We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Bolthole offers a 5 star experience with...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Bolthole

Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
Front view Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
48 reviews
Living Room
Front view
Living Room
Bedroom
Kitchen
KItchen into Dining Room
Dining Room
Bathroom
Bathroom
Garden
Detail - Bedroom
Detail- Bedroom
Detail - Living Room
Big Sky
Baywatch!
Holme
Thornham
guest review
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Snettisham, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kvpm
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Bolthole offers a 5 star experience with plenty of character”
Reviewed 1 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We wanted a relaxing cost effective city-break near the coast to chill out and recharge our batteries. The Bolthole was ideal and we could not recommend it highly enough, full of character, it offered excellent accommodation finished to a very very high standard. It definitely did not have a rental feel to it. We made full use of its facilities, the kitchen, separate dining area and of course the entertainment equipment. In particular we enjoyed the retro collection of 8o's vinyl supplied. The sunny garden and seating area was perfect for leisurely lazy breakfasts, which I hope does not say too much about us. The immediate area is quiet but has much to keep you interested. We took a leisurely walk to nearest beaches and they were stunning. The locals are welcoming, friendly and very relaxed and after our stay we were very relaxed too. Thank you Bolthole and see you soon....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bedroom and bathroom
Liked least: The immediate area is very quiet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judithbli...
London
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A complete delight”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

This totally stylish and cosy cottage has every possible amenity and so many thoughtful additional touches. The pre-arrival information, in-house instructions and range of guides with personal recommendations provide plenty of suggestions for exploring North Norfolk and left me with no unanswered questions. The cottage is full of charming touches and everything is in perfect condition but it still feels comfortable and homely. The area has so much to offer within pleasant driving distances and there are plenty of high quality places to eat and drink - a few within walking distance from the cottage. I am missing being there and would love to return and tick off a few more places I didn't have time to see in my few days.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the unique interior
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 31 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
davmilmcc
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The perfect getaway!”
Reviewed 17 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

The Bolthole gets five big stars from me and my partner. Stayed here for a long weekend in October, and really wished I could have stayed longer. The house is lovely - really nicely decorated, a tasteful mix of traditional and quirky (I love the lightshade at the top of the stairs!). It feels like the owners have put some thought into making the guests feel cosy and at home. There's a really good sized tv in the living room with comfortable sofas; there's even a turntable and a small collection of vinyl, and you can plug your ipod in as well. Wifi works well, and clear instructions for everything are provided. There's a lovely secluded garden (and we were able to store our bikes safely there).

It's a gorgeous part of Norfolk, and Snettisham is a lovely village. There's a village shop nearby where you can buy all your basics, but fantastic farmers' markets a short drive or cycle away with amazing meats, bread, condiments etc etc etc. That said, we ate out, and the owner was really helpful in recommending good local restaurants. Great beach walks, and nice cycles. It's only a couple of hours from London but feels a million miles away ... definitely want to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel D
London
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What a find....we'll be back! (in October as it happens!!)”
Reviewed 4 September 2012 for a stay in July 2012

What a really great place. I can't recommend enough.
- Fantastic location for walks and bike-rides and close to sea
- Funky but tasteful decor
- Cosy without being cluttered
- Great king sized bed and
- Good wifi connection
- Really well equipped. Everything you need to eat in.....but also lots of great places to eat out close by.
- Owners close by and very easy to contact.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Unique, really comfortable, great location
Liked least: Saying goodbye!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing