We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little Gem!!”
Review of The White Horse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brancaster Staithe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The White Horse
Certificate of Excellence
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A little Gem!!”
Reviewed 18 March 2011

What a great place, we had the top room, with great views.
We ate in thre restuarant, food and wine both first class, breakfast the same.
Parking is excellent, and so handy for the coastal walk.
First time in Norfolk, lovely place, so good wev'e booked up again for December, in Burnham Market!! will let you know how we get on!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rogchapman14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    164
    40
    30
    5
See reviews for
108
329
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire, UK
Level Contributor
284 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2011

What a pity! We had a recommendatin to eat here, and truth to tell the food was very good and also well presented.

But someone was slaving away in the kitchen and being let down by the front of house. We had booked for 8.15 pm but arrived a little early. Nevertheless we were asked if we would like to go through to our table now, and we did. Waited then 35 minutes before an order was even taken from us, and then after that things ground on very slowly indeed.

Our biggest problem was with the wine, though. We ordered two bottles of Berry Brothers Good Ordinary Claret and two bottles of (very good) Italian Vermentino. £17 and £33 respectively. Berry Brothers are selling their good ordinary claret today (the 11th March, 2011) at £7.05 per bottle, including VAT and delivery!! Now that is what I call a mark-up. the Vermentino was similarly marked up around 150%.

OK, so that was £100 for four bottles of wine, but on the menu it said that a discretionary service charge would be added of 12.5% for parties of six or more. We were six, so that would have been another £12.50 on top if we had agreed to pay it (which we certainly didn't).

Why? Because the service was very slow, and particularly because no-one poured the wine for us or even offered to do so. It was just placed on the table and we were left to it. With 150% mark-up and a 12.5% service charge this was just not good enough.

We made all these points to the front of house staff at the time, and so this is not a sneaky moan. The food is great. Front of house? Get you act together. Wine list compiler? Just ease off a bit, will you? People are not stupid.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Intrepidity060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest relations manager at The White Horse, responded to this review, 16 March 2011
We are glad you enjoyed the food and are sincerely grateful that you took the time pass on your feedback. We appreciate positive criticism and have used your comments to help improve service in the future. We pride ourselves on our friendly and high standard of service and regret that they were not met on this occasion. Our aim is to create an eclectic wine list in order to offer the best wines available with value in mind. We try and price the wine within industry standards and apologise if this seems too excessive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon
Level Contributor
134 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2010

The White Horse can charge a premium because of the location, at the end of the car park you can join the Norfolk Coastal Path that skirts the saltmarsh. For walkers and birdwatchers this is just perfect. However the White horse delivers on more than just location. The restaurant is excellent, the staff friendly and hardworking and the rooms clean and comfortable. We have just enjoyed three nights stay on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis. We are regular visitors to north Norfolk, and this is where we will stay next time we're here.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GJgetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull Yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2010

Usually stay at the Hoste in Burnham Market-but they were fully booked.
WE had a dog-friendly cottage and it was lovely.
Staff very friendly.
Good Veggie breakfast.
Only down-side was lack of choice in bar menu (where we had to eat with our dog).
Would definitely return!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vonnieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2010

Stayed in nearby Burnham Market and had the good fortune that we were introduced to The White Horse at Brancaster Staithe & dined on a fine balmy evening.

Location was great overlooking the salt marshes to the sea with a panoramic view from the restaurant & terrace.

We were perhaps more fortunate than some of your recent reviewers - food and service were excellent and we would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank ChilternmanBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at The White Horse, responded to this review, 23 July 2010
Thank you for your review and glad you enjoyed your meal with us. We love the panoramic view too and we've been looking across the tidal marsh for the past 15 years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJBPRC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2010

This is a lovely small hotel, with good food and drink. It is lovely to sit on the outdoor verandah with a drink and relax.

There are walks from the doorstep and plenty of places to visit nearby.

It is worth paying the extra, to stay in the 'room at the top'.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJBPRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2010

Two days in north Norfolk was the perfect getaway. We were very fortunate to find such a fabulous family run hotel - peaceful, with charming staff, great food and the most STUNNING views across tidal marshes. Walked to the beach along the coastal path at the bottom of the hotel garden - heavenly.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MozSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brancaster Staithe
2.4 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,283 reviews
2.5 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
779 reviews
2.6 mi away
Briarfields Hotel
Briarfields Hotel
#2 of 2 in Titchwell
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Caley Hall Hotel
Caley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hunstanton
856 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Lodge Inn
The Lodge Inn
#1 of 1 in Old Hunstanton
545 reviews
8.3 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse

Property: The White Horse
Address: Main Road, Brancaster Staithe PE31 8BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Brancaster Staithe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Brancaster Staithe
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Horse 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
White Horse Hotel Brancaster Staithe
The White Horse Brancaster Staithe, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing