We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location.”
Review of The White Horse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brancaster Staithe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The White Horse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Most of my reviews tend to be good because my wife and I do extensive research before travelling / visiting restaurants,. Thanks here to, inter-alia, tripadvisor. This hotel is in a great location overlooking the sea - which is very important when visiting this area. You can simply walk out of the rear of the hotel and immediately commence a bracing walk in a picturesque environment.. You will find other hotels etc in the area that simply overlook car parks and roads. Great views from our (lovely) room. and the restaurant / conservatory. One point to note was the "Hypnos" bed. These are simply the most comfortable beds in the World and added to the comfort in this quiet and serene spot.. Food was simply sensational. The ambience is very pleasing and staff were always helpful and friendly.Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FIREBIRDLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (616)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

399 - 405 of 616 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

The views from the conservatory are beautiful especially on a Summers day! Food is always excellent! The ambience is pleasing and relaxing! Staff always smiley and helpful! This pub doesnt look much from the outside , but the smells will lure you in! It never disappoints and it will always be one of my favourites!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank tina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed here to celebrate our anniversary (albeit a few days late) and only booked one night. We returned within two days. The fact that dogs are allowed in the bar and that there are dog-friendly rooms attracted us in the first place as did the reviews for the restaurant. Great food, great service, a genuine welcome and great views from the deck. Lots of good walking from the hotel doorstep. A real find and we'll hopefully find an excuse to go back again very soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dukpond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

After a day out in hunstanton we stopped off at this pub on the way home. We had done a little home work to check if dogs where allowed. We can confirm all dog are very welcome big or small. Food is served all day which was helpful. Good space around the tables so plenty of room for the dogs to lay down. Lots of water bowls about and treats for sale behind the bar. The menu was limited and a bit pricey( 6oz rump steak, fries and salad £13.95) but we all found something we liked and the food arrived hot, well presented and very tasty. I can imagine on a warmer day this place would be very busy the outside terrace and front courtyard all looked great places to sit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lins72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Just returned from a 4 day break at the White Horse. The hotel is in a lovey setting with fantastic views ( on a clear day!). We were lucky because the weather was wonderful and very clear apart from one day.
The food is excellent with good portions and very well presented and prepared.
We had an outside room so we could take the dog along(which she loved!). Good size rooms although room 2 was a little noisy because you can hear movement from the room above. We didn't know until we paid the bill that room 2 is cheaper because the hotel are aware this room can be noisy. In fact it wasn't too bad. I have been in much noisier rooms!
The staff are excellent and very helpful and friendly.
I would certainly return to this hotel again

Room Tip: If you need to choose an outside room go for room 7 or 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrissie21Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The hotel is well staffed and I was impressed with our room and bathroom (although the shower was a bit weak on the power front – the only real criticism of the room) but other than that we had all the mod cons, quality toiletries, hot radiator in the bathroom, kettle and coffee machine in the room, biscuits, good choice of tea/hot chocolate, plasma TV on the wall, comfortable bed etc.

The only disappointment was the bar area where they served bar food and drinks - it was constantly packed out with locals, guests, dogs and children (not a fault of the Hotel and the reason being there are only two pubs in the area). There was very little limited seating throughout the day let alone in the evening so we never got to sample the bar menu. There were larger outside areas but as it was so windy and not that warm it wasn't an option in the evening. We had booked for dinner in the restaurant in the conservatory (as recommended by the Hotel) for the two nights we were staying (Friday and Saturday over Easter). The seating in the conservatory for dinner was at least a chance to get away from the crowded bar, however, the food wasn't very impressive and very expensive (£90 in total with a bottle of sparkling wine). I had asparagus and hollandaise with poached egg for starter which was nice, but my main which was dressed crab and new potatoes with a scattering of sauce was dry and tasteless, then for dessert we had ice cream (3 different flavours) which again was very bland and flavourless – I've had nicer store brand ice cream. We would have been happy to sit in the bar and have food there but there was no chance as there were only a few tables in that area and they were already taken. The second night we cancelled our dinner booking and went to the only other walking distance pub called 'The Jolly Sailor' which was again small, packed and busy with families ! We had already discovered the pub on our first day and had a great lunch there (I had a simple prawn baguette slightly toasted with cocktail sauce and my partner had the warm baguette slightly toasted with pulled pork in a bbq sauce) – so we had decided to take a chance on the Saturday night. Luckily we did manage to find a table later on for dinner, after having had a few drinks. The bar was very small but the staff were fantastic and although at times there were queues at the bar we got served quicker than expected. The food was also amazing – there was a good choice of the usual pub grub and huge portions and they had a pizza oven with impressive looking (and tasting as I had one) pizzas. The meal was a fraction of the price compared to The White Horse and the quality was fantastic. Also the choice of beers were very good – we were drinking Crabbies Alcoholic Ginger Beer but there were a good choice of ales and beers. In fact they have a beer festival in the pub in June every year. (The White Horse had a very limited choice of draught and even more limited choice of bottled beers).

The hotel stay included breakfast which was very good – you got to choose from any breakfast you wanted – we both had the eggs benedict, hollandaise sauce with smoked salmon on both mornings. You had tea/coffee, juices, yoghurt, cereals etc to help yourself to. The staff were always very welcoming and helpful at all times. During the day on Saturday we had a good 3 hour walk along the Marshes – we followed the trail up to the beach – be prepared for blizzard winds though – you need to wrap up and keep everything tucked in ! If you have children and/or dogs it is most probably an ideal stay (you need to book the rooms which allow dogs) but probably not recommended for young couples unless you are staying for one night and go to 'The Jolly Sailor' for drinks, lunch and dinner !

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dabreo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stopped for lunch here after a four mile walk. Whilst some people were dressed up, we weren't treated any differently in our walking attire. We arrived just after noon, anticipating a busy lunchtime period - and it was. I had three delicious fish dishes on a board. They included a Norfolk prawn cocktail with a light-as-a-feather sauce and a blow torched mackerel cured in lime, with apple jelly cubes and horseradish. We both indulged in a pudding, which is well worth it. There is a children's menu, from which I was able to pick a rather adult-sized chocolate brownie and chose a pear sorbet to go with it. Apparently the real ale was kept very well too.

I can't understand the previous negative reviews, made by overly precious people that didn't check the prices before ordering. And if you are not prepared to complain at the time, don't sneak off and do so on line! I would heartily recommend this place for lunch. It provided the best food by far in a 25-mile radius during our holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Tiller5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brancaster Staithe
2.4 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,351 reviews
2.5 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
861 reviews
2.6 mi away
Briarfields Hotel
Briarfields Hotel
#2 of 2 in Titchwell
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
897 reviews
7.1 mi away
Caley Hall Hotel
Caley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hunstanton
925 reviews
7.4 mi away
Le Strange Arms Hotel
Le Strange Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hunstanton
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse

Address: Main Road, Brancaster Staithe PE31 8BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Brancaster Staithe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Brancaster Staithe
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Horse 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
White Horse Hotel Brancaster Staithe
The White Horse Brancaster Staithe, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing