We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a pleasure” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White Horse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brancaster Staithe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The White Horse
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

The views from the conservatory are beautiful especially on a Summers day! Food is always excellent! The ambience is pleasing and relaxing! Staff always smiley and helpful! This pub doesnt look much from the outside , but the smells will lure you in! It never disappoints and it will always be one of my favourites!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    155
    40
    28
    5
See reviews for
104
315
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed here to celebrate our anniversary (albeit a few days late) and only booked one night. We returned within two days. The fact that dogs are allowed in the bar and that there are dog-friendly rooms attracted us in the first place as did the reviews for the restaurant. Great food, great service, a genuine welcome and great views from the deck. Lots of good walking from the hotel doorstep. A real find and we'll hopefully find an excuse to go back again very soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dukpond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

After a day out in hunstanton we stopped off at this pub on the way home. We had done a little home work to check if dogs where allowed. We can confirm all dog are very welcome big or small. Food is served all day which was helpful. Good space around the tables so plenty of room for the dogs to lay down. Lots of water bowls about and treats for sale behind the bar. The menu was limited and a bit pricey( 6oz rump steak, fries and salad £13.95) but we all found something we liked and the food arrived hot, well presented and very tasty. I can imagine on a warmer day this place would be very busy the outside terrace and front courtyard all looked great places to sit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lins72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Just returned from a 4 day break at the White Horse. The hotel is in a lovey setting with fantastic views ( on a clear day!). We were lucky because the weather was wonderful and very clear apart from one day.
The food is excellent with good portions and very well presented and prepared.
We had an outside room so we could take the dog along(which she loved!). Good size rooms although room 2 was a little noisy because you can hear movement from the room above. We didn't know until we paid the bill that room 2 is cheaper because the hotel are aware this room can be noisy. In fact it wasn't too bad. I have been in much noisier rooms!
The staff are excellent and very helpful and friendly.
I would certainly return to this hotel again

Room Tip: If you need to choose an outside room go for room 7 or 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissie21Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

The hotel is well staffed and I was impressed with our room and bathroom (although the shower was a bit weak on the power front – the only real criticism of the room) but other than that we had all the mod cons, quality toiletries, hot radiator in the bathroom, kettle and coffee machine in the room, biscuits, good choice of tea/hot chocolate, plasma TV on the wall, comfortable bed etc.

The only disappointment was the bar area where they served bar food and drinks - it was constantly packed out with locals, guests, dogs and children (not a fault of the Hotel and the reason being there are only two pubs in the area). There was very little limited seating throughout the day let alone in the evening so we never got to sample the bar menu. There were larger outside areas but as it was so windy and not that warm it wasn't an option in the evening. We had booked for dinner in the restaurant in the conservatory (as recommended by the Hotel) for the two nights we were staying (Friday and Saturday over Easter). The seating in the conservatory for dinner was at least a chance to get away from the crowded bar, however, the food wasn't very impressive and very expensive (£90 in total with a bottle of sparkling wine). I had asparagus and hollandaise with poached egg for starter which was nice, but my main which was dressed crab and new potatoes with a scattering of sauce was dry and tasteless, then for dessert we had ice cream (3 different flavours) which again was very bland and flavourless – I've had nicer store brand ice cream. We would have been happy to sit in the bar and have food there but there was no chance as there were only a few tables in that area and they were already taken. The second night we cancelled our dinner booking and went to the only other walking distance pub called 'The Jolly Sailor' which was again small, packed and busy with families ! We had already discovered the pub on our first day and had a great lunch there (I had a simple prawn baguette slightly toasted with cocktail sauce and my partner had the warm baguette slightly toasted with pulled pork in a bbq sauce) – so we had decided to take a chance on the Saturday night. Luckily we did manage to find a table later on for dinner, after having had a few drinks. The bar was very small but the staff were fantastic and although at times there were queues at the bar we got served quicker than expected. The food was also amazing – there was a good choice of the usual pub grub and huge portions and they had a pizza oven with impressive looking (and tasting as I had one) pizzas. The meal was a fraction of the price compared to The White Horse and the quality was fantastic. Also the choice of beers were very good – we were drinking Crabbies Alcoholic Ginger Beer but there were a good choice of ales and beers. In fact they have a beer festival in the pub in June every year. (The White Horse had a very limited choice of draught and even more limited choice of bottled beers).

The hotel stay included breakfast which was very good – you got to choose from any breakfast you wanted – we both had the eggs benedict, hollandaise sauce with smoked salmon on both mornings. You had tea/coffee, juices, yoghurt, cereals etc to help yourself to. The staff were always very welcoming and helpful at all times. During the day on Saturday we had a good 3 hour walk along the Marshes – we followed the trail up to the beach – be prepared for blizzard winds though – you need to wrap up and keep everything tucked in ! If you have children and/or dogs it is most probably an ideal stay (you need to book the rooms which allow dogs) but probably not recommended for young couples unless you are staying for one night and go to 'The Jolly Sailor' for drinks, lunch and dinner !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dabreo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stopped for lunch here after a four mile walk. Whilst some people were dressed up, we weren't treated any differently in our walking attire. We arrived just after noon, anticipating a busy lunchtime period - and it was. I had three delicious fish dishes on a board. They included a Norfolk prawn cocktail with a light-as-a-feather sauce and a blow torched mackerel cured in lime, with apple jelly cubes and horseradish. We both indulged in a pudding, which is well worth it. There is a children's menu, from which I was able to pick a rather adult-sized chocolate brownie and chose a pear sorbet to go with it. Apparently the real ale was kept very well too.

I can't understand the previous negative reviews, made by overly precious people that didn't check the prices before ordering. And if you are not prepared to complain at the time, don't sneak off and do so on line! I would heartily recommend this place for lunch. It provided the best food by far in a 25-mile radius during our holiday.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiller5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff with a good atmosphere and enviable views.We saw a
Marvellous sunset overlooking National Trust coastline from the Conservatory.
Good seafood choices with a fusion feel.
A nice selection of fine wines to complement the food.
The service was good and overall it was a great place to eat and stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmytravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brancaster Staithe
2.4 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
2.5 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
2.6 mi away
Briarfields Hotel
Briarfields Hotel
#2 of 2 in Titchwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
The White Horse
The White Horse
#2 of 3 in Blakeney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
18.5 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
7.1 mi away
Caley Hall Hotel
Caley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hunstanton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse

Property: The White Horse
Address: Main Road, Brancaster Staithe PE31 8BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Brancaster Staithe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Brancaster Staithe
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Horse 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
White Horse Hotel Brancaster Staithe
The White Horse Brancaster Staithe, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing