We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab - loved it.”
Review of The White Horse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brancaster Staithe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The White Horse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The White Horse was recommended by friends but we were a bit sceptical after reading some reviews on here re service. However excellent experience food was delicious, beautifully presented and reasonable prices and the service was really good, very friendly and efficient.

We sat on the terrace looking over Brancaster Staithe on a beautiful, hot sunny, cloudless evening with superb views over the Staithe. Beautiful experience - who needs to go further afield when the weather, views and food come together like this. Stunning.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Faeriequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (641)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

485 - 491 of 641 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2013

We went here on a friends recommendation and being a hot sunny day, the terrace with the stunning views immediately appealed. We didn't like having to go up and order from a guy at the payment booth especially when waiters were milling around and there was some confusion about what time they were serving to on the Terrace but these are minor criticisms. The food and wine were excellent. A nice cold glass of New Zealand Sauvignon blanc, swordfish with a salsa verde butter for my boyfriend and a smoked seafood platter for me. The food looked amazing and tasted amazing. We ordered dessert which was local strawberries 3 ways - cheesecake, meringue nest and strawberry soup - delicious! My partner had another glass of Sauvignon blanc and the bill came to £55. We thought this wasn't too steep considering the wine was £19 on its own. The service was very efficient with big smiles and we liked that they brought a water jug and glasses without us having to ask and the wine came straight away.

The pub doesn't look so great in the front. The appeal of it is definitely the terrace on a hot sunny day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank donegrafftin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

High quality food service often comes at a price, but this top-end restaurant lives up to expectations. The view of the marshes from the restaurant is a conversation piece in itself. Try the seafood main course as a starter for two to share, and you won't be disappointed. The minted mushy peas and fresh tartare sauce are as good as the fish and chips themselves; the sole is plentiful. Pity you have to pay extra for the vegetables, but the green beans with fried shallots and drizzled cheese covering were an experience well worth paying for. Frangipan and gooseberry ice cream... just OK.
Looking forward to another visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simplesouls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

I stayed here during a walking holiday, booking beforehand was easy, I arrived to a friendly welcome and a fantastic room. I did have a small discount for travelling alone. The room was amazing, beautifully thought out with a great bathroom. The tea and coffee were certainly above the normal default Nescafe, with ground coffee, chocolate and speciality teas. Bed was very comfortable. I had dinner which was simply wonderful, especially the dessert chocolate with a layer of turkish delight, the grey mullet I had was cooked to perfection. The staff were all very friendly and approachable. I really cannot fault this hotel, the views are to die for and it's a special place, well worth the money. Will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorfolkGemCromer_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We had stopped for lunch at the White Horse Inn in the tiny village of Brancaster Staithe on our way to Cley Next The Sea. The inn has panoramic views across the tidal marshes and sandy beaches; it’s an area of outstanding natural beauty ideal for walkers, sailors and birdwatchers. The White Horse’s food and locally brewed Oyster Catcher beer are excellent. Here, we had a mega portion of mussels each, literally a bucket full, and they were probably the very best mussels I have ever eaten. They were done simply with a white wine, cream and garlic sauce with hunks of bread on the side. Perhaps unnecessarily, but so tasty, we shared an appetizer of lamb & mint sausages with a cherry tomato ragu, Garlic infused goat’s cheese with roasted hazelnuts and beetroot and mixed pickled Elveden Estate vegetables. Everything was so good, we actually stopped back on the way home for some fish and chips and another round of appetizers and beer!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pariyorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

A midweek lunchtime visit found only a few tables occupied in the restaurant so the service was probably a little more attentive than normal. Very interesting menu and very good food, but the portions were a little frugal and the prices a little high.

There were also a few minor short comings such as failing to provide a stirrer for my G&T which was served in a tall glass with lots of ice making it difficult to add the tonic. Also two of the staff where somewhat dishevelled. At these prices I would have expected better.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

A fantastic room with one of the best views. the food was a disappointment though and the service varied from 'surly' in one case to very good depending on the member of staff. We were in the mezzanine room which was spacious and well designed and decorated. can't fault the cleanliness and the room was very quiet. the food tried hard but fell short of what it attempted to do. my beef was luke warm but it was delicious. Didn't bother with dessert as they didn't look particularly appetising and were quite pricy. the pub grub looked great and the atmosphere is good. The conservatory dining room overlooking the sea is magnificent and worth the stay.

Room Tip: The mezzanine room is worth the extra for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 100dawn100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brancaster Staithe
2.4 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,414 reviews
2.5 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
919 reviews
2.6 mi away
Briarfields Hotel
Briarfields Hotel
#2 of 2 in Titchwell
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
The White Horse
The White Horse
#2 of 3 in Blakeney
437 reviews
7.4 mi away
Le Strange Arms Hotel
Le Strange Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hunstanton
880 reviews
18.5 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse

Address: Main Road, Brancaster Staithe PE31 8BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Brancaster Staithe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Brancaster Staithe
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Horse 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
White Horse Hotel Brancaster Staithe
The White Horse Brancaster Staithe, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing