We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fathers Day”
Review of The White Horse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brancaster Staithe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The White Horse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Fathers Day and a trip to the seaside. What a delightful restaurant, bottle of ale for the fathers as a gift. We dined on oysters, lobster and drank prosecco. Nothing was too much trouble we were shown to a table near the door and it was a bit windy that day so we asked if we could move to another table which wasn't set up and they sat us in the bar for a drink whilst they sorted out the other table. We had booked for 2.45pm in order to miss all the families with young children and thankfully it was lovely and peaceful with stunning views over the marsh out to sea. The food was delicious all fresh and caught locally. Best oysters for a very long time indeed. For desert because we couldn't decide we went for the assortment - definitely go for this I am not a chocolate lover and there were a couple on this plate but my taste buds were tingling with excitement at the different flavours especially the lemon tart. Staff friendly, attentive and still happy after a busy sitting or two for fathers day. A very comfortable establishment you would feel at ease here if you were all dressed up or just in casual boating clothes. I can't find any fault whatsoever with the meal, which is unusual for me but for once it was just 100% good. Carry on the good work everyone, we will no longer visit our other haunt up the road from you anymore you will be top of the list in future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A1Dawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (631)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

400 - 406 of 631 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

I was taken to this amazing place by my partner this weekend as a surprise ..... I'm never easily impressed and I have to say its AMAZING !!
We arrived to a warm welcome the staff are really friendly and a really chilled out vibe makes you feel instantly relaxed .
Taken to our beautiful room ( no 11 ) split level with outstanding views over the estuary. Huge bed ( best nights sleep ive ever had... its so comfy ) beautiful bathroom ..great attention to detail from the great complimentary tea/ coffee tray to the beautiful products in the bathroom .

We had drinks on the terrace in the afternoon sun and dinner in the restaurant in the evening ... Food is fab superb qualityand good prices ... Don't miss out on breakfast as that is like everything else here simply gorgeous .
I cannot wait to come back here again and left feeling like I'd had one of the best weekends ever !!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Cheekychickxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

visited in may for both an evening and lunch visit, based on recommendation from the in-laws. really enjoyed both visits- the fish and chips were lovely! both visits were busy, but staff were good and attentive, both in the bar and in the restaurant.

Friends had the oysters as a starter, and loved them!

I had the Moroccan chicken starter in the restaurant, which was to die for!

would thoroughly recommend. good value for money and there is certainly something for everyone!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ruth w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is a great place to visit. We were seated quickly and given a great view of the estuary. All of the courses were given individual attention and presented well, the seafood is a must! Thus is all in all a very good place to visit, if dining in the evening make sure you take a coffee outside on the balcony for a sunset view.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Russell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

You can't really go wrong on a nice day with lunch on the terrace of this well located restaurant, overlooking Brancaster Staithe. We read the occasional niggle about the place, which is always busy, but we had nicely cooked and presented steak sandwiches - the bread rather too thick if one is to find fault - and reasonably priced glasses of wine. Others were tucking into nice looking salads and fish and chips (the latter absolutely huge).

Whoever turned this former down at heel pub into what it is now is a genius.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank eyespy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We returned to the White Horse for our honeymoon. Once again the room was spacious and appealing although there was a bit more kitchen noise and door banging than we had experienced in the past (room 9). There was also the rather annoying hum of what appeared to be an extractor fan!!! This continued all night!!!!!!!!! Room service was very good and food excellent in the restaurant although the bar food lacked finesse and could have been better. Our room unfortunately was not vaccumed and we had to continually request new supplies of toiletries which should have been replaced daily by the housekeeping staff. Breakfast was very enjoyable, a very good choice on the menu. The glass of champagne was a very nice touch on arrival and the staff were always willing to assist, in fact the standard of service appeared to have improved since our last visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHEEPY2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

I LOVE this place. Staff are always friendly, rooms comfy and large and the food in the restaurant is v good. In fact this evening was outstanding. I'd happily recommend it to anyone !!! It's a really good place to relax, walk, curl up with a book ...!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank SJAshcroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brancaster Staithe
2.5 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
892 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,370 reviews
2.6 mi away
Briarfields Hotel
Briarfields Hotel
#2 of 2 in Titchwell
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Caley Hall Hotel
Caley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hunstanton
952 reviews
7.4 mi away
Le Strange Arms Hotel
Le Strange Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hunstanton
855 reviews
16.6 mi away
Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
#3 of 15 in King's Lynn
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse

Address: Main Road, Brancaster Staithe PE31 8BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Brancaster Staithe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Brancaster Staithe
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Horse 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
White Horse Hotel Brancaster Staithe
The White Horse Brancaster Staithe, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing