snettisham
Rose And Crown Snettisham
Rose And Crown Hotel Snettisham
The Rose And Crown Snettisham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing